the Rank Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

the Rank Group Reviews

Updated 13 October 2017
131 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

131 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Excellent work life balance (best i have had in any company) (in 14 reviews)

  • The senior management knows everyone's names and it feels much more like a family than any other gaming company I have every worked in (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • GROSVENOR; Controlling Senior Management, everything needs agreeing so middle management level are very restricted in what they can do / achieve (in 10 reviews)

  • structure benefits work life balance work flow (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Engaged and Entertained"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Maidenhead, England
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at the Rank Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    My work is interesting and I feel my output is related to the company's success
    My boss listens to me and explains when something is currently not workable or encourages me when it is
    The people are wonderful - I've yet to meet someone I didn't like. Its a real United Nations!
    The office is great and very convenient. It has free parking and access to both shops and greenspace. "Walking meetings" in the park are a fab idea.
    The company really goes out of its way to make staff feel valued. HQ is small enough to let you get to know most people but big enough to be dynamic.
    There is a lively charity scene if you want to get involved. I didn't expect a gaming company to be so caring towards its clientele.
    There are lots of 'lifers' here. Every celebration features folks who have been here for 20 years or more. Its definitely encouraging.

    Cons

    Sorry, really nothing to report!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! This is the best company I've worked for since 2000.

    the Rank Group Response

    6 Oct 2017 – Chief Executive

    Hi there,
    Thank you for such a positive and enthusiastic review - it is great to read. Having said that I think there is plenty more we can and will do to make Rank a great place to work. And I... More


  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sheffield, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at the Rank Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great progression opportunities for all levels
    Fun and exciting place to work
    Supportive managers
    Individuality is embraced
    Going the extra mile is recognised

    Cons

    Nothing I would class as a con.

    Advice to Management

    It seems Sheffield is its own unit with very limited interaction to Maidenhead or Gib. Would be great to see more senior management around the office and more collaboration with the various sites.

    Change takes too longs. I love how passionate we are about change but it seems everything is always delayed with digital.

    More perks for employees would be good.


  3. "Pleasant, people are humble and helpful. Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience Designer in Maidenhead, England
    Former Employee - User Experience Designer in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at the Rank Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good team ethic of working to solutions on problems. Lot's of activities to help build camaraderie with other teams.

    Cons

    Not enough support, should you struggle in few areas. You can be left to your own devices at times. Needs a better network to help in those areas.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "A historic company adapting well to 21st century requirements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Advisor in Bristol, England
    Current Employee - Technical Advisor in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at the Rank Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Seriously dedicated staff. Always open to new ideas and ways to approach opportunities and challenges.

    Cons

    Challenging environment to push past slow growth again in the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Stay open and positive to the flow of new ideas and concepts and don't be afraid to try new stuff!

    the Rank Group Response

    21 Sep 2017 – Director of HR, Shared Services

    Thank you for this great feedback and taking he time to write it, its always good to know that we are working in the right direction and we really value your views.


  6. "Poker Dealer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Poker Dealer in Lincoln, England
    Former Employee - Poker Dealer in Lincoln, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at the Rank Group (More than a year)

    Pros

    Poor Management
    Employees are treated like slaves - £8 per hour while you work 10-12 during the night.
    NO work life balance
    Future career is goonne litereally :D

    Cons

    Everything is wrong in this company. Don't work for them !

    the Rank Group Response

    21 Sep 2017 – Group HR Director

    Many thanks for sharing your feedback – naturally we are disappointed that you feel this way and this is not the experience of the majority of our team members. At the heart of your review seems to... More


  7. "Campaign manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at the Rank Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working, gym onsite, good location

    Cons

    Management, limited career opportunities and very old school with marketing

    the Rank Group Response

    30 Aug 2017 – Director of Customer Operations

    We really appreciate your feedback. The investment within marketing innovation over the past few years is creating a new breed of marketers within Rank. The "old school" approach to marketing is... More


  8. "Job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at the Rank Group part-time

    Pros

    Fun environment and helpful people

    Cons

    Too many layers of management

    the Rank Group Response

    30 Aug 2017 – Director of Treasury & Corporate Communications

    Thank you for your feedback, always appreciated.

    We are working hard to create the right working environment at Rank and its great to hear that you found it fun.

    I note your point re layers of... More


  9. "Never a blue Monday!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Maidenhead, England
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    People with a deep knowledge of their field and genuine concern for customers happiness and wellbeing. I've seldom seen a nicer place to work - from smart offices to fun challenges.

    Cons

    Can't really think of anything. I suppose we could work on our communication skills?

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! A productive and happy company is a rare and wonderful experience.

    the Rank Group Response

    30 Jun 2017 – Director Of Treasury and Corporate Communications

    Thank you for your feedback, its fantastic to read your positive comments.

    Your comment around communication skills is really interesting, we are actually looking at how we better communicate more... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "A pleasant place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Maidenhead, England
    Current Employee - Marketing in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at the Rank Group full-time

    Pros

    Management like to promote work/life balance, often suggesting I "go home" if I'm still working past 5.30

    Team of friendly people who are willing to offer advice when required.

    Occasional training opportunities.

    The new head office is a nice place to be (people from different departments have finally started talking to each other!)

    Investing in new systems

    Cons

    You lose about an hour each day talking to tech support.

    Even when we do a good job, physical venues are in decline market and that can be disheartening.

    Advice to Management

    Unrealistic project deadlines make it difficult for everyone involved to do a good job. Talk to the tech guys earlier on, because those can be the biggest hurdles.

    Try not to focus TOO hard on company culture, lest we end up being in a place where everybody repeats the same motivational platitudes and no actual work gets done.


  11. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at the Rank Group full-time

    Pros

    Great level of interaction between management and staff;
    Great opportunities to progress;
    Diverse range of people;
    New office with amazing facilities;
    CEO is A model - any person of authority should aspire to be like him

    Cons

    Periodic deadlines can be difficult - but seems to do with line of profession rather than company.

    Work life balance can be improved by consciously facilitating working from home

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    the Rank Group Response

    4 Jul 2017 – Director Of Treasury and Corporate Communications

    What fabulous feedback, thanks for sharing it.
    As always we are really keen to hear what we can do better and I take your point regarding working from home and its one that has been raised before... More


Showing 131 of 139 reviews
Reset Filters