wagamama Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 746 of over 1,156 reviews

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
wagamama CEO Thomas Heier
Thomas Heier
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get free food on each shift(in 131 reviews)

  • "inclusion are upper most in the wagamama culture - be yourself(in 59 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours/ Rotas are usually only realised a week ahead of schedule(in 104 reviews)

  • "no cons for working at wagamama(in 43 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Amazing

      Jul 28, 2022 - General Manager in West Bridgford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They do look after people, from a great allowance to a great work personal life balance

      Cons

      I genuinely cant find a bad thing to talk about wagamama right now.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      wow, what a review! we’re sooo happy to hear you feel like this. we aim to make working with us an amazing experience for every single person who joins us + to hear this is the case for you is really great. keep up the hard work noodler <3

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing company

      Aug 9, 2022 - General Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food, amazing growth opportunities

      Cons

      It’s very hard work but very worthwhile

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      overall good company to work for

      Aug 11, 2022 - Front of House Team Member in Birmingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really friendly atmosphere Staff meal allowance was good

      Cons

      Senior leadership slow to take up action on issues with restaurant management Some processes were too rigid, requiring management authorisation which slowed down service and denied staff the ability to resolve problems independently

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great job

      Jul 30, 2022 - General Manager in Preston, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really enjoy working for wagamama the support is great, lots of free food on shifts too.

      Cons

      Working hours however they are flexible should you need it

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      hey noodler, thank you so much for writing this review. we love hearing about your great experiences working with us, as a people focused business, it is our goal for all of our people to feel like this <3

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Busy but fun!

      Jul 20, 2022 - Front of House Team Member in Royal Leamington Spa, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a really good place to work. The company has a real passion for the quality of their food and service and train staff up to reflect this

      Cons

      It could be very challenging during busy hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      hey, thank you for your feedback + writing this review! as a people focused business, we take great pride in everything we do + it’s great to hear our people feel this we understand our restaurants can get busy + that’s all because of the great service + unbeatable food our people provide. thank you for all your hard work, it does not go unnoticed

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Jul 20, 2022 - Server/Waitress in Stratford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good pay Good management Nice people

      Cons

      Long working hours Can get tiring

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      hey noodler, thanks for the review. we love those benefits too:) + think it’s great that you like our people + management. we understand that work can get tiring sometimes, but we try to make it as comfortable as possible. if you are struggling, please speak to your gm or take a look at the resources in your restaurant's mental health first aid bo

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      GM Central London

      Jul 18, 2022 - General Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People benefits and annual conference.

      Cons

      Long hours and mixed shifts.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      hey noodler. we like to think we offer great benefits to our people too + we LOVE our conference! if your hours are getting too much, please speak to your area manager + let them know how you’re feeling. if you’re still not getting the support you need contact peopleservices@wagamama.com + we’ll be happy to support you

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Hardcore, very monotonous but good free food.

      Jul 15, 2022 - Kitchen Porter in Salisbury, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food, regular breaks and reasonably flexible hours.

      Cons

      Repetitive and gruelling, especially on closing shifts.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      hello + thanks for the review. those are great benefits aren't they! but we’re sorry you feel it was repetitive + gruelling. we try to make work as fun as possible + thank you for working so hard regardless of this, thanks!

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Server/Waiter

      Jul 13, 2022 - Server/Waiter in Birmingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very friendly staff and well managed

      Cons

      worked long hours and had to cover other shifts

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      hey, thanks for taking time to write this review. it’s great to hear that you like our wagamama people, we’re a family:) but it’s not good hearing you weren't happy with your hours. we never want to give people more than what is right for them + would never make you work more than your contracted hours. if your hours are too much, please have that conversation with your general manager. they will be happy to support

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work

      Jul 12, 2022 - Server/Waitress in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to work, good tips, flexibility

      Cons

      Not always enough hours for you

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 746 Reviews

    wagamama Reviews FAQs

    wagamama has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 1,156 reviews left anonymously by employees. 68% of employees would recommend working at wagamama to a friend and 57% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, wagamama employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at wagamama. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

    68% of wagamama employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated wagamama 2.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at wagamama to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be culture, work life balance, management.

    Popular Careers with wagamama Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at wagamama? Share Your Experiences

    wagamama logo
    or