athenahealth Reviews

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth Chairman and CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
98 Ratings
  1. "Good company with work life balance"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chennai
    Recommends

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility to work on projects that interest you Good work life balance Learning curve is good

    Cons

    Higher level management and politics

    athenahealth2020-02-05
  2. "An efficient and respectful company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The entire interview process took only 17 days.

    Cons

    Well being and good atmosphere

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-02-03
  3. Helpful (4)

    "New Owners focusing on short term results heavily"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time

    Pros

    Laid back environment. Company values are always taken seriously. Skill gets rewarded. The CTO that had the Platform vision is not at the company anymore. He is a good technologist, but he lacked execution and leadership qualities needed of a CTO. A lot of good leaders in the company left because of his attitude. Bob(CEO) is holding himself Accountable for turning the company around and his biweekly newsletters are an example of his leadership. He has experience leading big companies before, so that's a good sign.

    Cons

    Management at Director and Exec Director level lack the experience to turn a company around / run big organizations. Often results in poor decision making and making Manager / Sr Manager lives stressful with mixed messaging all the time. Leadership at Director and Exec Director should have more Accountability for their actions. Despite the push to modern technologies, it remains a distant dream for most developers in the company. The 30% growth in the 2007-2017 decade made the teams not focus on quality of their code. Some parts of the product have huge bug backlogs that the teams hate working on. The insurance benefits were changed in 2020 and the policies became more expensive. The out of pocket maximums are also increased. 401k match is mediocre when compared with the industry and the new equity package under private owners is below par. Base Pay is also below market averages, so retaining experienced engineers has been a challenge in the organization, especially in a hot tech job market like Boston. New owners are focusing on wrong metrics like No.of features delivered in a release, which is bad because it will not set the right attitude for the teams. They might take shortcuts to get features out. New owners are focused on making the top and bottom line numbers look good, so that they can sell the company in 3-4 years (which is probably expected).

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-02-08
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Under Appreciated and Over Worked"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mission of the company is good. Dog friendly

    Cons

    There are way too many mid level managers here and not enough workers. These managers, for the most part, are only in it for themselves and will not support you in any way. They give lip service but will talk behind your back. Everything here is done in a passive-aggressive, closed-door way. I was told in my interview that this is a collaborative "door is always open" environment but it's the exact opposite. Very hierarchical. Been here almost a year and it hasn't improved. No wonder attrition is at comical levels.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-02-28
  5. "Greta work life balance, culture slipped and okay room to grow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coaching & Training Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible, decent work/life balance, decent culture

    Cons

    The old CEO cared more because the company was his baby-life at athena was better than. Now there is less unity as a company, and they have little to no people of color in the higher cohorts. Low pay compare d to industry.

    athenahealth2020-01-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity for growth and learning!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Athenahealth is filled with incredibly bright engineers. During my years here I have found tremendous mentors and developed my skills greatly. I like that Athenahealth is a meritocracy where years of experience are not required for a promotion. A engineer with a few years of experience can reach the highest cohorts if they are truly performing at that level. The other thing that is awesome is the dogs! I bring mine in every day - she is the favorite employee in the office.

    Cons

    Senior leadership has been swung around a bit with our recent acquisition. To be honest the effects haven't been felt too much in day to day activity. It was distracting for a time period, especially given the fomo on the conspiracy slack channels. Thankfully things have stabilized.

    athenahealth2020-01-17
  7. "Supportive environment for parents, fun atmosphere"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager Marketing in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It might vary by division, but overall the work/life balance is excellent. My manager, division, and colleagues are understanding about family commitments and it is easy to work from home whenever I need to. 3-month maternity leave policy is a plus, and the lactation rooms in the office are great. There is also an athenaParents group that is active and helpful. I don't use it myself, but there is a Bright Horizons daycare sharing our campus, and it is very convenient for many employees. I also enjoy coming to work every day to see colleagues and be in this space. It's an energetic environment, there are dogs everywhere, and the atmosphere feels fun and casual (but everyone still works hard!). Employees are social and engaged. It's a place where you can form true friendships with colleagues.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of turnover in recent years, including at the executive level. It's led to some frustrations and confusion, but I really believe we are past it now. We're on the right track and I feel optimistic about being here long term. Depending on the division, it can be hard to get promoted, and the same standards are not always applied across the company.

    athenahealth2020-01-21
  8. "Best for career groqth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wfh Learning opportunities Benefits and employees first

    Cons

    Internal politics I don't feel any other negatives.

    athenahealth2020-01-19
  9. "Very Clickish and Too Many Unhappy Employees"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible in remote work environment.

    Cons

    If you are not in the click then your voice does not matter.

    athenahealth2020-01-29
  10. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, People Oriented company with challenging work.

    Cons

    People are given more power than they should have.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-01-14
Found 1147 reviews