athenahealth Senior Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

athenahealth Senior Associate Reviews

Updated 24 de Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
62%
Recommend to a Friend
athenahealth CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
0 Ratings
  1. "3+ years at athena"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Associate - Projects 

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time

    Pros

    a pro is the ability to work from home

    Cons

    the management is very disorganized

    athenahealth2019-10-24
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Senior Rules Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly smart, humble, funny people on my immediate team, primarily at the associate level.

    Cons

    Horrendous management, poor prioritization, lack of accountability and transparency.

    Advice to Management

    Promote people. Stop obsessing over metrics that are supposed to prove your employees are doing their work. Instead, focus on how to make that work easier, more efficient, and more engaging.

    athenahealth2018-12-07
  3. "Great Culture & Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Client Service Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great work-space, decent salary & benefits.

    Cons

    Frequent changes to organizational structure, need to be able to adapt quickly and relearn various workflows & processes as they continuously change (not completely a bad thing, as sometimes the change is for the better). Insecurity around re-orgs (rounds of layoffs seemed to happen every other year, with this most recent one impacting around 500 employees across multiple locations).

    Advice to Management

    Try to cut down on the frequency of re-orgs.

    athenahealth2018-08-20
  4. "Largely a great place to work with some opportunities for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Associate in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amenable social culture, various employee perks, generally on par to above par in benefits.

    Cons

    Career growth opportunities exist but the structure of career advancement needs overhauling. High performing employees do not always get fast tracked for promotion due to poor resource management. Finance needs to get its life together to help operations departments meet resourcing needs. Customer Success (account management) division lacks a strong talent pool which causes upset and confused clients.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to strengthen core product competencies and focus on showcasing, promoting high performers.

    athenahealth2018-05-29
  5. Helpful (38)

    "Highly Unstable And Uncertain Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Before I would have said this is a great place to work for college students fresh out of school. They'll grind you down, cheat you on benefits, and underpay you, but leave you with a wealth of experience and connect you with some of the most amazing people you'll ever work with. Cloud-based technology is definitely the future, and it's a great foundational idea. However, with many of the current issues, such as... layoffs and turnover, the company is highly unstable and doesn't appear that it can remain competitive in the long term. So maybe consider side-stepping this company for the year or two, and see if things turn around after that.

    Show More

    Cons

    Poor management abounds. Senior leadership is always changing directions and focus, to the extreme frustration of clients and employees. Middle managers are untrained (I mean this literally - we have no manager training program), leading to petty kingdoms full of unprofessional leaders who play favorites and make poor decisions based on politics alone. You're generally unable to get promoted above one cohort unless... you leave for another company and come back - oddly, they love this. This same culture led to the eCW situation, which is highly concerning.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    First, please have HR stop writing fake, 5 star reviews on here. It's awkward, transparent and highly against Glassdoor's own policies (we see you!). Once that's done, please be more conservative about how you resource work and spend capital (hint: maybe buying touch screen televisions and advertising to employees that you want to "fill the ranks" was a bad idea right after a 10% workforce reduction). Finally, work... on a way to retain talented employees. A large number of colleagues indicated they were hoping to leave the company within the next year - focus on a plan for addressing this, and don't have the plan be to fill the ranks with exploitable millennials.

    Show More
    athenahealth2018-01-12
  6. Helpful (3)

    "One change too many changes..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate - Projects in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Depending on your department, there's flexibility in how your work is executed; lots of diversity groups and initiatives; very respectful of different cultures and backgrounds; young, motivated professionals; open door/transparent company culture; has yearly org changes that may improve job functions; has a true teach and learn environment that encourages feedback and open inquiries; growth/transfer opportunities... are frequent and usually available; encourages acts of appreciation and acknowledgment; takes feedback well, for the most part, and addresses it/them

    Show More

    Cons

    Clear "divide" between culture in Boston, Belfast, and Atlanta (yet SL acts as if the office are the same-- they are geographically and culturally different!); people of color with the same work ethic, experience, skills and traits do not promote as quickly as their caucasian counterparts; has yearly org changes that may worsen job functions; not competitive in pay with other similar companies and roles; has... inadvertently changed the teach and learn environment into a traditional no-more-than-your coworkers to promote environment; not very many (very little!)women and people of color in top leadership positions;

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stick to what you know works well. Employees understand the changes that happen when a company grows, but don't abandon the elements that made your company special to meet your new bottom line - try to do both! Remember that your internal teams are as much of a stakeholder as your external ones, don't make them distrust your vision by approaching big changes (like the most recent SURPRISE layoffs) as nonchalantly... as a normal re-org. Be genuine and give your current employees time to process a big, unexpected event properly. Pay your people better and pay to have them certified/educated with industry credentials (it attracts more good people).

    Show More
    athenahealth2018-01-04
  7. "Doing great things!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of pros to working here. At the top of the list is the great company culture. The atmosphere in the office reflects the external mission in the industry. I am surrounded by like-minded people who desire to go above and beyond. The line between work and personal is blurred here. We have beer fridges, great company events, and we bring our dogs to the office. Ultimately, what we are trying to do for... healthcare resonates with the employees. I truly believe we are doing good.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are not many cons, but if I had to name one it would be the growing pains after such accelerated growth. I also believe the pay (personally) is not commensurate with my experience and responsibilities. Like many other places, upward mobility can have its obstacles depending on many factors - the cohort system can sometimes alienate high performing individuals depending on what level they were hired in at and... what department.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do more to grow your top performers. Don't get bogged down with so much structure that you would withhold a promotion or more pay due. I would also make sure to be more consistent on the kind of managers you hire and the training they receive. Some departments are definitely more in tune with the overall "athena culture" than others and it shows.

    athenahealth2017-07-29
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Work from home, flexibility, professional development, upward mobility

    Cons

    Constantly re-orging, Departures in senior leadership

    athenahealth2017-06-13
  9. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Chennai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wfh option available and cab

    Cons

    Work life balance depends on the managers

    athenahealth2017-06-02
  10. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Associate in Belfast, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth

    Pros

    Great place, solid vision and on the right track

    Cons

    Sometimes focus could be a priority

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that the focus articulated at the top transcends ranks.

    athenahealth2016-12-16
Found 25 reviews