npower "poor management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

npower Employee Reviews about "poor management"

Updated 22 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
npower Chief Executive Officer Paul Coffey
Paul Coffey
77 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "poor management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Awful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor 

    I worked at npower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free tea and coffee, including cappuccino

    Cons

    Poor management, poor training, little accountability

    npower2019-06-22

    npower Response

    July 18, 2019Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Mismanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kingston upon Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working hours, Local, Overtime, Free parking, Diversity

    Cons

    CEO, Poor Management, Financial instability

    Continue reading
    npower2018-11-17

    npower Response

    November 29, 2018Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working with great people, great benefits best place i have worked, learned so much

    Cons

    Introduced agile but unable to work agile due to poor management as not treating everyone equal they pick and choose who can and can't work agile due to favoritism.

    Continue reading
    npower2018-07-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "very poor management and process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Solihull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable overall salary package including oTe bonus and flexibility to work from home is part of the culture.

    Cons

    Very poor management, no skills whatsoever , needs a major overhaul No induction or training Lack of support when issues are raised or concerns expressed on way things work Too many people trying to work in the same space, fighting to do things their way. To little empowerment at times

    Continue reading
    npower2018-05-09

    npower Response

    May 18, 2018Resourcing Manager

    Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.

    Continue reading
  5. "Awful management, no progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor in Houghton-le-Spring, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at npower part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cant really think of any other than friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Stressful, role changes constantly and not for the better. Work is extremely dull and repetitive. Very poor management decisions. Staff give poor customer service due to lack of training and development. There is no way to advance within the company due to idiotic recruitment process and unless you know a manager personally and brown nose. If you're not in the cliques forget it. I spent 8 years on the same lowest pay grade. The wrong people get promoted and the business suffers because of it. Some people get away with murder and doing no work because they are friends with the managers, while others get severely reprimanded for the tiniest indiscretions.

    Continue reading
    npower2018-01-25

    npower Response

    May 18, 2018Resourcing Manager

    Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Shambles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time

    Pros

    Good office, agile working, good catering facilities, plenty of parking and bus services into town center and local area

    Cons

    Poor management, poor bonus structure, out date systems and computers. Ineffective use of office space.

    npower2017-07-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Pessimistic Environment and Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CRM Manager in Oldbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low Workload Opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Pessimistic and uninspiring environment Commonplace poor management

    Continue reading
    npower2017-05-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Could do better...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at npower

    Pros

    Had some good leadership, now gone. Part of a multi national group which is heading in the right direction. A number of excellent staff and a good customer base (eroding).

    Cons

    Overly conservative senior management, poor processes and attitude to risk. Reluctant to change despite the majority of the multi national group embracing the changing market.

    Continue reading
    npower2017-04-07
  9. "Face fits culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at npower full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Office gym Good CR Good canteen at head office

    Cons

    Poor management, bullying culture face fits culture, agree to everything, suck up to your manager and you'll go far Poor opportunities poor performance management Reliance of contractors and management consultancies to do the job of poor staff and management

    Continue reading
    npower2016-11-16
  10. "Good emp[loyer but they have their faults"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Commercial Analyst in Worcester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at npower

    Pros

    I was lucky enough to join a great team with mainly great managers. I worked hard and networked heavily meaning that I got my hands into interesting projects. mainly people are friendly and fun to get along with. I had a lot of development due to my great managers/mentors and great access to senior managers. Agile environment is flexible in my role and non-oppressive - get your work done and you can work from home, without micro-management etc. I miss npower for the people. Some great people work for this company

    Cons

    Many, many cons. - It's all who you know in npower - It's in the energy sector (public enemy No1 - do not divulge who you work for in the street etc) - They are probably the worst performers out of the 'Big 6'. Cannot make money etc. - Parent company in Germany is also not in a good state - Problem endemic with regards the CRM/billing system. Just got landed with a £26m fine because of it - Ineffectual upper management - Poor systems - constantly restructuring but not fixing the systems, and cannot even restructure without high impact on people. - One rule for one, another for everybody else. Judgments made by senior managers on salary and benefits enjoyed by them but not passed on to me specifically

    Continue reading
    npower2016-02-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews