deVere Group Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

deVere Group Consultant Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
deVere Group CEO Nigel Green
Nigel Green
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (13)

    "Rewarding Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Servicing Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at deVere Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Experience, training, preparation for further emplyment

    Cons

    Unrealistic bonus, Lack of benefits and high starting costs

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees

    deVere Group2015-07-05
  2. Helpful (4)

    "A company for Hustlers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company has given me a lot in terms of the right attitude & knowledge needed to do the job. Each consultant is mentored and works very closely with the Senior Management in the organisation, giving the consultant a first hand access to the plethora of knowledge, products & the best way to be successful. Working hard is the key to success in this organisation & if anyone is looking to expand their... career and make a serious living should consider joining the group. The office here in Gurgaon is a great place to work in, & comes with state of the art infrastructure to support the employee best in their work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not much of cons & to be honest as one progresses, they realise that the company has a fantastic culture to offer.

    Advice to Management

    Need a better coffee machine :P

    deVere Group2019-06-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training was good if all you want to be is a sales person and not a proper IFA, Good to travel the world with. Sometimes orphaned clients given to you to help get you started.

    Cons

    Local office and team managers have complete disregard for staff confidentialty and discuss private information about staff throughout the whole office. They actively encourage discussions. No support from managers once in the role. Some consultants openly sell products to clients not suitable for the client but pays them good commission.

    Advice to Management

    don't pass information to office staff that shouldnt be

    deVere Group2019-03-21
  4. Helpful (4)

    "To whom it may concern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Wealth Consultant in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to get into the world of Finance. Lots of training, with other companies and fund managers that come by the office. The atmosphere in the office is great, lots of events organised.

    Cons

    It's not a job that is for everyone, as you have to be self-dependent. It's Finance, so long days are bound to happen every once in a while

    Advice to Management

    Can I have some more vacation days ;)

    deVere Group2018-08-24
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A unique opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Associate Wealth Consultant in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been working in the Shanghai office for nearly two years already. I started from the very bottom working one-on-one with one of the Senior Managers from the region which allowed me to see how everything works. I learn with him to: - Service clients and explain to them in terms that are easy to digest how their portfolio is doing. - To prepare a financial plan for different type of clients. - Learn to... make a plan for myself as well. - Increase my communication skills. Additionally, one of the main benefits I see from a job like this is that it gives me the opportunity to expand my network with high profile executives from various industries which will definitely have a positive impact in my future.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is definitely not for everyone. You need to be very discipline if you want to succeed in a job like this. The financial industry has a reputation that we need to overcome. There is a learning curve we all need to experience to learn the business which many can't take on.

    Advice to Management

    The business model could be more supportive to new comers.

    deVere Group2018-08-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic Career Opportunity in China"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wealth Management Consultant in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great office environment and atmosphere. - Top-level training. Excellent resources, plenty of guest speakers on a regular basis and experienced staff are approachable even if you are new. - Opportunity to live an exciting life in an exciting city.

    Cons

    - Expected to be high-performing. - Can be tough, long days. Not for everyone.

    deVere Group2018-05-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - More professional than any other company in its space. -More ethical than any other company in its space. A truly global organisation that believes in excellence and offers life changing opportunity only for the right people.

    Cons

    Not sure if its really a con but you have to give it your 200% when you first start.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    deVere Group2018-03-24
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Only for naive, young candidates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Wealth Consultant in Johannesburg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Products that you offer to clients are good and highly valuable. (Direct sales) Training is useful and is repeated almost on a daily basis

    Cons

    You think you can act like an entrepreneur using deVere products but you are not. Management style very directive, by times intimidating. Sales is pushed by all kinds of highly unprofessional techniques. If you not...then is a coined idea. Although you have to keep up the image that the back-office and client data confidentiality is foolproof, in reality the management of client data and ways to identify new... prospects is violating any standard.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring former barkeepers, real estate agents and graduates who don't have a clue about the products and the markets :-)

    deVere Group2018-04-04
  9. Helpful (3)

    "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Accra
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    International travel and chance to learn about the world of offshore investing

    Cons

    Terrible employee support once abroad

    Advice to Management

    Improve working and environment conditions for consultants, pay a basic, even if it's a low one

    deVere Group2018-04-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Financial Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Consultant in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    a good place to learn

    Cons

    Salary structure and taxes should be taken care of properly

    Advice to Management

    pay some basic salary, rather than making a commision only job

    deVere Group2017-11-20
Found 29 reviews