phs Group Reviews

Updated 10 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
phs Group CEO Matthew Brabin (no image)
Matthew Brabin
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get to work with great people with a strong team ethos led by an experienced leadership team(in 10 reviews)

  • "Free lunch in the Caerphilly canteen(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Getting things done by head office takes longer than the customer requires tings doing(in 8 reviews)

  • "Numerous changes in Senior Management has lead to a disastrous growth plan(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fantastic

      10 Jun 2021 - Field Service Supervisor in Belfast, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great support throughout division Excellent bonus scheme, very achievable Real team ethos Desire to improve for customers and employees Good progression

      Cons

      Holiday entitlement could be better

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Company That can and will

      8 Jun 2021 - BDE - Business Development Executive in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Culture, innovation, opportunities to grow and develop , Great foundation, Great offering, Flexible and Great Team support

      Cons

      process not always clear, who does what and who to speak to get the job done

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      Resourcing Manager

      Hi there. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear about your experience with us, we work hard to create a strong team culture. If there is an issue with a process, I'd be keen to feed that back to the right people. Please do feel free to drop me a message, confidentially, and I will make sure the issues are fed back. Thank you again, Henry Field Group Resourcing Manager HenryField@phs.co.uk

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Management not looking after the wellbeing of their service drivers

      4 Jun 2021 - Service Driver in Laindon, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to take the van home

      Cons

      Drivers are overloaded everyday with too many customer jobs and nobody above the depot managers are interested in the well being of their manual service drivers. The 360 scheduling software is terrible and sends you zig sagging all over the place. All I keep hearing is the company is dedicated to the well being of the staff but the management are not considering the well being of the drivers. (PHS) Stop keep waisting time asking for more information from our reviews and actually start looking into this issue with the CEO and his chiefs. Since changing to Liner bin service it has got really bad. Do not join this company as a service driver until you see some good reviews about drivers who look after the customers who pay PHS managers their wages make it better.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      Resourcing Manager

      Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear about your experience. Whilst I appreciate you feel us asking for more information is wasting time, at times we can't make senior management aware of specific issues without understanding more. To understand more about your concerns related to the 360 scheduling software, I would need to ask for more information. We do work hard to look after the wellbeing of our teams, including offering access to a 24 hour wellbeing helpline to support those that want and need it. Whilst I appreciate you are frustrated with this being asked, I would value the opportunity to understand more about your experience to ensure it's passed on to the right people. Please do feel free to contact me. Thank you again, Henry Field Group Resourcing Manager HenryField@phs.co.uk

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Your just an employee number here , nothing more.

      9 Jun 2021 - Pat Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bonus money can be good but need to put a lot of time in. Company car for personal use.

      Cons

      Bonus is not always achievable and sporadic so never the same each month. Can travel for up to 5 hours day sometimes just getting to and from jobs. Average 30,000 miles a year. Work involves being on your knees 75% of the time. Very poor planning department , can be sent 100 miles away for just an hours work. Turn up to places and work already be done by another college or two people been sent to same 1 man job many times. There is no career progression with this role. After 4 years left company and role was still the same as day 1.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      Resourcing Manager

      Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. You are right about the physical nature of the role, there will often be times that you are on your knees testing portable appliances, it's a physical role. The role can involve travelling as well. I would be keen to understand more about your experience of traveling 100 miles for 1 hour work, or turning up to places where work has already been carried out. Please feel free to email me for a confidential conversation. Thank you again, Henry Field Group Resourcing Manager HenryField@phs.co.uk

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Brilliant place to work

      26 May 2021 - Recruiter in Caerphilly, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance and great support from managment

      Cons

      benefits could improve slightly such as annual leave entitlements or cycle to work scheme

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      Resourcing Manager

      Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review. Worklife balance is important to us at phs, as is ensuring managers are giving the right support. It's great to see that recognised. Keep up the great work! Henry Field Group Resourcing Manager henryfield@phs.co.uk

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Service drivers overworked with too many customer calls a day.

      18 May 2021 - Washroom Service Driver in Colchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Take the work van home

      Cons

      To busy monitoring company prophet and productivity and not the well being of the main staff the front line service drivers. We are at the front line and dealing with the customers. All drivers are overworked and not given a fair days amount of calls a day. There is no structured routes as the 360 software is not working. Management need to look after the wellbeing of the front line drivers of the company. We need support or maybe option of Unions to help us have a voice??

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      People Team

      Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear that it doesn't sound like you're having a good time with us. I'd be really keen to understand more about what you're saying. Please do feel free to send more detailed feedback to me personally, confidentially so that I can make sure the right issues are raised with the right people. Thank you. Henry Field Group Resourcing Manager HenryField@phs.co.uk

    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Phs service driver

      7 May 2021 - Washroom Service Driver in Northampton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None I can think off, you get to keep the van at your home ??

      Cons

      Company is terrible, very poor training for drivers, they have a massive turn over of staff. Not possible to complete all jobs in time allotted so it ends up with drivers just skipping jobs. Bosses are aware of this but turn a blind eye as the long as the bigger contracts are completed. Plus they are ripping off their customers, charging them for products they do not have and charging them for multiple services a month when they are not needed or agreed to via their contracts. Strongly recommend you do not work for this company

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      People Team

      Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I would like to look into the comments made within your review, please contact me via email to have a confidential chat, or pass on more specific information. We have strict processes in place to ensure we are fair to all of our customers and stick to the contracts in place, I would be keen to understand what has happened in more detail. Thank you, Henry Field Group Resourcing Manager henryfield@phs.co.uk

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Enjoyable place to work!

      24 May 2021 - Coordinator in Caerphilly, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For me it's all about the people. Working hours are great. The business also invests in you by providing training and external courses if required for the role.

      Cons

      Benefits are not the best. I think a buy and sell holiday scheme would be welcomed by most colleagues.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      Resourcing Manager

      Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. You're right- We do a lot to offer training to our colleagues. We're working really hard to ensure we are offering apprenticeships to people. Thank you again, Henry Field Group Resourcing Manager HenryField@phs.co.uk

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      6 Months In!

      23 Mar 2021 - Hygiene Field Account Manager in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The training process is fantastic. You get all the equipment and tech straight away, which is excellent and allows you to really get off to a fantastic start. I started during a pandemic and the support I've had from management and colleagues has been brilliant. I got the feeling very quickly that PHS really care about their employees.

      Cons

      No cons so far. Been working from home which has been difficult at times, but that isn't PHS related.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      People Team

      Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear that things are going so well. We do our best to ensure everyone has their IT equipment and what they need from day 1. And we're certainly doing all we can to support our great teams during this challenging time. Thanks again - Keep up the great work! Henry Field Group Resourcing Manager henryfield@phs.co.uk

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great time to join a business that is playing a huge role in supporting the safety and wellbeing of UK Businesses

      5 Nov 2020 - Head of Account Management in Warwick, West Midlands, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Planned and comprehensive induction which has been a mix of face to face and virtual/online. Helpful, supportive and positive personalities within the key accounts team and the wider business support functions who are on hand to close knowledge gaps and advise on best practice. Strong business results during 2020 which gives a sense of security and business stability. Long standing employees who have had varied roles across the business demonstrating that the business recognises talent and loyalty and rewards with opportunities. Regular communication and updates from senior management make you feel part of group who care about their employees, customers and their customer's customers! Exciting to now be part of Bidvest - a global business with expertise in many sectors which in time will no doubt add significant value to the PHS Group.

      Cons

      The only 'Cons' I am currently experiencing are as a result of Covid restrictions which are limiting the amount of face to face meetings and physical team and wider colleague interaction. However the business has widely adopted teams and that gives me the ability to get support from the people I need it from often immediately .

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      Resourcing Manager

      Hi, Thank you so much for your review. So much great work went into making our induction process work, and making sure we can work remotely. It's great to see that recognized. It's a tough year for face to face communication, I think many people share your pain when it comes to that aspect. We have been working on how we can interact remotely, if there's anything you'd like to recommend - I'd love to hear it! Thank you, Henry Field Resourcing Manager henryfield@phs.co.uk

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 219 Reviews

    Popular Careers with phs Group Job Seekers

    Field Sales Account Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at phs Group? Share Your Experiences

    phs Group logo
    or