athenahealth Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth Chairman and CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
96 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Watertown, MA

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time

    Pros

    Nice work environment, friendly coworker

    Cons

    Nothing really come to my mind for this

    athenahealth2020-04-17
  2. "Leadership has really dropped over the years"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Remote work and some really great people that work there

    Cons

    Leadership is a total disgrace at the manager level. It seems like youre promoted by how well you walk over teammates and how little you know about the industry.;

    athenahealth2020-05-01
  3. "Athena...A.D."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in working hours, no micro management

    Cons

    Salary increases happen each year but they are almost impossible to notice on biweekly checks. This hasn't always been the case. Permission from current manager to apply for a different role at the company. Previously, you felt like you had a voice. Now you are ignored. There is no support from HR. If your manager has an opinion of you, it becomes fact. Limited advancement opportunities. JB knew your name. Your job. Made a point to talk to everyone. The new CEO couldn't pick me out of a lineup of 3. All of the culture athena used to have left when the board was pressured to get rid of JB. Small perks taken away, office spaces smaller, etc. Two rounds of major layoffs while the company continued to hire new employees. No loyalty.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-05-01
  4. "Not Very Demanding"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Work life balance is great - Most colleagues want to do good work

    Cons

    - Compensation continues to shrink in sneaky ways (especially if there’s a down year) - Leadership changes created a lot of churn, but very little impact. - Lack of accountability in pockets of the organization places odd demands on product managers

    athenahealth2020-04-16
  5. "Dedicated & Creative Co-Workers"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Almost everyone I worked with was committed to improving healthcare. My co-workers were committed to doing the right thing.

    Cons

    Changing directives and conflicting goals can make it a difficult place to work.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-04-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company Gone Mediocre"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Client Support Associate in Belfast, ME

    I worked at athenahealth full-time

    Pros

    Bonuses were amazing, teammates were great. Opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    When company was sold, layoffs were made without reason.

    athenahealth2020-04-14
  7. "Challenging but Administrative"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Opportunities for growth if you press - people are great - flexible vacation - location is solid - autonomy

    Cons

    - vesting schedule is poor - benefits are mediocre - red tape everywhere - opportunities are a bit political

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-04-16
  8. "Fast paced fun environment always learning"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Associate in Belfast, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Senior Leadership is "the good ole boys"

    athenahealth2020-03-27
  9. "Great Company to work for with a lot of Potential!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Austin office is one of a kind! Its located at the old Austin Power plant that's been completely modernized and has an amazing futuristic look and feel. In the Austin office, every Monday its Taco day. Company orders free breakfast tacos from Torchy's. There's a large shipment of all different types of snacks every month which is pretty cool. The office is beautiful and the people that work in the Austin office are super nice and laid back. My manager is relatively new to the company as I am as well, but we have a good synergy and it seems like there's a lot of room for growth. When I first got here it seemed like there was a lot of churn in the company because of the leadership changes. However, the new leadership team really does seem like they are doing a good job in focusing on the employees and making a difference in healthcare. Overall, even though I've only been here a couple of months, I love working here. I highly recommend it!

    Cons

    The infrastructure is a bit legacy but there are large scale projects to get it modernized.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-03-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not recommended"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IOS Developer in Pune
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The mission that drives this company is amazing, and it really unites everyone to work together as a team to provide the best services we can to adults with disabilities.

    Cons

    Lots of growth, so you never feel finished

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-03-12
Found 1145 reviews