next Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

next Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1624 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
next CEO Simon Wolfson
Simon Wolfson
425 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Expected to work very long hours at sale times(in 70 reviews)

  • "500 more pa than a full time member of staff in a Sales Consultant role(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "The people make the organisation!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Office Employee in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at next full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, very welcoming and engaging Always thinking ahead, the different teams and the business on the whole, what else can we do? What can we do better? Various training courses available at Head Office Fast paced, the business never stops!

    Cons

    Long paperwork processes for what feels like a small and simple task At times, there can be a lot to take in because of the sheer size of the business

    next2018-12-17

    next Response

    January 2, 2019Senior Social Media Editor

    Thanks for writing this! We really like the title and we feel it's the people at Next that set us apart!

  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at next full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff are very friendly and welcoming Flexible working hours Easy to book days off for appointments Managers care and treat you like a human being

    Cons

    Can get busy but that is the nature of retail! :)

    next2019-05-21
  3. "Nice management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Next Sales Consultant 

      I have been working at next part-time

      Pros

      Flexible with working hours for students

      Cons

      Better training is needed for staff

      next2019-05-21
    • "Test analyst consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Test Analyst in Birmingham, England
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at next full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Decent pay, people are good. Most are knowledgeable

      Cons

      Very corporaty, focus on permanent employees and consultant treated as second class

      Advice to Management

      Treat everyone equally

      next2019-05-18
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leicester, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at next full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      The Company provides great opportunities for career development and progression if you're willing to work hard for them. Really good on-site facilities at Head Office. Company genuinely cares about employee wellbeing.

      Cons

      Could be more opportunity to work flexibly (e.g. homeworking)

      next2019-05-17
    • "Good but minimal movement within company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Team Member in Briston, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at next part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Friendly atmosphere, nice pay, some opportunities

      Cons

      Management have their favourites, and the reviews aren’t fully reflective

      Advice to Management

      Eradicate favouritism

      next2019-05-17
    • "Good place to work starting out"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Advisor Christmas Temp in Hayes, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at next part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - flexible in shifts -good pay -meet people working your age -develop communication skills

      Cons

      -got paid 1 month later after finishing

      next2019-05-16
    • "I love my job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at next part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      25% discount on clothes great team an management is the best i have had.

      Cons

      Having to work over xmas

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what u are denise u r fantastic store 957

      next2019-05-14
    • "Challenging but enjoyable"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Stockroom Assistant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at next part-time

      Pros

      Great team, extra hours always available in stockroom and shop floor.

      Cons

      Occasional unfair targets for stockroom, which sometimes made for a stressful environment.

      next2019-05-14
    • "Great company to work for would recommend"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at next part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Online pick up and leave shift. You can literally offer up your whole week contract if someone takes it, you can pick up anyone’s shift on there too, so easy to use! Don’t know another business that works this way. 25% discount and get this more or less straight away. Young people are seen as just as important and considered for management, there a lot of different kinds of management positions available. Know someone...

      Show More

      Cons

      The pay, generally only pay about 20p over minimum wage. But they change how they do it each year. Online learning called nlp. No discount off sale, just first refusal.

      Advice to Management

      I honestly wouldn’t really give any, Ive worked in a few next stores and all management seem hands on and care. They are willing to do anything. Some retail managers sit in the office and never see them. Always seen all of my managers they would even be rota’d on the shop floor.

      next2019-05-13
    Found 1624 reviews