learndirect Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Feb 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 273 reviews

3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
learndirect CEO Wayne Van Rensburg (no image)
Wayne Van Rensburg
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Rewarding to support learners with their progression(in 26 reviews)

  • "Manage your own diary, work from home(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Bad management It’s all about profit with no care about staff or learners(in 30 reviews)

  • "senior management could have been more communicative especially during closure period to support managers more(in 28 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent

      May 22, 2019 - IAG Advisor in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team and excellent service

      Cons

      Poor management from senior managers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Review

      Feb 25, 2021 - Manager in Birmingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working, great team, worthwhile role

      Cons

      Destroyed by greedy senior managers with no eye on quality

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      learndirect Response

      Group HR Director

      Hi, we are sad to hear of your experience with the old learndirect company and hope you went on to find a job you love. Regards The learndirect LTD team.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Dreadful

      Jan 15, 2021 - Account Manager in Birmingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is nothing good about this company

      Cons

      Senior Management are a joke

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      learndirect Response

      Group HR Director

      Hi there and thanks for your review. Can you confirm the dates you were employed by learndirect please?

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Very stressful working environment

      Mar 20, 2020 - Business Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fast paced, great teams of staff, supportive local management and staff

      Cons

      senior management could have been more communicative especially during closure period to support managers more

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      learndirect Response

      Group HR Director

      We are sorry to read this review when you were part of the old learndirect brand (pre June 2018). We are now a fully commercial online training provider under new ownership with huge success and thousands of happy students. We hope you went on to gain a great job. The learndirect LTD team.

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Wish I could have continued teaching

      Oct 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team. Brilliant to support learners

      Cons

      Bad senior management. Never saw senior management in centres.

      2 people found this review helpful

      learndirect Response

      Group HR Director

      We are sorry to read this review when you were part of the old learndirect brand (pre June 2018). We are now a fully commercial online training provider under new ownership with huge success and thousands of happy students. We hope you went on to gain a great job. The learndirect LTD team.

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Dreadful

      May 14, 2018 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home. Manage my own diary mostly. Pay and t&c’s were ok until we got bought out by the bank and merged with jhp then everything went downhill

      Cons

      LDC/Jhp focus on bums on seats and ££ profit undermined the quality provision and management of the original learndirect (check out our ofsted report from 2012). Senior managers (who appeared overnight from nowhere)/owners of new company (who had no experience of managing publicly funded adult education) took their eye off the ball in their mission to try and sell the company on for profit (for the benefit of their own pockets rather than reinvest back into the business like good old UFI days ). Too many middle managers only concerned about furthering their own careers rather than that of the learner. Quality Improvement team was systematically decimated until nothing/no one of any use remained. Totally unsurprised that after that many restructures and lack of focus and experience/knowledge from management we ended up with grade 4 ofsted. Brilliant company once now ruined by incompetence and arrogance.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      learndirect Response

      Group HR Director

      We are sorry to read this review when you were part of the old learndirect brand . We are now a fully commercial online training provider under new ownership with huge success and thousands of happy students. We hope you went on to gain a great job. The learndirect LTD team.

    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      What a mess!!

      May 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Colleagues working on the AEB budget are dedicated skilled and caring, delivering a great service to many vulnerable learners who are going to miss us. Mutual support and teamwork have been fantastic in centres.

      Cons

      The companies senior management are appalling! Heavily influenced by people from LDC, the holding company, they have consistently put profit above quality and aptly demonstrated why education and the free market will always be at odds. Pressure from the top to push learners through and constantly changing paperwork because the management doesn't understand what it's for has produced an atmosphere that is stressful and toxic!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      learndirect Response

      Group HR Director

      We are sorry to read this review when you were part of the old learndirect brand . We are now a fully commercial online training provider under new ownership with huge success and thousands of happy students. We hope you went on to gain a great job. The learndirect LTD team.

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Shocking!

      Jan 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If their was an option to give this company a 0 star, I would. Ground level staff are amazing ie Tutors, Advisors etc.

      Cons

      Corrupt Managers and Senior Managers only interested in Profits and not concerned about the learner journey. No data protection. Files are left on desks with no room for storage. Learner files are constantly lost and then reprinted and back-dated. Tax payers money is always down in Petty cash, last count was a deficit of nearly £3000. Blame and terrible bullying culture. If your face didnt fit, count yourself out of the business.... They would do anything to get rid of you regardless of how good you are. Managers would not recruit on talent but rather their friends. No room for progression. No pay scales.... some of the staff have been on the same salary for years with in increase. No work life balance....some of the tutors take work home which really should be done in work tme

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      learndirect Response

      Group HR Director

      We are sorry to read this review when you were part of the old learndirect brand . We are now a fully commercial online training provider under new ownership with huge success and thousands of happy students. We hope you went on to gain a great job. The learndirect LTD team.

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Thoroughly fed up and desperate to get out.

      Jan 14, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I get paid on time amd manage my own caseload. Aside from that.....................sorry, drawn a blank.

      Cons

      A micro managing manager who has the personality of a dead dog. The uncertainty in this company is draining. There has to be more to life than this! Sneaky colleagues make the job harder and altough I love what I do, I need to forsake that now and get out before the company goes under. Senior management are clueless. Stop sending pointless 'rallying' emails. They make you look a bigger fool than what we already know you are.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      learndirect Response

      Group HR Director

      We are sorry to read this review when you were part of the old learndirect brand . We are now a fully commercial online training provider under new ownership with huge success and thousands of happy students. We hope you went on to gain a great job. The learndirect LTD team.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      In decline for years. Ofsted result in 2017 was no surprise

      Jan 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people on the ground and at middle management trying to deliver a service that can make a genuine difference to people's lives. Colleagues who support each other and work hard to make the best of a scenario

      Cons

      In recent years a reluctance to spend money has caused a significant quality dip and a number of good staff to look elsewhere. Staff are overworked and underpaid and senior management prioritise income over everything else.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      learndirect Response

      Group HR Director

      We are sorry to read this review when you were part of the old learndirect brand . We are now a fully commercial online training provider under new ownership with huge success and thousands of happy students. We hope you went on to gain a great job. The learndirect LTD team.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

    Popular Careers with learndirect Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at learndirect? Share Your Experiences

    learndirect logo
    or