athenahealth Employee Reviews about "senior leadership"

Updated 27 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth Chairman and CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
98 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior leadership"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fast paced fun environment always learning"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Associate in Belfast, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Senior Leadership is "the good ole boys"

    athenahealth2020-03-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "athenahealth is steadily regaining its former glory"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, great work life balance, strong culture of growth and empowerment, lots of super smart genuine people, tons of flexibility, competitive salaries, leadership seems to be back on the right track, business outlook is strong.

    Cons

    Some mid-to- senior leadership still seems stuck in the old way of doing things and lack coherent vision. Culture is still recovering following the loss of the founder/CEO and the acquisition by private equity.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-02-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity for growth and learning!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Athenahealth is filled with incredibly bright engineers. During my years here I have found tremendous mentors and developed my skills greatly. I like that Athenahealth is a meritocracy where years of experience are not required for a promotion. A engineer with a few years of experience can reach the highest cohorts if they are truly performing at that level. The other thing that is awesome is the dogs! I bring mine in every day - she is the favorite employee in the office.

    Cons

    Senior leadership has been swung around a bit with our recent acquisition. To be honest the effects haven't been felt too much in day to day activity. It was distracting for a time period, especially given the fomo on the conspiracy slack channels. Thankfully things have stabilized.

    athenahealth2020-01-17
  4. Helpful (10)

    "The Goal is to Sell"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary's fine, though they will no longer give equity to new hires. It feels good to work on something that will help people. Lots of good people.

    Cons

    athena has always been a company in constant transition, but this last year after the acquisition has been destructive. Our new management's only goal is to sell the company for as much as possible in four years - nothing else matters. This has lead to large layoffs while we show a profit, teams attempting to work on major projects being totally under-resourced, a migration from good enterprise tools (Slack) to cheaper ones that make our jobs harder (Microsoft Teams), and a constant push to cut costs while simultaneously being told the company is in great shape and we are "getting our mojo back". This experience has eroded athena's once-famous company culture, and it's been months since I've seen a week without a goodbye email in my inbox. In addition, the hedge funds that own us has, despite their claims, an extremely short-sighted outlook for us. We had a hiring freeze after the acquisition, only reopened this quarter after we showed good numbers for last quarter. I'm told "this is just how being owned by a hedge fund works" but only being granted resources when we do well gives me zero confidence I will still have a job when something outside my control happens to make the company post a bad quarter, especially given how detached it feels like senior leadership is from their employees.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2019-10-20
  5. Helpful (17)

    "It’s gone way downhill"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There used to be a culture, we were doing good, disruptive things in the healthcare tech space

    Cons

    Lowball pay, unreasonable expectations set by sales and onboarding, abysmal senior leadership

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2019-05-03
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Not a managed company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Non-management people are terrific and a dog friendly campus make it a nice place to be. The mission still resonates and is important.

    Cons

    Be careful who you work for. How your life is at athena is completely dependent on who your manager is. Some manager get how athena is broken and helps you manage through it. Others throw you to the wolves, criticize everything you do and bury you in corporate politics. Senior leadership has not a single clue about the company they are running because they barricade themselves in their ivory towers and almost never mingle with the masses on a regular basis.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2019-01-26
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Good Product, But Tough Times"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Manager in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Competitive salary, good bonus, company stock - Work/life balance is manageable - You'll work with talented and intelligent individuals - As far as medical software goes, athena has a good product; most doctors hate EMRs no matter what, but athena will rank pretty high in any kind of industry ranking list - There's a feeling that the work you do matters - If this is your kind of thing, you can bring dogs to work

    Cons

    - the turnover at the top of the company was pretty unsettling, particularly watching CEO get dragged through the mud publicly; i also think in the 3 years I worked there athena had something like 6 CFOs. It felt like every other month we were finding out about a change to senior leadership - mass layoff in 2017, entire process was handled just so poorly, but seeing 400-500 people lose their jobs without a ton of warning was hard to get past; I wasn't laid off but felt like the next time around I wouldn't be so lucky - the health insurance was less than ideal, if you're married, you'll want to use your spouse's, no matter what - the customer support center is a major point of frustration for clients, I even had a few clients who refused to call and demanded I handle everything for them - cases take far too long to be worked on, which frustrates clients - there's an unfortunate culture of "client-facing" vs "non client-facing"; a lot of operational teams are needed to face off with clients to ensure best customer service, and these teams refuse to speak to clients - constant reorgs and change -i listed company stock as a pro, but i'll probably never work at a publicly traded company again after this experience; just way too much power given to shareholders and while it made athena a ton of money going public, in the end this company would probably be best being privately owned so it didn't have to make decisions based purely off making investors money

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2019-01-11
  8. Helpful (61)

    "Proceed with caution..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A few ago I wrote about how this was the best job I ever had. A lot has changed since then, most of it for the worst. You may be fine here, or you may not. It's definitely not a horrible place to work, but it sure seems like it some days when comparing it to how it used to be just a couple years ago. > The vast majority of the people you work with directly are awesome. > Work/life balance is fantastic. There are a days now and again where you are expected to be in the office, but usually you can work from home whenever you need to. > A lot of new projects and technology coming into play in the last year. I don't know anyone in Austin who is still writing Perl code on an ancient monolith anymore. > For the most part, the managers I've worked with over the year have been excellent and most people have a positive relationship with theirs. > The company mission is inspiring, although depending on where you land you might be doing nothing more than moving data around and not feeling inspired by your day job. > Free breakfast tacos on Mondays. Other basic free snacks and drinks are available as well.

    Cons

    Most of the employees right now are not unhappy. The company has been bleeding talent since last October when they laid off 10% of employees to placate a whiny shareholder. If you decide to accept an offer, you should realize that you are likely replacing someone who quit. > Senior leadership is awful in many ways. No matter how far down the ladder you are, they will make decisions that will negatively impact your morale and career on a regular basis. > The CTO, Prakash Khot, is full of bad ideas but thinks himself an infallible messiah of tech. I've never seen a leader take an organization high in morale and productivity and drag it down so low. Example: he decided a few months back that all teams across the entire company should consist of exactly 3 developers (with few exceptions). Every engineer that I've talked to about it said it is the stupidest idea that they ever heard. > Highly political and back-stabbing environment. The CTO used company-wide layoffs last October to forcefully remove the entire senior leadership team in Austin. These were the best leaders I've ever worked with in my life and did their jobs extremely well, but the CTO resented them for pushing back against his demands and often awful agenda (see: 3 developer teams). Morale in Austin has absolutely plummeted since and shows no signs of recovery. > Low autonomy for certain groups and teams. If you don't have any desire to design anything and are content with just taking orders from above, you'll be fine. > The company is notorious for re-orgs because SLT at the top are incompetent and unable to provide any stability. This often means having your project abruptly canceled (even if it's 99% done) for BS reasons like a change in SLT's "vision". About half of the projects I've worked on have been canceled for one reason or another > Career advancement isn't really based on performance, but more on luck. I've watched many great engineers be held back in their careers because they were in the wrong place at the wrong time (project got canceled on them) or had a manager who was too busy to notice their impact or didn't care. HR has taken notice and is making solid steps to improve this though.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2018-05-25
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Not a Good Company to work with"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Smts in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - WFH Options - Work life balance. - Good if you are in a Platform team.

    Cons

    - Very bad company if you want to learn something. - Senior leadership team only cares about their own people. - Lack of transparency in hiring as rejected candidates referred by few managers get hired, and so that their family members hence a chaotic environment is created by one hierarchy. - Non platform teams are treated badly, no travel options, no good hike.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2018-07-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Maturing company going through some growing pain"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, culture, and spirit, flexibility, work life balance, great community for women and Moms. Leadership is willing to listen and adapt, tried to be transparent.

    Cons

    Poor senior leadership, lack of strategic direction, lots of swirl, and brewing of instability with recent investor bid. Tried to take on too much, lack of focus.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2018-05-18
Found 40 reviews