learndirect "learners" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

learndirect Employee Reviews about "learners"

Updated 17 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .
1.8
11%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
learndirect Chief Executive Officer Andy Palmer
Andy Palmer
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "Rewarding to support learners with their progression(in 26 reviews)

  • "Work from home, manage own diary(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "The business is of course a money making organisation but it seems at the expense of any positive experience for the learners(in 29 reviews)

  • "The companies senior management are appalling(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "learners"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A great company to work for that has the success of their learners at the heart of everything they do."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff who strive to deliver positive outcomes for all their learners enabling learners to gain better employment skills in order they can find employment or gain promotion with their current employers.

    Cons

    As with all companies there will always be people who are not happy with some aspects of an organisation, however Learndirect are a great company to work for.

    Continue reading
    learndirect2016-09-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Wish I could have continued teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time

    Pros

    Great team. Brilliant to support learners

    Cons

    Bad senior management. Never saw senior management in centres.

    learndirect2018-10-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Rewarding to support learners with their progression - Good team atmosphere, everyone is supportive and works hard to achieve their objectives - Hard working front line staff who cared about their learners - Good working environment - Range of opportunities for CPD - Easily able to communicate across the business - Lots of support available

    Cons

    - Once a great company, but company decisions over the last few years affected the quality of service and quality for learners which led to the damning Ofsted report. For a high-quality provider to not be following Ofsted standards was abysmal. Most middle management didn't know what the Ofsted standards were until after the inspection, which says it all. It's a huge shame that the company fell so hard.

    learndirect2018-09-05
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Manager in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some very committed ,professional people who respect learners and have a genuine desire to help people. Hardworking tutors genuinely cared.

    Cons

    Ran by incompetent executive team who made decisions on a whim, had no regard for the staff who worked there and seemed oblivious of who we worked with. Senior team have a history of withholding information and lying to anyone not in the inner circle of a small few. Nepotism counted for more than ability. They are solely driven by the need to extract as much salary for themselves as possible and have no interest in the learners who used the end product, often referring them as "broken biscuits" . They were so arrogant they introduced a "No Plan B" ethos where it was all their was and no one else had an opinion, The ofsted grade 4 exposed a whole bag of rotten apples with management practices being the worst area. The senior exec response following this was " we need to do this for ofsted" or "just make it look good" no focus on the learners from the top. IT in the company was a joke with platforms constantly falling over stopping training. This however was only regarded as a minor issue where the phones being out of action for the people in head office who all had company mobils was the top priority. I went from being proud of working in the company to having to defend its clouded reputation on a daily basis. I am not as seems bitter as for 9 of my 10 years there I was proud to help numerous people to achieve their individual goals in life,

    Continue reading
    learndirect2018-08-14
  5. Helpful (8)

    "What a sad and bitter end to a once really good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked with/for some great people. The company used to be really good before it was sold off to LDC. Prior to that employees used to get proper training, reviews, pay rises and bonuses. You felt respected, wanted and were rewarded. You could work flexible hours and were not "micro-managed"

    Cons

    The biggest 'con' was the government selling it off to LDC. From that point onwards it all went downhill rapidly..... there was the awful merger with JHP for starters. Managers were brought in who had no experience in the sector. From once being a non-profit organisation Learndirect was now all about making profit for the greedy bankers and directors ..... all at the expense of the employees and learners (the customers). Everything tried to be done on the cheap..... and so the holes started to show. Redundancy became as constant threat as one re-org followed another. Bits of the business got sold off or outsourced in an attempt to make the company look more attractive to potential investors....but there's the old saying "you can't polish a turd". Learndirect was doomed. Standards started slipping and so the company inevitably succumed to an Ofsted '4' rating. The rest has been much publicised in the media....

    Continue reading
    learndirect2018-08-03
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Dreadful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at learndirect full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home. Manage my own diary mostly. Pay and t&c’s were ok until we got bought out by the bank and merged with jhp then everything went downhill

    Cons

    LDC/Jhp focus on bums on seats and ££ profit undermined the quality provision and management of the original learndirect (check out our ofsted report from 2012). Senior managers (who appeared overnight from nowhere)/owners of new company (who had no experience of managing publicly funded adult education) took their eye off the ball in their mission to try and sell the company on for profit (for the benefit of their own pockets rather than reinvest back into the business like good old UFI days ). Too many middle managers only concerned about furthering their own careers rather than that of the learner. Quality Improvement team was systematically decimated until nothing/no one of any use remained. Totally unsurprised that after that many restructures and lack of focus and experience/knowledge from management we ended up with grade 4 ofsted. Brilliant company once now ruined by incompetence and arrogance.

    Continue reading
    learndirect2018-05-14
  7. Helpful (5)

    "What a mess!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at learndirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Colleagues working on the AEB budget are dedicated skilled and caring, delivering a great service to many vulnerable learners who are going to miss us. Mutual support and teamwork have been fantastic in centres.

    Cons

    The companies senior management are appalling! Heavily influenced by people from LDC, the holding company, they have consistently put profit above quality and aptly demonstrated why education and the free market will always be at odds. Pressure from the top to push learners through and constantly changing paperwork because the management doesn't understand what it's for has produced an atmosphere that is stressful and toxic!

    Continue reading
    learndirect2018-05-03
  8. Helpful (7)

    "A company in shambles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at learndirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Home based working, not much else left

    Cons

    Unsupportive team of directors, sales above education, senior roles not advertised, unqualified people promoted through who they know not what, staff left hanging, we need to know for certain if we are closing or not! There are a lot of qualified and dedicated staff that are hanging on in order to make sure the learners are fully supported, it's a shame the staff are not valued and supported in the same way. We don't even know where the directors, COO and CEO are on a weekly let alone a monthly basis. Levy Paying Apprenticeship team seem to be having a jolly at the rest of the staffs expense, they are the only ones that will still be in work past July. There has never been any pay rises, either for excellent work or cost of living, such a shame as this could have been a great company if the directors knew how to lead, support and encourage staff, not to tell them to just get on and do it!

    Continue reading
    learndirect2018-04-07
  9. Helpful (13)

    "A thoroughly dissatisfying experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at learndirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team spirit, helped to get through the bad times

    Cons

    I can only echo what the majority have said. What was once a great organisation has been gradually eroded over the years. Everything you have read about senior positions being filled with the non-talented friends of the SMT at the expense of experienced talented people are true and have only lead to the demise of what was once a great company. Staff live in constant fear for their jobs; you never know when the next redundancy situation will come along and after being subject to this ever changing flawed process several times over a very short period I eventually cut my losses with my confidence left in tatters. The business is of course a money making organisation but it seems at the expense of any positive experience for the learners. a truly bums on seats culture where staff are bullied to meet targets. I have also witnessed the erosion of any support teams to the point where they are non-existent and not effective. In their efforts to make money the business has removed too much expertise in order to be able to manage situations such as Ofsted and as a result they scratch their heads as they try to understand how a company who could once have been awarded a grade 1 for Leadership and Management could possible be thought of as inadequate. Their arrogance is astounding in this regard. The SMT are in it for themselves clearly, they are not taken seriously or respected as they should be but this is entirely of their own making due to mis-management of meetings, emotional knee-jerk communications that are sent out to the business as a result of comments made by the press and of course the much cited innapropriate relationships at a senior level.

    Continue reading
    learndirect2018-03-02
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Diabolical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at learndirect full-time

    Pros

    Those of us on the front line who continue to support and develop learners

    Cons

    Bums on seats mentality, management driven by profits , endless spreadsheets that prevents actual learner contact, no career prospects, face fits mentality

    Continue reading
    learndirect2018-03-03
Found 49 reviews