phs Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

phs Group Reviews

Updated 10 November 2018
84 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

84 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "well established company, great people, great products, free lunch, dress down Fridays" (in 7 reviews)

  • "Great people, good leadership who care about making a positive change for our Customers" (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Terrible Service - Terrible Customer Service and Terrible Managers" (in 4 reviews)

  • "head office a little cramped & short on parking" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "All about the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time

    Pros

    Great working with a good bunch of people. You spend everyday with the people you work therefore its a blessing coming to work with colleagues every day.

    Cons

    Some teams lack resources - would be good to employ more people.

    phs Group Response

    17 Aug 2018 – Mark - phs team

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate your comments! You are so right, having a good bunch of people to work with everyday is really important and we are lucky to have... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "A view from the boss - my initial impressions of phs after 4 months in the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Chief Executive Officer in Caerphilly, Wales
    Current Employee - Group Chief Executive Officer in Caerphilly, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at phs Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing culture. Lots of people have been here their whole career

    People are willing to speaking up which is a good thing....I get lots of questions and feedback (good and bad)

    Great career opportunities...there is more to phs than meets the eye. Greenleaf, Teacrate, Direct365, Besafe, Compliance, Sekonten, phs Direct

    Great products.....the best in the industry

    Service drivers are really impressive. They know our customers better than anyone else in the company

    The best service network in the UK. We look after over 240k washrooms

    Our lifecycle plant provides a real green solution to customers. No other company has this

    Cons

    We need to improve our service delivery but we are working hard on this

    We need to listen to our customers and be more customer focused. We have plans to improve this

    We are improving the way we communicate with our colleagues in phs. We recently introduced a quarterly video conference where all employees can participate and ask questions. It seemed to go down well

    Advice to Management

    Hmmmm.....that's a bit tricky. This is a question better answered by others

    There is lots to do but we have a great team and we are launching a new growth plan in September.

    I would encourage all management to get out and meet customers and spend time with our front line staff regularly

    phs Group Response

    6 Aug 2018 – Mark - phs team

    Hi, thanks for the review, it’s great to see our newly appointed CEO engaged with Glassdoor. Pleased to see you gave us 5 stars also! But seriously, thanks for writing a balanced review with some... More

  3. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work, Progression is welcomed aswell as personal development a good company trying to be the best in their field and will not stop until that is achieved despite past errors continues to grow and tries to keeps the customer at the heart of the operation although this needs improvements

    Cons

    lack of planing in some projects, seem to jump in and see what happens which is not the best way
    no consistency across depots with pay, Bonus's and rewards

    Advice to Management

    take an interest in other depots outside of London and Caerphilly there are fantastics team members out there !
    Better planning and involve people that may be impacted or have good knowledge or ideas's worth investing in.

    phs Group Response

    14 Jul 2018 – Mark - phs team

    Hi, thank you for leaving us a review. It’s great to hear you feel there is personal development, we want to help develop our people. We certainly aim to be the best in our field and thank you for... More


  4. "Ever changing but there is light at the end of the tunnel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mid Glamorgan in Caerphilly, Wales
    Current Employee - Mid Glamorgan in Caerphilly, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Observing all the new leaders we have had over the last few years has given an opportunity to learn. Some Fantastic changes were needed and have happened. PHS is a great company with the best solutions.

    Cons

    Change management has been really poor.
    Weak Culture and Vision at present.
    Service needs drastic improvement for our customers to feel confident and build our credibility back up.

    Advice to Management

    More relevant communication. Better Inclusion and recognition. Try before buy and listen to employees who are doing the job. We need you to listen and then change when we say it doesn't work. More people resources would help get to our vision quicker without exhausting what we currently have.

    phs Group Response

    25 Jun 2018 – Mark - phs team

    Hi, thanks for leaving us a review, and thanks for the 10 plus years service! Since the appointment of our new CEO, David, the points you have raised will be addressed especially around our vision... More


  5. "Purchase Ledger Head Office Caerphilly South Wales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Purchase Ledger Clerk in Caerphilly, Wales
    Current Employee - Purchase Ledger Clerk in Caerphilly, Wales

    I have been working at phs Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Having started work here at 16, I guess this is the only Company I have ever
    worked for and ever wanted to work for, I have had a variety of jobs at Phs, over the years , Sales, Payroll, Credit Control, Finance, to name a few, which meant I could change job positions in the company fairly easy , thus gathering many skills over the years , perhaps this was one of the reasons I enjoyed working here so much, it gave me a lot of diversity, and encourages you to explore different job options within the company, Phs also offers many courses where you can gain more skills and further your education , also there is great potential for promotion , if this is something you desire in your working life.
    Free parking, great free lunch , working with wonderful dedicated people pleasant surroundings, and of course a company that is here to stay, when I do retire, not quite ready now though , as still enjoying myself so much, I would be honoured to say I worked for this company all of my working life, with no regrets,

    Cons

    Nothing, that has affected me in any way , shape of form

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, so that when I do retire, I can come back to all the may wonderful events/anniversaries that take place .

    phs Group Response

    19 Jun 2018 – Mark - phs team

    Hi, thank you for leaving us a review, also thanks for your 10 + years service. We are thrilled to hear all of the points you mentioned. There is always opportunity to develop and great you feel you... More


  6. "Phs gas engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gas Engineer in Bristol, England
    Current Employee - Gas Engineer in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Can sometimes finish at 2pm but factor in a 2 hour drive plus home

    Cons

    Complete false claims given, advised work was local but ridiculous travelling required sometimes 2 to 3 hour drive to get to a job. They offer training in 3 months and then say it's 6 months
    Very badly organised office, sometimes you can travel 2 hours for a job and stock not ordered.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with your new employees. Be honest about the job role

    phs Group Response

    14 Jul 2018 – Mark - phs team

    Hi, thank you for leaving us a review. We take all feedback seriously and will make sure that the relevant departments get to see yours. If you feel you’d like to discuss your review in more detail... More


  7. "service driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Caerphilly, Wales
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Caerphilly, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at phs Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    staff great/your own boss/job and knock

    Cons

    treatment/no dinner time allocated/work balance terrible/pace work

    Advice to Management

    should be more hands on

    phs Group Response

    18 Jun 2018 – Mark - phs team

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We will pass over all of your feedback to our management teams, we wish you luck for the future. Thanks again.

  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Caerphilly, Wales
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Caerphilly, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent support from managers.
    Supportive team.
    Progression opportunities.
    Free canteen :)
    Regular charity raising events.
    Encouragement to progress and develop.
    Offer of further education, company funded.

    Cons

    Free canteen ( I eat more)
    Sometimes there is no spaces at the front of the carpark.

    phs Group Response

    25 May 2018 – Mark - phs team

    Hi, thank you for your review. Its really great to read your comments and to hear you are supported by your managers and team. We'll pass on all of your feedback and hope you continue to enjoy your... More


  9. "Worst company that I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agency in Caerphilly, Wales
    Former Employee - Agency in Caerphilly, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    They do offer free food but wages are low and food is restricted

    Cons

    Bad management not supportive towards staff unless your face fits

    Advice to Management

    Develop the staff you have and listen to the points your staff are making maybe then you will not have to contact several agencies just to get staff

    phs Group Response

    7 Jun 2018 – Mark - phs team

    Hi, we appreciate feedback so thanks for taking the time to review phs. We’ll make sure your concerns are passed on. Good luck in the future and thanks again.


  10. "Lots of opportunities and a warm welcome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time

    Pros

    I joined the phs team just over two months ago, and that time has flown by. My role is full of opportunities and I have been made to feel so welcome by everyone I have met during my induction. I have spent time learning all about the different roles we have in our business and have learnt about all the services we offer our customers. Who knew the people behind the little yellow lozenge did so much?!

    Cons

    I am at the start of my employment journey with phs so I haven't come across any cons that would be a show stopper for me. I would encourage all our team to keep on sharing ideas that help us focus on our customer.

    phs Group Response

    22 May 2018 – Mark - phs team

    Hi, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. There is so much that goes on behind the yellow lozenge and good to hear you have been made to feel welcome. We hope your journey... More


Showing 84 of 87 reviews
Reset Filters