phs Group Reviews

Updated 31 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
phs Group CEO David Taylor-Smith
David Taylor-Smith
81 Ratings
  1. "Great company and support network!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In my short time within the company it is great to see the team ethos being displayed, not just in the division I work for, but across the whole company. Whether you are in a role that works from home or based in Head Office there is always somebody at the end of a phone call or email that wants to help. They have the appetite to want to recognise people for a job well done through praise and recognition which is encouraging to see.

    Cons

    It would be great to see the company offer private medical insurance as an employee benefit alongwith the other benefits provided at present

    Continue reading

    phs Group Response

    May 8, 2019People Team

    Hello, thanks for leaving us a review. Its great to see you have a good support network around you at phs. I will be sure to pass on the information regarding employee benefits.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Once Great, Now Awful"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Manager in Tamworth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at phs Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None I can think of.

    Cons

    Worked for PHS for 15 years. Used to be great and a prosperous place to work. Years of bad management, no pay rises and then poor pay rises if you consider 1% per year good. Not so good on a low salary. Put on staff more and more with no reward. As the CEO told the entire business in his business update they are looking for better quality staff at less cost. Says it all really. They have not a clue and as previous reviews have stated, a lot of favouritism, one rule for one and one for another and back stabbing is rife. HR are only there to support the business and not the employee so please do not rely on them or even trust them. Spent and wasted a lot of my years at this place the last 3 years very miserable. Should have got out sooner.

    Continue reading

  3. "Outstanding Corporate Organisation"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family feel and supportive environment. Management listen to ideas and want to genuinely keep improving the Company culture and vision. One of the top Corporate Companies I have worked for.

    Cons

    Service industry can be frustrating but we are improving

    Continue reading

    phs Group Response

    May 7, 2019People Team

    Hi, thanks for leaving a review. I would agree we have a family feel at phs. I will pass your review over to the senior management team .

  4. "Best company I worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Business Partner in Caerphilly, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at phs Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked at PHS for 6 years and have recently retired after 40 years work. On reflection, and considering the companies that I have worked at over these years, then I have to say that PHS comes top of my list for providing an efficient working environment. The people, the processes and the company structure are all designed to satisfy both customers and employees i.e. it is a company that is very close to achieving the ideal balance within a workplace. I experienced much change during my time with PHS, and on leaving the organisation, I believe it to be a dynamic, and practical company. PHS has recently made great leaps in providing a technology platform that I consider to be world class, efficient, and one that supports both customer and employees with the objective of providing positive outcomes for all concerned. The workforce within PHS is without doubt the most professional, friendly and efficient set of co-workers that I experienced through my 40 years of working at various high profile organisations. The technology platform continues to be improved, and is an indication of the professionalism and expertise within the IT department. I consider this to be a great organisation that provides employees with an opportunity to learn, perform, and help grow the company.

    Cons

    There may be certain functions within the organisation that require more manpower in order to attain a higher level of effective performance. The impact of extreme re-organisation and technology upgrades can sometimes have an unsettling effect on employees. But the upside of this is that it is evidence that the company is prepared to continually adapt itself to an ever-changing market.

    Continue reading

    phs Group Response

    May 7, 2019People Team

    Hello, thanks for leaving such a detailed and balance review. I.T and Infrastructure is a key part of the 3 year strategy we have in place. We will continue to make a difference in our sector.

  5. "Great company D365 part of PHS group"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - D365 - Sales Manager in Skelmersdale, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good morale, clear strategy for growth. Strong agenda for changing what needs changing.

    Cons

    Large organisation so change can sometimes be slow to make an impact.

    Continue reading

    phs Group Response

    May 5, 2019People Team

    Hi, thanks for leaving a review. We are working very hard on our strategy to deliver for our customer and people. I'm glad you can see a difference.

  6. "Operations Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I’m in my 20th year, I came to PHS in 2007 from an acquisition after starting in the industry as a driver in Dec 2000. At that time of acquisition I was in a Depot supervisor’s role, I have progressed to by current role. If you are keen to progress, PHS show investment in people, if you work hard the rewards in progression are available in the division you work in and across the Group

    Cons

    Employee Benfits, to include Private health care.

    Continue reading

    phs Group Response

    May 5, 2019People Team

    WOW! 20 years, that's amazing. we will celebrate that with you. I'm glad that you've taken the opportunity to develop. We will support you every step of the way if you want to progress any further. I will pass on your comments to the senior management team regarding the employee benefits. I know that that this is something they've been looking at. Thanks for your review, its much appreciated.

  7. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Now in to my 17th year of employment with PHS Teacrate working my way up from crate cleaner to key account manager for the North of England. Fully supported by management and co-workers as a team. The future is looking bright.

    Cons

    I cant think of any cons,

    Continue reading

    phs Group Response

    May 5, 2019People Team

    17 years that's outstanding. I bet you've had fun along the way!!! You've sure had the opportunity to develop and we are so happy we've been part of that journey. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Accountant in Caerphilly, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have only worked at phs Group for a short time, however so far it has been a great experience. The work is varied and interesting, with a lot of exposure to different parts of the business, and the support I have recieved to get me settled into the business has been great. Everyone I have worked with has been friendly and willing to help whenever I've needed it as well. I find my hours relatively flexible and if I find myself working later for a few days, I know that I am able to work more flexibly on other days to get some of this time back.

    Cons

    I can't really think of particular 'cons' to working here so far, I'm sure there are times where I may think there are, but so far I haven't had any real issues!

    phs Group Response

    May 2, 2019People Team

    Hi, thanks for the review. I agree we are a friendly bunch of people at phs. Remember if you have a friend that would would like to recommend theres £250 up for grabs.

  9. "PHS Teacrate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Depot Manager in Coleshill, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Career Development. A good bunch of people working within the company.

    Cons

    Can do long hours to cover absences

    phs Group Response

    May 5, 2019People Team

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I agree the people at phs Teacrate are a good bunch. I've noticed you've been with us for more than 10 years. That's a great milestone, I hope you celebrated. Thanks again for leaving a review.

  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been with the company for almost 20 years and have seen many changes, started as driver and now in management, but the one thing that is constant is the drive and enthusiasm of the management and staff to ensure things get done. I work within a small team out of the Durham depot and we have always had great support from our other divisions. Fantastic flexibility in the job is a real advantage also.

    Cons

    Can be quite a bit of reactive works needing doing which can interfere with personal life on occasion, but these are rare and are to be expected within the industry.

    Continue reading

    phs Group Response

    May 5, 2019People Team

    Hello, thanks for the balanced review. What a great development journey you have been on. I bet you have seen some positive change in the last few years. Yes we are going to keep on with the people investment. Its part of our strategy.

Found 167 reviews