wagamama Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

wagamama Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
87%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
wagamama Chief Executive Officer Emma Woods
Emma Woods
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food on shift (allowance based on hours worked)(in 60 reviews)

  • "Good tips if you do your job well(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours, split shifts, every weekend(in 44 reviews)

  • "Sometimes hours can be very long where you do split shifts with a very small break(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "the kind of place you just fall in love with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    from the minute i joined wagamama i felt so welcome and part of the family and did just fall in love the company. working here is like no where i have ever worked before, from the amazing food, restaurants and most importantly people. wagamama have such a clear purpose and vision that it makes it so easy to know what you are all striving to achieve and how you are going to get there. i love that you are challenged to be the best version of you, given stretch in your role but also that there is such genuine care for your personal life and well being too.

    Show More

    Cons

    if you struggle with a fast paced environment then wagamama may not be for you

    wagamama2019-07-19
  2. "the best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Food on shift Discount Pay Shared Tips (none go to Wagamama) Great company app very flexible lovely staff

    Cons

    nothing that you wouldn't get from any other waiter/waitress job

    wagamama2019-12-19
  3. "Good place but be prepared to work hard!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Chef in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working culture. Immigrants friendly. Managers are flexible and friendly. Good trainings. Good pay. Open-minded hiring policy.

    Cons

    Be prepared for finishing late and working long hours.

    wagamama2020-01-17
  4. "Lost it’s way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time

    Pros

    Training / Staff parties / free Food

    Cons

    Long Hours / short staffing / non communication

    wagamama2020-01-14
  5. "The best chain!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waiter in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free meals from the main menu. Flexible work hours. Great atmosphere. Busy but not overwhelming. Great beneficts.

    Cons

    Number system for ordering makes it a bit hard to start.

    wagamama2020-01-12
  6. "A fair entry level job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Chef in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Networking, quick progress, close relationship with management

    Cons

    Long shifts, hard job, dangerous for hour health in the long term.

    wagamama2020-01-10
  7. "Good money, free food!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FOH Team Member in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free staff food, 30% when not working in every Wagamama, good money for a waiting job, paid holiday

    Cons

    management sometimes not overly professional, no sick pay.

    wagamama2019-12-26
  8. "amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House in Winchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    happy, joyful, flexible, understanding

    Cons

    There really are not any

    Advice to Management

    none

    wagamama2019-12-11
  9. "Every day is better than the previous one."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic working atmosphere. Ambitious growing possibilities.

    Cons

    Sometimes it's a very hard work with a non stop.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing like that.

    wagamama2019-12-11
  10. "Line Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in Hackney, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good vibe and extremely sustainable

    Cons

    no time to read a book héhé

    wagamama2019-12-10
Found 300 reviews