phs Group Employee Reviews about "free lunch"

Updated 11 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
phs Group CEO Matthew Brabin (no image)
Matthew Brabin
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get to work with great people with a strong team ethos led by an experienced leadership team(in 10 reviews)

  • "Free lunch in the Caerphilly canteen(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Getting things done by head office takes longer than the customer requires tings doing(in 8 reviews)

  • "Numerous changes in Senior Management has lead to a disastrous growth plan(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "free lunch"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Inbound sales

      16 Apr 2018 - Inbound Sales Advisor in Caerphilly, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      well established company, great people, great products, free lunch, dress down Fridays!

      Cons

      Pay could be more. The bonus structure is improving, however standard salary could rise.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      Mark - phs team

      Thanks for taking the time to review what it’s like at phs. It’s great to read your comments and to hear that the people are great. We’ll make sure we'll pass on the ‘Cons’ you have raised and the ‘Advice to Management’. Thanks again for the review.

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Overall a great company to work for

      11 May 2019 - Project Manager in Caerphilly, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They say its the people that make a good or bad workplace, and this is definitely true of PHS. Worked there for 8 years and have made some lifelong friends. Other perks are that the salaries are fair for the job you do, in my opinion. And of course, the famous free lunch at head office! The IT department has a great bunch of people, who for the most part, work together for the good of the company overall.

      Cons

      The benefits package is lacking when compared with other similar companies / job roles.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      People Team

      Hi, thanks for the review. Yes the IT team are a good bunch of people that support the whole group to sort and enhance our technology offering. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the senior management team regarding the benefits package. We do look at our benefits annually but it’s still good that you’ve mentioned it.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      An insider's view of Finance at PHS

      23 Oct 2018 - Project Accountant in Caerphilly, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive manager Really friendly staff - especially at PHS Teacrate Great on the job training Work hours are fairly low, which helps with work life balance Free lunch in the Caerphilly canteen Car allowance / company car

      Cons

      Compensation and benefits are on the low side but improving Role involved travelling (4 days in every 4 week period) Occasional Sunday work in my specific role (2 hours)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      Mark - phs team

      Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all feedback. It's great to hear that you had a supportive manager, we'll make sure to pass your review over to our senior management team to see. Also love to hear you thought our staff are friendly, we get that feedback a lot and makes us proud! We'll ensure your comments reference benefits are raised, thank you for mentioning this. Thanks again for your review and good luck in the future.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Awful place to work

      1 May 2019 - Customer Service Representative in Caerphilly, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff are nice Free Lunch

      Cons

      No Career Progression Low Pay Outdated management tactics

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      People Team

      Hello, thanks for leaving a review. I have forwarded your review directly to the senior management team. Over the past few months we have put together a full talent plan at phs. Everyone is starting to see the benefit. We will always look internally for talent before we look externally.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work if you are OK with the lower pay.

      7 Jul 2015 - Senior Web Developer in Caerphilly, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family-managed feel, lots of variety, opportunity for moment within the company and if course the free lunch if based at head office. The teams genuinely get along and there was no drama, at least in marketing.

      Cons

      Lower salaries than elsewhere and the speed of growth through acquisitions left the IT department with an impossible task. Internal systems are old and outdated but people seem to work with what they have.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Needed a shakeup

      22 Oct 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PHS offered free lunch for all employees with a great selection, also cheap breakfasts on a Friday. Big offices with everything all under one roof. Nice people and a community atmosphere.

      Cons

      Very outdated building on an industrial estate. Management and executives very set in their ways, reluctant to try new things out of their comfort zone.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Customer Service

      23 May 2018 - Customer Service in Caerphilly, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free Lunch Convenient 9-5 Mon-Fri Overtime offered regularly

      Cons

      Far to Much Expected for such a low salary. Unable to do job properly as walls are put up. Management Make it up as they go along and pluck random "new processes" out of thin air and then complain when un trialled processes rolled out across 60+ people go wrong. Management don't listen to staff who ultimately know what they are doing Treated like naughty school children

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      Mark - phs team

      Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's disappointing to hear about your experience, we'll make sure to pass all of your comments on as we value and consider feedback we are given. Thank you again.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      caerphilly

      30 Apr 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice environment Good team interaction and support free parking free lunch working hours good development if looking well established company dealing with business to business customers

      Cons

      very busy but most places are now!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      phs Group Response

      Mark - phs team

      Hi, thanks for leaving us a review, sorry it's taken a while to respond, we like to respond to all of our reviews but this one looks like it slipped through the 'Glassdoor net' and we've only just seen it. Sorry! It's so great to hear the points you raise and we'll make sure your comment get passed on. But hey, it's always good to be busy, right?

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Working for PHS is rapidly going downhill

      23 Mar 2017 - Account Administaton in Caerphilly, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free Lunch in head office

      Cons

      Poor management, unpredictable changes poorly planned, no method of escalation

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with phs Group Job Seekers

    Field Sales Account Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at phs Group? Share Your Experiences

    phs Group logo
    or