athenahealth Reviews

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth Chairman and CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
98 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Triage"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Triage in Erie, PA

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job is good. Always variety.

    Cons

    Office Politics are difficult and may be the impact that leads to turnover...

    athenahealth2020-03-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "athenahealth is steadily regaining its former glory"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, great work life balance, strong culture of growth and empowerment, lots of super smart genuine people, tons of flexibility, competitive salaries, leadership seems to be back on the right track, business outlook is strong.

    Cons

    Some mid-to- senior leadership still seems stuck in the old way of doing things and lack coherent vision. Culture is still recovering following the loss of the founder/CEO and the acquisition by private equity.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-02-14
  3. "I love being part of an incredible company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Belfast, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've been with athenahealth for over 10 years and love my job and the many opportunities I have had over the years. I've seen LOTS of changes and very excited for the direction we are heading. I love to be part of a company that is working to make positive change to healthcare.

    Cons

    The only item that prevents a total of 5 stars would be around pay in Maine - re-visit GeoBand allocation.

    athenahealth2020-02-18
  4. "Great Company!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSM in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Athenahealth is a truly amazing Company- the employees of athena are all extremely knowledgeable, passionate, and kind. The company has many amazing benefits from a great PTO and benefits package to allowing dogs at the office. Athena is working to fix the US healthcare system and I'm grateful to be apart of the journey!

    Cons

    Training/on boarding can be overwhelming since there's so much to learn

    athenahealth2020-02-14
  5. "Awesome company with amazing culture!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Associate in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Talented, motivate teams that constantly challenge you to do better. -Fulfilling work that is mission-driven. -Leadership that wants employees to achieve their career goals. -Shuttle is great for commuters.

    Cons

    -none so far in my time here!

    athenahealth2020-02-13
  6. "Great place to work, definitely pushes you to your max"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Success Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, internal advancement opportunities, and a mission-driven culture

    Cons

    Having to work significant overtime often, lack of diversity at the executive leadership level.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-02-13
  7. "A great place to start your career."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Associate in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, above-average pay, smart co-workers, flexible career growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Location is outside of the city, learning curve if you don't have healthcare background.

    athenahealth2020-02-12
  8. "Great Place to put your ideas into Action"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company is well placed in the market ; You have plenty of opportunities to contribute and make a mark on the company and it’s results ; Thoroughly encouraged to work on new technologies; re-engineering old stack and try the best solutions

    Cons

    No Cons, Company is doing well and takes care of its employees

    athenahealth2020-02-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nice job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Having work life balance. Good to work

    Cons

    Compare to outside market less pay

    athenahealth2020-02-02
  10. "Good company with work life balance"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chennai
    Recommends

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility to work on projects that interest you Good work life balance Learning curve is good

    Cons

    Higher level management and politics

    athenahealth2020-02-05
Found 1147 reviews