next Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 21 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
next CEO Simon Wolfson
Simon Wolfson
901 Ratings
Pros
  • "staff discount and can pick up shifts on portal(in 254 reviews)

  • "flexible working hours, discounts, well kept working enviroment(in 154 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours not much negotiation allowed(in 121 reviews)

  • "Only national minimum wage paid for high intensity customer service(in 76 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      9 Dec 2020 - Sales Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and good co-workers

      Cons

      Long hours and can be stressful.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      next Response

      Hey thanks for the review. Great to see you are enjoying the experience and working with a supportive and friendly team. This is a big part of our Next offering. Regarding hours, we'd recommend if there are conflicting times please contact your Line Manager. They will be able to look after Rotas and also help with suggestions. We'd also recommend you utilising our Online Shift Swap. This was introduced to help staff in store balance hours and also ensure they remain flexible.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      next

      3 Dec 2020 - Temporary Contract Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great experience, good salary and nice colleges

      Cons

      short breaks, long hours and not much to do

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Overall good company to work for who look after their staff very well.

      19 Oct 2020 - Retail Sales Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Safe environment to work in - Supportive - Friendly coworkers

      Cons

      - Pay being minimum wage, sometimes feel overworked for the salary - Can feel like long hours when it's quiet - Often do jobs which are more catered for higher positions/above your pay grade

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      next Response

      Hey thanks for the review. We're really happy to see you feel safe and supported at work. During this time, we are doing all that we can to support our people across the business. Thanks for sharing the feedback, as a business we follow the Government Statuary Guidelines regarding pay. Any queries can be made with our Retail HR team. As part of working with our teams we want to grow and develop you. Therefore, giving you an opportunity to experience more jobs and task and more responsibility is a brilliant way to demonstrate progression. Any concerns can be discussed with your Team Manager or HR team.

    4. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work

      2 Dec 2020 - Sales Assistant in Loughton, West Midlands, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good community Good training Fair salary

      Cons

      Sometimes unsociable hours (Christmas) Long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      next Response

      Hey thanks for the positive review!

    5. 5.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Christmas Temp

      22 Nov 2020 - Seasonal Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff, busy during festive period so always lots to do

      Cons

      long hours not much negotiation allowed

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good part time work next to uni

      17 Jan 2021 - Sales Assistant in Aberdeen, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours and good atmosphere

      Cons

      No Christmas holiday and long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      next Response

      Hey, thanks for leaving a review of your experience. Best of luck with your studies.

    7. 3.0
      Former Contractor

      not bad

      21 Jan 2021 - Summer Sales Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      easy enough, nice people too

      Cons

      long hours, minimal break time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      staff friendly, casual dress code

      31 Oct 2020 - Sales Assistant in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible working hours, discounts, well kept working enviroment

      Cons

      hours cut, strict schedule, stressful job , short breaks, long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      next Response

      Hey thanks for the review. Great to hear you have benefited from the flexible working hours, as well as notably enjoyed the working environment in our stores. It's a big part of our culture to ensure our teams remain happy and positive and our culture is strong. During this time, we are adapting and ensuring new procedures and measures are met to keep our teams safe. Therefore, at times though our schedules are regimented this is too ensure our teams are all working safely. Concerns or issues can discussed with HR or your line manager.

    9. 4.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Pleasant job

      24 Oct 2020 - Christmas Temporary Sales Assistant in Leicester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Extra pay on Boxing Day. Gift card for working on Christmas Eve. Always something to do. No strict uniform over Christmas time

      Cons

      Long hours sometimes. Can be Tiring

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      next Response

      HR

      Hey thanks for the review. We're really glad to hear you have found working part time with us within our festive season a positive experience. We understand as one of the busiest times of the year shifts and rota's can change. We'd like to thank you for your dedication during this period. We also ensure that within your shift our teams take their allocated break period in order to rest, revive. This is essential for our teams as we want to ensure your health and wellbeing is a top priority.

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company for part time

      16 Oct 2020 - Sale Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice team, friendly staff, good workplace

      Cons

      Long hours sometimes, never knew when the shift was actually going to end

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 121 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with next Job Seekers

    Sales Assistant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at next? Share Your Experiences

    next logo
    or