wagamama Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

wagamama Reviews

Updated 27 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
wagamama Chief Executive Officer Emma Woods
Emma Woods
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food on shift (allowance based on hours worked)(in 63 reviews)

  • "Good tips if you do your job well(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long Hours / short staffing / non communication(in 47 reviews)

  • "split shifts, lack of personal time and management(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "the kind of place you just fall in love with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    from the minute i joined wagamama i felt so welcome and part of the family and did just fall in love the company. working here is like no where i have ever worked before, from the amazing food, restaurants and most importantly people. wagamama have such a clear purpose and vision that it makes it so easy to know what you are all striving to achieve and how you are going to get there. i love that you are challenged to be the best version of you, given stretch in your role but also that there is such genuine care for your personal life and well being too.

    Cons

    if you struggle with a fast paced environment then wagamama may not be for you

    wagamama2019-07-19

    wagamama Response

    July 30, 2019

    it's brilliant to hear that love the challenge, but know that you're in an environment where your wellbeing is the priority. thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review + for sharing your experience so far! being part of the wagamama family is something that we want all our teams to feel passionate about, + it's so brilliant to see that this is certainly something you feel we look forward to hearing more about your journey with us wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary, friendly environment, fresh food, diverse teams, brilliant career opportunities

    Cons

    Long working hours & distant travel

    wagamama2020-03-27

    wagamama Response

    March 30, 2020

    hey there, thank you for taking the time to leave us this brilliant review! we're really happy to hear that your experience has been great so far + we wish you all the best with your future progression wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  3. "New virus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Porter in Waterlooville, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and good money

    Cons

    Because of this New virus they cuted half of my hours..

    Continue reading
    wagamama2020-03-20

    wagamama Response

    March 26, 2020

    hey there, thank you for leaving a review. we are waiting for the government to publish details of the job protection scheme + we should be able then get earnings back up. we will back be back in touch shortly via email. many thanks wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Lincoln, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice team , provide one meal

    Cons

    Few hours , very busy , cleaning a lot

    Continue reading
    wagamama2020-03-27

    wagamama Response

    March 30, 2020

    hi there, thank you for leaving us this review we're sorry to hear that you experienced some negative aspects during your time working with us. please can you take a moment to send some further details over to hrqueries@wagamama.com, so that we can learn more + find ways to improve? thanks again wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "mixed support from area managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Food allowance is fantastic, great support for frontline team.

    Cons

    Head office and area support dependant on the person. Some great managers but some real issues with people management.

    Continue reading
    wagamama2020-03-25

    wagamama Response

    March 27, 2020

    hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. while it's great to hear that there is such great support for the frontline team, it's not great to hear that you haven't had a brilliant experience in other areas - it's really important for us that we gather this information so we can do everything we can to learn + improve please could you send us some further information to hrqueries@wagamama.com? hope to hear from you soon wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  6. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team work, days go quick

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, get very busy

    wagamama2020-03-05

    wagamama Response

    March 6, 2020

    hi there! thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. we're happy to hear that you're enjoying your time with us + that you have a great team working alongside you. we wish you all the best with your future progression! wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  7. "Unclear expectations, no support but tons of tasks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Chef in Norwich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Straight shifts, competitive pay, possibility to develop your team

    Cons

    One big mess, 10 bosses dragging each in thier direction. Unclear expectations changing every month, my line managers were ''replaced'' 5 times within 2 years

    Continue reading
    wagamama2020-03-16

    wagamama Response

    March 17, 2020

    hi there! thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience, we're really sorry to read your time with us was less than positive, this of course is never our intention it’s really important to us that we gather further information regarding your experience so we can do everything we can to improve in the future - please could you share further feedback to hrqueries@wagamama.com? hope to hear from you soon wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  8. "decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    tips, people, the food and environment

    Cons

    split shifts, lack of personal time and management

    wagamama2020-02-03

    wagamama Response

    February 4, 2020

    hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments about working with us! it's great to hear that you enjoyed working with us + our team. we're always looking at ways to improve + would love to hear more from you! if you would like to send hrqueries@wagamama.com, we would really appreciate it! we wish you all the luck on your next journey! wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  9. "I am an experienced and , punctual and have a friendly but confident approach in all that I do."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The ability to work unsupervised or as a strong team member. Dedicated, trustworthy and loyal. Self motivated and enthusiastic with an ability to work effectively under pressure. Highly organized and dedicated to working to the highest possible standards. Employment History

    Cons

    i consider my sealfe as a good pearson

    wagamama2020-01-27

    wagamama Response

    January 30, 2020

    hi! thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! it's great to hear that you are enjoying yourself in the wagamama family! we hope that you enjoy many more years to come! thank you again, wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  10. "Working at Wagamama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Canterbury, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at wagamama full-time

    Pros

    Youthful and positive environment. Possibility of improving professionally and learning about oriental cuisine.

    Cons

    Hard work due to the success of the restaurant.

    wagamama2020-01-28

    wagamama Response

    January 30, 2020

    hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! it's great to hear that you enjoyed working with us for the time you did! we wish you all the best in your new journey! wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
Found 351 reviews