i2i Events Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated Sep 22, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 73 reviews

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
i2i Events CEO Phil Thomas (no image)
Phil Thomas
0 Rating
Pros
  • "It is fast-paced which is a pretty over-used word but this is what the company is(in 14 reviews)

  • "Good working environment with lots of break out areas and meeting spaces(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The fast-paced environment is not for everyone(in 10 reviews)

  • "Don't bother applying if you aren't 100% committed; it's quite a fast paced environment, and it can be very much sink or swim(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "working environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work for

      Feb 7, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dynamic working environment with plenty of training and development opportunities

      Cons

      Need to be able to work under your own steam - great for me

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      A great place to work

      Sep 22, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      i2i is a professional, fair, and enjoyable place to work, the people are at the top of their game and the products are of good quality. The company takes employee engagement seriously and looks to support progression and innovation. Thinking outside the box is encouraged and sharing expertise is valued. The company understands the need for adaptation and invests in research to inform product and business changes. Honest analysis of the products is constant and effective. Team management is supportive and understanding with advice and mentoring always available A good number of women in senior leadership roles provides a balanced working environment.

      Cons

      The workload on most people is too high to allow for much creativity or long term thinking. Budget cuts on important events mean it is not possible to deliver an experience to visitors which rivals more innovative competitors Morale onsite is low, in part because marketing are treated differently to sales with the former staying in much cheaper accommodation There lots of vacancies at the moment with the majority coming about in large part due to workload not allowing for individual/personal excellence - causes frustration in the caliber of people i2i recruits The company becoming a PLC has not yet had a discernible positive impact on employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Similar to being in a long winded and boring but ultimately well paid office based version of Royal Rumble

      Dec 7, 2015 - Sales Executive in Paddington, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So you walk into the office and are greeted by a lovely receptionist. "Good morning" she says, and I think she really means it. You then carry on downstairs to the kitchen and dining area, wooden table, kind of rustic, microwaves and Bosch fridges, ample space for snacks, great stuff. View? Mainly of a construction site opposite the office, one time I saw a guy sleeping in a crane, fantastic banter I had from that. You sit down at the desk, greeted by various 'Hellos' from your colleagues, I'd say about two thirds really mean it but by this time I'm so gassed from the receptionists 'Hello' that I don't really mind. Maybe there is some light banter to start the day, depending on how stressed everyone is. The banter and comeraderie is really quite something at i2i, tbqh some of the best banter I've had maybe anywhere, and I've worked at nigh on 3 Wetherspoons. The day continues to amble along, punctuated by various moments of banter, snacks and visits to the Bosch fridges. Workload? Boy, it can get tough in the heat of the salesfloor but the comeraderie and bnater really help you pull through. I felt like no matter what, we were all in this together, y'know? Really quite something that feeling. The day usually ends with you kind of looking at the internet for half an hour because they make you finish at 5.30 instead of 5, but I quite like the internet so this is no bother to me. 7.5/10 for work timing. General positive vibes: Have to be honest, the CEO was a really great guy. Sure, he was busy, but have you tried running a multi-million pound company before? Shucks, it must be tough. But he was down to earth and friendly, always ready to shoot the breeze with the fellas, a class act imho. The food options in and around the office were also of a high standard. Itsu for the sushi-heads, a burrito place for the Mexican-heads and a Pret-A-Manger for the Pret-A-Manger-heads. Couldn't complain about this aspect, if anything I enjoyed it a bit too much, haha! Also they had really great showers, perhaps some of the best I've used in my professional career. Hot? Yes, definitely. Cold? It was available but that's not my thing, but maybe it can be yours if you choose to work at such a place as i2i. All in all, some great features in the work environment, including some top-of-the-range banter and superb eating and hygine arrangements.

      Cons

      You know that old saying: "There's no smoke without fire"? Well that phrase has nothing to do with i2i, because they mainly do most of their work via computer and have little to no time for physical flames in and around the work place. Having said that, I must admit that all was not perfect in the world of i2i, although it may seem that way from my 'pros' section, which you can read just above this section here, which is labelled 'cons'. For example there were many times when I felt belittled and perhaps even treated as a child by middle management, which, if you took the chance to read my 'pros' (the section just above this one, the 'cons') you'd see that I had nothing but enthusiasm for the company, and wished it and it's rustic wooden dining table nothing but good will. No but seriously, it does have a massive problem with valueing appearance and internal politics over ability. The amount of times I saw people hired off the back of how they acted and dressed with little to no thought on how well they could do a job was criminal for a company of this level. I counted the over 35 people had come and gone in the time I was there just in my team alone, that's in a team of 10, so a new team every year. Also the insiduous way middle management went about their business felt Machiavellian at times, seemingly content to undermine and slander employees they did not like in what felt like long winded attempts to drive them out. Also, have you ever tried just eating Sushi, Mexican and Pret-A-Manger every day for 3 years? Holy smokes, it can get a little trying. I mean, I love a burrito as much as the next man but a man cannot live on burritos alone, y'know?

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Fast paced company that rewards high performers

      Mar 6, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dynamic company on a fast paced growth journey. The business' desire to grow and internationalise has created and continue to create numerous opportunities for its employees to grow and develop with it. Recognition and reward are core to i2i's values. Expectations are high but if you are a consistent excellent performer the reward potential is also high. i2i is a business where you can build a career. There is a track record of star performers progressing, often carving out their own career path. Good working environment with lots of break out areas and meeting spaces.

      Cons

      If you aren't keen on a culture based on high performance and change, i2i events isn't for you. Change is a given at this proactive company but so are opportunities for growth and development. The matrix system can be challenging to navigate, in particular for new starters. The SLAs and turnaround times as a result of the matrix structure can also be frustrating and are not always conducive to a dynamic, fast paced company.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Endless meetings and micromanagement

      Jan 8, 2015 - Conference Producer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good work environment and office - Very social, events and perks available - Training opportunities

      Cons

      - Micromanagement in crisis, benign neglect when doing well to the point where people are complacent - Reactive management - Claims to be focused on long term goals but no breathing room with short term objectives - Hire and fire for sales people, a bit of a revolving door

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      i2i Events Response

      CEO

      Thank you for your comments. I appreciate that you took the time to give us this input. Planning long term and how to deal with downsides has been and continues to be an area that we are focusing on. As a business we have moved swiftly from being passive to reactive and are now far down the road on becoming a fully proactive business. Many of our divisions have already achieved this transition and rest assured that this is very much our plan. We aim to never be complacent with our successes and also to plan for potential market challenges

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Young and dynamic! Going international so plenty of opportunities right now

      Jan 1, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Young and progressive culture Good benefits Continuous training and learning and development programs are fairly good Open minded and stimulating work environment, even for sales people

      Cons

      Needs to focus more on keeping existing clients happy as the company goes through the restructuring of its operations Marketing has been drastically restructured, the company lost many talented marketers as a result.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Marketing Partnerships Executive

      Dec 3, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fast-paced, innovative, challenging, supportive, flexible working environment

      Cons

      Sometimes a little too much responsibility and unrealistic expectations from management

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with i2i Events Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at i2i Events? Share Your Experiences

    i2i Events logo
    or