learndirect "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

learndirect Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 20 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
1.8
11%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
learndirect Chief Executive Officer Andy Palmer
Andy Palmer
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "Rewarding to support learners with their progression(in 26 reviews)

  • "Work from home, manage own diary(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "The business is of course a money making organisation but it seems at the expense of any positive experience for the learners(in 29 reviews)

  • "The companies senior management are appalling(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IAG Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team and excellent service

    Cons

    Poor management from senior managers

    Continue reading
    learndirect2019-05-22
  2. "Very stressful working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    fast paced, great teams of staff, supportive local management and staff

    Cons

    senior management could have been more communicative especially during closure period to support managers more

    Continue reading
    learndirect2020-03-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Wish I could have continued teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time

    Pros

    Great team. Brilliant to support learners

    Cons

    Bad senior management. Never saw senior management in centres.

    learndirect2018-10-04
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Dreadful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at learndirect full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home. Manage my own diary mostly. Pay and t&c’s were ok until we got bought out by the bank and merged with jhp then everything went downhill

    Cons

    LDC/Jhp focus on bums on seats and ££ profit undermined the quality provision and management of the original learndirect (check out our ofsted report from 2012). Senior managers (who appeared overnight from nowhere)/owners of new company (who had no experience of managing publicly funded adult education) took their eye off the ball in their mission to try and sell the company on for profit (for the benefit of their own pockets rather than reinvest back into the business like good old UFI days ). Too many middle managers only concerned about furthering their own careers rather than that of the learner. Quality Improvement team was systematically decimated until nothing/no one of any use remained. Totally unsurprised that after that many restructures and lack of focus and experience/knowledge from management we ended up with grade 4 ofsted. Brilliant company once now ruined by incompetence and arrogance.

    Continue reading
    learndirect2018-05-14
  5. Helpful (5)

    "What a mess!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at learndirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Colleagues working on the AEB budget are dedicated skilled and caring, delivering a great service to many vulnerable learners who are going to miss us. Mutual support and teamwork have been fantastic in centres.

    Cons

    The companies senior management are appalling! Heavily influenced by people from LDC, the holding company, they have consistently put profit above quality and aptly demonstrated why education and the free market will always be at odds. Pressure from the top to push learners through and constantly changing paperwork because the management doesn't understand what it's for has produced an atmosphere that is stressful and toxic!

    Continue reading
    learndirect2018-05-03
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Shocking!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at learndirect full-time

    Pros

    If their was an option to give this company a 0 star, I would. Ground level staff are amazing ie Tutors, Advisors etc.

    Cons

    Corrupt Managers and Senior Managers only interested in Profits and not concerned about the learner journey. No data protection. Files are left on desks with no room for storage. Learner files are constantly lost and then reprinted and back-dated. Tax payers money is always down in Petty cash, last count was a deficit of nearly £3000. Blame and terrible bullying culture. If your face didnt fit, count yourself out of the business.... They would do anything to get rid of you regardless of how good you are. Managers would not recruit on talent but rather their friends. No room for progression. No pay scales.... some of the staff have been on the same salary for years with in increase. No work life balance....some of the tutors take work home which really should be done in work tme

    Continue reading
    learndirect2018-01-17
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Thoroughly fed up and desperate to get out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at learndirect

    Pros

    I get paid on time amd manage my own caseload. Aside from that.....................sorry, drawn a blank.

    Cons

    A micro managing manager who has the personality of a dead dog. The uncertainty in this company is draining. There has to be more to life than this! Sneaky colleagues make the job harder and altough I love what I do, I need to forsake that now and get out before the company goes under. Senior management are clueless. Stop sending pointless 'rallying' emails. They make you look a bigger fool than what we already know you are.

    Continue reading
    learndirect2018-01-14
  8. Helpful (11)

    "In decline for years. Ofsted result in 2017 was no surprise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people on the ground and at middle management trying to deliver a service that can make a genuine difference to people's lives. Colleagues who support each other and work hard to make the best of a scenario

    Cons

    In recent years a reluctance to spend money has caused a significant quality dip and a number of good staff to look elsewhere. Staff are overworked and underpaid and senior management prioritise income over everything else.

    Continue reading
    learndirect2018-01-09
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Unlawful Practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect

    Pros

    Some very dedicated staff who worked hard for their learners.

    Cons

    No staff recognition High case loads No work life balance. I often worked 60-70 hour weeks so when I worked it out against my salary, I earned leads than the legal minimum wage. Current practices at this very difficult time are unethical. So called managers are slipping staff into roles with no advertisement or interview process. Equality of opportunity? I think not. Some staff are being told to apply for roles that are being advertised as they will get the job! Lack of consistency and continuity for roles advertised - some staff have and to go through x factor style assessment centres whilst others have not. Poor managers who have little respect for staff, keeping them in the dark or giving misinformation. Staff have been advised to be creative to make stats look good. Senior managers are completely lacking in interpersonal skills and have no idea of what goes on on the ground.

    Continue reading
    learndirect2017-10-24
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Used to be a fantastic place to work, now soulless and impersonal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at learndirect full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fantastic, supportive team and colleagues

    Cons

    Frequent change, seemingly for the sake of change; overwhelming sense that frontline staff are just cannon fodder (numerous, replaceable and interchangeable); no pay rise in over four years, despite ever enlarging job description; senior management that cares for nothing but its own personal profit.

    Continue reading
    learndirect2017-07-03
Found 26 reviews