athenahealth Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 25 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth Chairman and CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
96 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (10)

    "It's no longer "all about the people""

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work-life balance Interesting and compelling problems to solve Unique office space Some really great teammates and direct managers

    Cons

    Constant reprioritization and regoranization of departments Lack of diversity - especially in leadership. We used to have quite a few women in high leadership positions (though our ethnic diversity in leadership has never been great.) Due to mysterious firings and changing of positions, we mostly have white men in leadership positions. Could be a pro if you are a white male. New management has changed the focus from the people and the work to just the work. Some of the best humans I have ever worked with have been pushed out of the company in favor of startup bros and "fresh" people who are more concerned with making themselves look good than making their teams feel empowered and have job satisfaction. While the CEO's transparency is a pro, he has said one too many offensive things for me to respect him. He has tried to learn from his mistakes in some cases, but actions speak louder than words. All software developers get stock with their compensation while other R&D functions get none though we also build our products Bad health plan. CEO wants us to shop for our healthcare while he sails on his yacht every weekend. My PT costs $100 out of pocket if I use insurance and $50 with self pay.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2017-09-13
  2. "Getting good again"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Associate in Belfast, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance They're finally focusing on getting us thorough training (this is LONG overdue) Interesting, impactful work Excellent response and support during COVID. No complaints at all there.

    Cons

    Pay is okay for the area, but it could definitely improve.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-05-25
  3. "Good company but unclear strategy"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Provides good benefits - Great work-life balance

    Cons

    - Being a healthcare-tech, you won't get to work on latest tech such as ai/machine learning - Because of acquisition, its strategy is not yet in place. It might become better though in the coming years

    athenahealth2020-05-07
  4. "Not Very Demanding"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Work life balance is great - Most colleagues want to do good work

    Cons

    - Compensation continues to shrink in sneaky ways (especially if there’s a down year) - Leadership changes created a lot of churn, but very little impact. - Lack of accountability in pockets of the organization places odd demands on product managers

    athenahealth2020-04-16
  5. "Internship"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Chennai
    Recommends

    I have been working at athenahealth for less than a year

    Pros

    Perfect work life balance Good atmosphere to learn Good pay

    Cons

    I don't think any about cons.. They can increase the AC temperature :)

    athenahealth2020-03-27
  6. "Fast paced fun environment always learning"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Associate in Belfast, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Senior Leadership is "the good ole boys"

    athenahealth2020-03-27
  7. "Do not join the company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time

    Pros

    - free biscuits - cab service

    Cons

    - work in perl - no growth mindset - no fun or work life balance - very minimal hike - new mgt is very boring and bad

    athenahealth2020-04-18
  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Associate in Belfast, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, opportunity, flexibility, challenging

    Cons

    I don’t have any major complaints

    athenahealth2020-03-12
  9. "Great work life balance"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at athenahealth full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance and Good work culture

    Cons

    Getting a complete picture of the work

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-03-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "athenahealth is steadily regaining its former glory"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, great work life balance, strong culture of growth and empowerment, lots of super smart genuine people, tons of flexibility, competitive salaries, leadership seems to be back on the right track, business outlook is strong.

    Cons

    Some mid-to- senior leadership still seems stuck in the old way of doing things and lack coherent vision. Culture is still recovering following the loss of the founder/CEO and the acquisition by private equity.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-02-14
Found 248 reviews