hibu Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

hibu Reviews

Updated 25 May 2017
1,046 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Kevin Jasper
87 Ratings

1,046 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Cold calling and following up on customer service issues from time to time (in 63 reviews)

  • Awful sales reps that I had to work with (in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great while it lasted"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copywriter in Reading, England
    Former Employee - Copywriter in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at hibu full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun team
    Great initial training
    Self managing own workload

    Cons

    Company kept secrets from employees

    hibu Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Director - Employee Relations

    Thank you for your feedback. While this is the US based page for hibu, we will pass your feedback along to the UK. We recommend you visit their page with any additional feedback.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good salary if you put the effort in"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Leeds, England
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at hibu part-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility
    Good commission structure
    Opportunity to earn lots of money
    Open ended bonus scheme
    Dealing with very varied clients

    Cons

    Poor after sales support
    Internet products are lacking in comparison to the competition
    Websites are poor
    Resukts for customers in decline

    Advice to Management

    Stick to a strategy instead of constant change
    Treat your employees well and they will stay and produce good results

    hibu Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Director - Employee Relations

    Thank you for your feedback. While this is the US based page for hibu, we will pass along your feedback to the UK. Please visit their page for any additional feedback you may have.


  3. "focus on targets and not the customer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Account Manager in London, England
    Former Employee - National Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    sales training foundation was good (over 20 years ago though)

    Cons

    aggressive targets, bullying tactics and excesive hours 60 plus hour weeks a nor.(I did this fr over 5 years and raised this with management. Poorly invested infrastructure, Systems slow and too many jobsworths resulting in sales having to take ownership for failures from back office staff/ product failure.

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic in your aspirations

    hibu Response

    3 Oct 2016 – Director - Employee Relations

    Thank you for your feedback. This is the US based page for hibu, however we will pass along your comments. We recommend you visit the UK page to share any additional feedback you may have.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Customer Service Executive"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Birmingham, England
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at hibu (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good office culture and people to work with

    Cons

    Customer service are underpaid, sales are overpaid

    Advice to Management

    Offer more money to customer services!

    hibu Response

    22 Aug 2016 – Director - Employee Relations

    Thank you for your feedback. While this is the US based page for hibu, we will pass this along to our colleagues in the UK.


  6. "Sink or Swim"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Gravesend, England
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Gravesend, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at hibu full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good products & provide good presenting tools. good training at the start.
    And a large client base which a reconised the brand. Nice company car, yet your get taxed high.
    Excellent BDM team with great knowledge.

    Cons

    The positions your expected to be an account manager & business at the same time. Smash and grab deals which end up cancelling. Selling the declining products, as that's what makes the company money.. High targets..Below salary for the market. Offshore customer service, which takes up to 40% of the day trying to translate as they have poor training. Micro managed.. Unhealthy work life balance. Demotaving management. Like being in a really bad relationship that your so scared to leave, as your fear your never be wanted again. Clicky environment. generally only a third of the reps are over achieving target. High entry point for some digital products. The management team are pretty long standing, so limited chance of management progression.

    Advice to Management

    To consider targets for declining products.. Enhance salary for the positions. To support and encourage, and reward loyalty and service. And to have better training themselves of the products and delivery.

    hibu Response

    25 Jul 2016 – Director - Employee Relations

    Thank you for your feedback! While this is the US based page for hibu, we will pass this feedback along to our peers at Yell in the UK.


  7. "Life at Yell"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Executive in Birmingham, England
    Current Employee - Customer Service Executive in Birmingham, England
    Recommends

    Pros

    Great friendly team always on hand to offer advice and support, friendly atmosphere. Top manager always has time to listen and help.

    Cons

    None as yet, will let you know

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    hibu Response

    11 Jul 2016 – Director - Employee Relations

    Thank you for your feedback and commitment! While this is the US based page for hibu, we will be sure to pass this feedback along. Have a great day!


  8. "Undergrad Industrial Placement"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Industrial Placement in Reading, England
    Former Employee - Industrial Placement in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Big company
    nice offices
    gym on top floor
    opportunities
    brand name

    Cons

    Unstructured
    poor strategy
    declining market
    declining market
    declining market

    hibu Response

    27 Jun 2016 – Director - Employee Relations

    Thanks for your feedback! This is the US based page for hibu, however we will pass along your feedback to the HR Department located in the UK. Best wishes!


  9. "Best job ever!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at hibu (More than a year)

    Pros

    Brilliant place to work and excellent bonus potential. Good incentives

    Cons

    I dont really think there was any

    hibu Response

    13 Jun 2016 – Director - Employee Relations

    Thank you for your feedback! While this is the US page for hibu, we will be sure to pass your feedback on to our colleagues in the UK. Best of luck to you!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "People don't want what we sell"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architect in Reading, England
    Former Employee - Architect in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Professional place to work, people try hard.

    Cons

    People don't want Yellow Pages any more

    Advice to Management

    Just give up and go home


  11. "Misdirected leadership"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Editor in Reading, England
    Former Employee - Managing Editor in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at hibu full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Cool facilities and overall office

    Cons

    Constantly shifting headwinds and project decisons

    Advice to Management

    pay editorial a better mind

    hibu Response

    18 Apr 2016 – Director - Employee Relations

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. This is the hibu US Glassdoor page. Feel free to contact our HR Department at 855-447-4428 if you would like contact information for the UK.


Showing 1,046 of 1,064 reviews
Reset Filters