charity: water Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 49 reviews

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
charity: water Founder/CEO Scott Harrison (no image)
Scott Harrison
28 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Fine

    Feb 7, 2021 - Director in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pretty Good in most ways

    Cons

    None in most ways none

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    A great workplace with a great CEO

    Aug 14, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Amazing donors and supporters (truly one of the best parts!) -Talented and friend coworkers -Comfortable office -Working toward ending the water crisis -Flexible work and great vacation policies -Dedicated Founder and CEO

    Cons

    -Different employees have different levels of commitment and dedication (with no common standard across departments) -Took a long time to get to a fair wage for work contributions (though incredibly grateful and impressed that I was able to eventually get there)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Innovative growing NGO

    Dec 13, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    charity: water is a NGO meets tech start up. This organization has a gorgeous and creative office creating a space you actually want to go to work from and enjoy. The HR team is dedicated to staff care and is always looking for new ways to improve and help employees. Unlike traditional NGOs, charity: water attracts the best from various fields, including software engineers, designers, fundraisers, marketers and grants managers and pays a competitive wage compared to most NGOs. charity: water has crazy ideas for fundraising that continue to bring in millions of dollars each year. Each year the organization sends around $25 million to the field to fund water projects, making it one of the top private funders of water in the USA. charity: water has an opportunity to continue to grow and create a name for itself as both a marketing and fundraising organization as well as a major player in the WASH (water, sanitation & hygiene world).

    Cons

    charity: water is only ten years old and has grown rapidly over the last 10 years. While this growth has expanded the organization to nearly 80 staff, the average age of staff is likely in its late 20s or early 30s. The organization could benefit from hiring a few more well seasoned staff to manage teams and help the organization grow smarter over the next 10 years. This stronger management could help bring more accountability to each staff member and teams as well as help each employee grow as an individual and a team member. The organization is also working harder to diversity funding streams and grow the donor base to boost fundraising and increase dollars to the field projects. Work/life balance is dependent upon each staff member. Some staff are quite balanced, while others maintain the workaholic culture that the organization had in its early years.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great org with passionate people

    Jun 16, 2021 - Fundraising Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The nonprofit start-up vibe is great for encouraging innovation, and for all the free snacks. Leadership is transparent and values the opinions of lower level staff, and Directors encourage employee development. Overall c:w is a great place to work and I would definitely recommend.

    Cons

    Fundraising was negatively impacted by COVID, forcing some layoffs and reductions in salaries/benefits , although I believe they are recovering. Definitely not a lot of diversity, but not uncommon for the NYC nonprofit world. Compensation is on-par with industry standards, which is to say not great.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A great organization making the world a better place.

    Feb 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I didn't think a place like charity: water existed until I started here, even two years later I am waiting for the catch. It's one of the few times I can say the best thing about working here isn't just "the people" - though by any measure the people here are kinder than anywhere else I've worked. No, the work itself is so incredibly rewarding, at times challenging, but the cliche saying about doing a job you love means you never work a day in your life fits. So, yes, the work you do here makes a difference for good in the world and that feeling is impossible to replace. But, beyond that, charity: water is also a really well put together organization that requires integrity and honesty above all else. Compensation is better than most non-profits and they will get close to what you would expect from a similar role in a for-profit job. You won't feel like you are being taken for granted.

    Cons

    Anything I list here is just the same stuff you will see at literally any other job. Expect times when you'll be busy but know that you'll also have times where you aren't.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Terrible Management

    Jun 4, 2021 - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great office and super mission is driven!

    Cons

    The management is awful. My boss was incredibly fake in her intention to help me learn. She added extra pressure in situations that were completely unnecessary and was projecting her mistakes on me.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Strong Community

    Feb 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You’ll feel like part of a family working here.

    Cons

    Transparency is great externally, but opportunity to be better internally. Manager training and giving feedback also should improve.

    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great mission, mediocre management

    Nov 30, 2020 - Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent benefits for a nonprofit, nice office environment, fun team-oriented activities.

    Cons

    charity: water cares more about making pretty things than making a positive impact on the world. Case in point: Covid drove some layoffs; they cut basically all of the programs that make sure the projects in the field work long-term, but they kept the videographer. On top of this, there is some major pay inequity and a serious lack of diversity. And generally speaking, criticism isn't welcomed.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to be but needs to address some real internal issues

    Jul 8, 2020 - Fundraising Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Before I get into the "Pros": It’s a dream job to be able to help people while doing something we enjoy. There’s a lot of growth potential at a young nonprofit like charity: water that also embraces the startup ethos. It can also lead to a lot of problems operating under that mentality. Nothing I describe below is insurmountable, and I know there is buy-in from its current staff to see to it that charity: water continues to grow and innovate and live up to its core values: Integrity, Respect, Excellence, Innovation, Generosity and Passion. I have faith that it can change, and against the current socio-political climate, it HAS to change if it wants to be a leader and innovator in the nonprofit space and beyond. Pros: 1) Flexible workplace policies People here understand the importance of working around the needs of its employees. They don’t treat you like a number and trust that you’ll get the work done. A lot of trust and autonomy and wiggle room. 2) Great Staff As every review has pointed out, you will not find another organization with nearly as many bright, talented, and passionate people. It’s one of those rare places where people are happy to go to work on a Monday. 3) Professional Development By nature of being a startup and being a nonprofit, you get to do a variety of things. It’s up to you to take initiative but you get a lot of exposure to other teams/depts, learn new skills, take on new projects, etc. What sort of impact or legacy you leave behind is really up to you. I know I’ve certainly learned A LOT from this job that I’ll take with me into my next role(s).

    Cons

    1) Diversity, where are you? I counted about 10+ BIPOC staff members out of 80+ total people. I don’t have the stats for other protected categories but it’s safe to assume most staff members are white, middle-class, cisgender people. This would be unremarkable in another city or town but we’re talking about New York City. We can do better. The lack of diversity stems from its hiring practices: 1) hiring for “culture fit” which can be unconsciously biased, 2) hiring through employee referrals which limits exposure to diverse perspectives, and 3) hiring from its current and former intern pool. FYI, interns are unpaid so you can guess which college students are likely to be able to afford to live in or around NYC while working for free. 2) No Hierarchy, or just disorganized? There were a lot of unfilled management positions, so the responsibility fell to the interns, entry level, and other lower level employees to get things done. There was a lack of infrastructure. Huge disconnect within and between teams/depts. Unclear ownership of tasks or projects. Not a lot of follow through or sticking to one plan. Always innovate (aka adapt or die mentality). Doesn’t leave room for stable growth or the ability to build upon an existing foundation if that foundation keeps shifting. 3) What’s your job description? After discussing with various former and current c: w staff, it’s apparent that job descriptions are merely suggestions. It’s a running theme for employees to apply for one job but end up with another. Part of having an organization that’s constantly changing also applies to its team structure and team roles. Sometimes for the better of the organization as a whole but sometimes at the expense of its employees. Compounded by the fact that c: w is notorious for having an onboarding of new hires that takes 6 months to a year. That’s really how long it takes to get your sea legs here and understand how the org functions along with its many complicated systems and processes. At the end of the day I left feeling like I failed at my job when I was never set up for success to begin with. Mind you, I take full responsibility for any of my own shortcomings and for not seizing the opportunity to create the change I wanted to see (re: my above criticisms). That is my only regret. If you can survive in this type of work environment, you’re destined for success. Adaptability is a great trait to possess right now, especially with the pandemic upending our everyday lives and forcing us to shift how we conduct business. My time at c: w was an otherwise enjoyable and very valuable work experience, but the org needs to address some of the issues noted above if it truly wants to live up to its own core values.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    No Diversity; Hive Minded

    Dec 29, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice office and fair compensation

    Cons

    As part of the HR team, I was told to hire people who strictly “look like” a cultural fit. We really only bring on other like-minded people who outwardly display signs of sharing this view. When I asked about diversity initiatives and representing other people, my question was met with a blank stare.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

Work at charity: water? Share Your Experiences

charity: water logo
or