etc.venues Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

etc.venues Reviews

Updated 15 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
88%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
etc.venues CEO Alastair Stewart
Alastair Stewart
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch (employees are provided healthy lunch options everyday)(in 10 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "N/A- other then i would love our team to expand further in Birmingham with another bigger venue space of 500(in 7 reviews)

  • "poor management skills and no respect for employees couple with cheap pay(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great progression opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Coordinator in City of London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at etc.venues full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Career progression, free lunch, fun place to work!

    Cons

    Long commute, large team, monthly pay

    etc.venues2019-11-15
  2. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at etc.venues full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Various benefits Free lunch Lovely Team Good pay

    Cons

    Can’t think of any cons

    Advice to Management

    Management team is great

    etc.venues2019-11-15
  3. "Do NOT work for ETC Monument"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Luggage Porter in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at etc.venues full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely none other than when you walk out the door.

    Cons

    Awful pay, general poor treatment of staff, any excuse to not pay people correctly, negligent management team, dishonest management team and just a generally awful place to work where the main aim seems to be to find any reason to pay staff as little as possible.

    Advice to Management

    Just be better at your jobs and honest with your staff.

    etc.venues2019-11-13
  4. "Amazing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at etc.venues full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I loved working at etc. Everyone is passionate about food and care for their chefs. Great work life balance Fantastic ingredients Everyone is friendly and supportive Fantastic Career progression

    Cons

    You work hard when is busy but everyone appreciates...

    Advice to Management

    Thank you and good luck in your adventure to NEw York.

    etc.venues2019-09-29
  5. "Senior Facilities Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Facilities Manager in Mayfair, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at etc.venues full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible as hell. 70% of the shifts there's food on the spot. If you play with your team from the start, you are golden. It will be your team vs the clients.

    Cons

    Business cycles. There is ups and downs and they'll get rid of the ones that aren't performing. Seems fair.

    Advice to Management

    Do not micromanage. It's a fool's errand and nobody likes it.

    etc.venues2019-09-28
  6. "Great Team, Great food, Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at etc.venues full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Progression opportunities Great family culture Always evolving

    Cons

    Busy environment but great support

    Advice to Management

    Keep expanding

    etc.venues2019-08-05
  7. "One of the best companies in hospitality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at etc.venues full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really like working here, everyone is friendly, supportive and look after you. I started in a junior position and was able to progress!

    Cons

    You work hard and its busy but when you are appreciated and valued its okay. Time flies though.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going and cant wait to see the venues in New York.

    etc.venues2019-07-22
  8. "A company who does what it says it will...a refreshing change!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Venue Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at etc.venues full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I joined etc.venues knowing very little about the brand however following interviews with some of the Exec Team, I knew instantly this was a company who valued its people and it hasn’t let me down, my gut feeling was absolutely right. From the moment I joined the group, it was clear they had ambition to go places and all the plans discussed have come to fruition and that list of plans/venue openings keeps growing.... Even though we are based away from the central office, we are still made to feel very much part of the team and wider company visions with regular updates and visits and additionally everyone being able to attend the Christmas & Summer Socials. A summary of the main Pros are: - Company Vision - People Values - Work Life Balance - Work Environment (Our venues are beautiful & they are always willing to invest if we need more tools to do our jobs) - Benefits Package - You are encouraged to grow & run your business with your clients and team at heart

    Show More

    Cons

    There really are very few cons...one the biggest ones will be finding a company in the future that matches my expectations based on my etc. experience. Location - whilst we are kept involved with the central team, because most of our venues are in London, this can limit development opportunities without relocation. It would be nice to be offered training opportunities outside of your day-to-day role.

    Advice to Management

    Continue on the ambitious but achievable journey, it is refreshing for employees of all levels to see. I would love to see more of a structured approached to our flexible work force, as these are often the team members at the coalface and the future of the hospitality industry - however I trust this is to come in the near future as the company is focused on it's people

    etc.venues2019-07-23
  9. "working with a family... not just in a team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Events Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at etc.venues full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Supportive manager and colleagues that are happy to help. Company have been flexible in all my needs over the years and have a great range of benefits. Free yummy meals to :D

    Cons

    N/A- other then i would love our team to expand further in Birmingham with another bigger venue space of 500+

    etc.venues2019-07-23
  10. "Year-over-year growing business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at etc.venues full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many career growth, professional and personal development opportunities across the business, family feel environment across the venues, friendly and welcoming people. From financial point of view there are yearly salary reviews, good bonus structure.

    Cons

    Things don`t happen overnight so patience and determination is required to achieve what you want.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to staff needs

    etc.venues2019-05-21
Found 52 reviews