the Rank Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

the Rank Group Reviews

Updated 16 August 2017
127 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

127 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Excellent work life balance (best i have had in any company) (in 13 reviews)

  • The senior management knows everyone's names and it feels much more like a family than any other gaming company I have every worked in (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • GROSVENOR; Controlling Senior Management, everything needs agreeing so middle management level are very restricted in what they can do / achieve (in 10 reviews)

  • structure benefits work life balance work flow (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Wow! Amazing company & beautiful new office!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maidenhead, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at the Rank Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Beautiful new support office in Maidenhead - it is a fantastic environment and has clearly been a significant investment, which is really great for staff to come and work in a brilliant atmosphere! The culture is ace!
    The CEO is great - he has an open door policy where if there is ever a problem, he asks that you come and speak to him or other management members directly.
    Some great perks such as onsite gym, free tea and coffee, a real treat for all!
    The people at Rank are lovely, friendly and helpful.
    The Digital team is just incredible - it is such a great atmosphere around that team with a real 'start-up' feel.
    Plenty of parking at the new office :)
    I absolutely love working at Rank, and I would recommend it to anyone!

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of - all good :)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing - it is fantastic that you are so approachable!

    the Rank Group Response

    16 Jun 2017 – Director of HR, Shared Services

    This is the kind of feedback that we all aspire to see and thank you for taking the time to post this incredible review. We are all working incredibly hard across the business to create a culture... More


  2. "Job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at the Rank Group part-time

    Pros

    Fun environment and helpful people

    Cons

    Too many layers of management


  3. "Campaign manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at the Rank Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working, gym onsite, good location

    Cons

    Management, limited career opportunities and very old school with marketing


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Never a blue Monday!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Maidenhead, England
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    People with a deep knowledge of their field and genuine concern for customers happiness and wellbeing. I've seldom seen a nicer place to work - from smart offices to fun challenges.

    Cons

    Can't really think of anything. I suppose we could work on our communication skills?

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! A productive and happy company is a rare and wonderful experience.

    the Rank Group Response

    30 Jun 2017 – Director Of Treasury and Corporate Communications

    Thank you for your feedback, its fantastic to read your positive comments.

    Your comment around communication skills is really interesting, we are actually looking at how we better communicate more... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "A pleasant place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Maidenhead, England
    Current Employee - Marketing in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at the Rank Group full-time

    Pros

    Management like to promote work/life balance, often suggesting I "go home" if I'm still working past 5.30

    Team of friendly people who are willing to offer advice when required.

    Occasional training opportunities.

    The new head office is a nice place to be (people from different departments have finally started talking to each other!)

    Investing in new systems

    Cons

    You lose about an hour each day talking to tech support.

    Even when we do a good job, physical venues are in decline market and that can be disheartening.

    Advice to Management

    Unrealistic project deadlines make it difficult for everyone involved to do a good job. Talk to the tech guys earlier on, because those can be the biggest hurdles.

    Try not to focus TOO hard on company culture, lest we end up being in a place where everybody repeats the same motivational platitudes and no actual work gets done.


  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at the Rank Group full-time

    Pros

    Great level of interaction between management and staff;
    Great opportunities to progress;
    Diverse range of people;
    New office with amazing facilities;
    CEO is A model - any person of authority should aspire to be like him

    Cons

    Periodic deadlines can be difficult - but seems to do with line of profession rather than company.

    Work life balance can be improved by consciously facilitating working from home

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    the Rank Group Response

    4 Jul 2017 – Director Of Treasury and Corporate Communications

    What fabulous feedback, thanks for sharing it.
    As always we are really keen to hear what we can do better and I take your point regarding working from home and its one that has been raised before... More


  8. "Brilliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Management and support staff are very supportive and help everyone develop their skills and progress in careers

    Cons

    Shift work means some may struggle to find a balance between their work and social life

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    the Rank Group Response

    16 Jun 2017 – Director of HR, Shared Services

    Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review. It is always great to get such positive feedback and we are doing all we can to 'keep it up'.


  9. "terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at the Rank Group part-time

    Pros

    lovely people
    helped me gain life skills I wanted and never knew I could

    Cons

    had problems with a lot of things, managers don't know their job cannot get hold of HRs number to even ask for advise told im not allowed it, spoken to like muck at times.

    Advice to Management

    look after your staff more, and give access to HRs number publically for all staff to find. also listen to staff when they give you there doctors recommendation of ability to work!

    the Rank Group Response

    4 Jul 2017 – Director of HR, Shared Services

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am of course disappointed to learn that you have been unable to reach a team member in HR and that you have experienced colleagues not speaking... More


  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Birmingham, England
    Current Employee - Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at the Rank Group full-time

    Pros

    Good career structure, excellent company values that are embedded into the whole group.

    Cons

    Hours can be an issue if you have a young family

    the Rank Group Response

    16 Jun 2017 – Chief Executive

    Thank you for your positive review! It is good to know that we are heading in the right direction as a company. On the issue of hours, we try to be flexible (within reason!) on the hours that... More


  11. "It's ok, I just have a very, very long commute!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good pension and benefits. Generally a 9-5 job. Nice people unless you have to work with HR. My team is great.

    Cons

    Maindenhead, it's not London! An unfortunate move, in my opinion. It will be difficult to get talent to follow and will be hard to get people to stay.

    Advice to Management

    Open a smaller satellite office in London. All the talent is there!

    the Rank Group Response

    16 Jun 2017 – Director Of Treasury and Corporate Communications

    Thanks for your feedback, its great to hear your view.

    Well its the end of week one of us all being in our new Maidenhead office, so its is still early days. Please note the decision to move to... More


Showing 127 of 135 reviews
Reset Filters