athenahealth Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

athenahealth Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1011 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
23 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible Culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - People Team in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice on campus restaurant and great co-workers.

    Cons

    Team is micromanaged to death. The group I was in was managed in a very negative way. Everything had to be approved, re-approved, and then re-re-approved. It was mind boggling. There were meetings upon meetings about nothing. Talented people on my team were left trudging through the day working in restrictive parameters as management did not let them utilize their creativity and passion.

    Advice to Management

    Let the team do their jobs.

    athenahealth2019-05-06
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Loose structure, in a state of transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Performance Management Associate in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, a lot of opportunities to take on a project and run with it

    Cons

    Anyone who prefers strong management or structure seems to find working at athena frustrating

    athenahealth2019-04-09
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Plagued with mismanagement and employee apathy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relatively progressive workplace, decent pay if you're technology-related

    Cons

    - Non-developers compensation is typically lower-end - Poor benefits (ironically, poor health benefits) - Burnout happens immediately due to the lack of responsibility given to employees - Corporate decisions don't seem to make any sense and don't reflect the knowledge of people working on the actual products - Corporate is unwilling to hear employees' concerns or allow them to participate in decision-making - Outsourcing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of making opaque decisions that don't make logical sense, trust the knowledge of the people you hire. Allow employees at lower levels to contribute more to the company's vision.

    athenahealth2019-04-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Still a great place to me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Flexible WFH schedule - Never been micro-managed - Generous PTO accrual - Contemporary office environment - Vibrant company culture - Don't make you guzzle the kool-aid - Hard work is rewarded with promotions and salary increases - The corporate ladder is navigable for those who posses people skills

    Cons

    - Going through a transitional period (public to private & merging w/ another company) - Not really a con, but the work isn't easy. - Enterprise software in the healthcare space in a demanding industry and the clients are not always delighted with our products and services. - Client facing teams take a brunt of client frustrations on the chin (but that's what we're here to do, so that's not really a con) - Bending...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! I'm of the opinion that taking the company private was the right move.

    athenahealth2019-03-23
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospital Project Associate in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Big company Dog friendly Subsidized cafeteria

    Cons

    Corrupted Management No professional growth No HR presence

    Advice to Management

    Too many layers of management

    athenahealth2019-04-24
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    People and training were great

    Cons

    Management needs improvement and structure

    Advice to Management

    Grow people within

    athenahealth2019-03-22
  7. "Change is here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Learned a lot, good people.

    Cons

    Change takes time. Currently going through leadership transitions.

    athenahealth2019-03-21
  8. "amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    flexible work/life balance, strong management, great company culture, etc.

    Cons

    no cons whatsoever that i've noticed so far

    Advice to Management

    none

    athenahealth2019-03-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Associate in Belfast, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits Good people working under management level, who will get crapped on.

    Cons

    If you want to get somewhere, you need to support management whether you agree or disagree. There is no appreciation to those who do the best job. No job security - Layoffs are coming.

    Advice to Management

    Start over because most of you suck

    athenahealth2019-04-23
  10. "Great place to work with very smart people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Manager was like my mentor

    Cons

    Customers feel very negative about the product.

    athenahealth2019-03-15
Found 1011 reviews