wagamama Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

wagamama Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 270 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
wagamama CEO Emma Woods (no image)
Emma Woods
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "great progression opportunities and free food(in 56 reviews)

  • "Good tips if you do your job well(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bonus very low or noexisten , depend of the restaurant long hours(in 38 reviews)

  • "Sometimes hours can be very long where you do split shifts with a very small break(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "the kind of place you just fall in love with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    from the minute i joined wagamama i felt so welcome and part of the family and did just fall in love the company. working here is like no where i have ever worked before, from the amazing food, restaurants and most importantly people. wagamama have such a clear purpose and vision that it makes it so easy to know what you are all striving to achieve and how you are going to get there. i love that you are challenged to be the best version of you, given stretch in your role but also that there is such genuine care for your personal life and well being too.

    Cons

    if you struggle with a fast paced environment then wagamama may not be for you

    wagamama2019-07-19

    wagamama Response

    July 30, 2019

    it's brilliant to hear that love the challenge, but know that you're in an environment where your wellbeing is the priority. thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review + for sharing your experience so far! being part of the wagamama family is something that we want all our teams to feel passionate about, + it's so brilliant to see that this is certainly something you feel we look forward to hearing more about your journey with us wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  2. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Chef in Manchester, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food on shift (allowance based on hours worked) Clean chef whites and apron on shift Great staff app Cycle to work scheme

    Cons

    Management can sometimes be a bit unclear

    wagamama2019-10-15

    wagamama Response

    October 15, 2019

    hey! thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review + we're so happy to hear that you are loving being part of the wagamama family :) we hope you continue to enjoy your journey with us wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  3. "Great company, amazing benefits, lovely People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are amazing to work with Great vibe and energy On the rise with lots of opportunities Great pay Great tips Great bonus Great training

    Cons

    If you are looking for somewhere fast paced and needs proactive learning then this is not for you! You will 100% get out of it what you put it however!

    wagamama2019-10-15
  4. "Fun family feel at work everyday"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Trainer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Inspirational people Buzzing working environments It’s all about our people Amazing career succession Fantastic rewards and benefits I wouldn’t want to work anywhere else

    Cons

    None it is all brilliant

    wagamama2019-10-15
  5. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As Waga employee you will have plenty opportunities to grow as a person. Mgmt is actually allowing you to take ownership of your projects and supporting you when things go wrong.

    Cons

    Amount of paperwork that the company has is quite massive but in the same time we are saying thst if you can handle that, you can handle it anywhere else and be great in what you do... So actually not as bad thing.

    wagamama2019-10-09

    wagamama Response

    October 11, 2019

    hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. it is fantastic to hear that you are enjoying your time working with us. we really appreciate your feedback + we'd like to wish you the best of luck with your wagamama journey! thank you wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  6. "Its one of the best job to fit in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FOH Team Member in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love working for wagamama cz it helps to communicate with different people u get to know alot about them plus work with a amazing team who help you plus the working hr is good

    Cons

    Food allowance shuld increase or the time break

    wagamama2019-10-08

    wagamama Response

    October 11, 2019

    hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review. it's great to hear that you love being a part of the wagamama family + we really appreciate your feedback too thanks again wagamama recruitment team

    Continue reading
  7. "Good for work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House Manager in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Pay is good Lots of staff benefits

    Cons

    Expectations for me were different from training site to actually site I ended up in!

    Continue reading
    wagamama2019-10-15
  8. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of the House Member in Colchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment, good pay and food

    Cons

    Not enough hours. A full time is 25/30 pw

    wagamama2019-10-12

    wagamama Response

    October 13, 2019

    thanks for taking the time to provide us with those details, we really appreciate it. great to hear that you enjoy so many aspects of the job, if you would like to discuss anything further with us, feel free to drop over an email to hrqueries@wagamama.com wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  9. "Thanks for the opportunity to work with WAGAMAMA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Front of House in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good team work, co-ordination, Positivity

    Cons

    There is no downside of WAGAMAMA

    wagamama2019-10-11

    wagamama Response

    October 14, 2019

    hey! thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review, we really appreciate it it sounds like you love being part of the wagamama family + we're so pleased to hear it :) wishing you all the best with your wagamama journey! wagamama recruitment team :)

    Continue reading
  10. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House Manager in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    excellent pay, excellent training, lots of responsibility if wanted

    Cons

    some awful members of management who are bullies but this is site specific to one

    wagamama2019-10-08

    wagamama Response

    October 11, 2019

    hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. we are pleased to see the positive points you have raised here, however we are sorry to hear about your experiences with some of the member of management would you mind sharing some more details here - hrqueries@wagamama.com? thank you

    Continue reading
Found 270 reviews