wagamama Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

wagamama Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 201 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Emma Woods
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible schedule, good vibes, free food during shift(in 44 reviews)

  • "Great Team and really good tips(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours into the evening/nights(in 30 reviews)

  • "Split shifts with 2-3 hours break (unpaid) in between(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Be Wagamama, Be You!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Gateshead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Where to begin? So many happy, friendly faces. Every member of our team Back and Front of House are truly unique and fascinating people. It seems every body here has hidden talents and hobbies they excel at. The company slogan, "Be Wagamama, be you" isn't just empty rhetoric, it's so true here. I don't know if our recruiters are just experts at finding these people or if it's the great atmosphere and work culture that...

    Show More

    Cons

    It can be a little physically demanding with the inevitable temperature of the kitchen, but there's always help, refreshments and air con to combat the heat. It's to be expected. Nothing major to concern me.

    Advice to Management

    Keeping being you! Keep being Wagamama!

    wagamama Response

    April 30, 2018recruitment business partner

    hey! thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review! it's fantastic to hear you love being part of the team + we sure hope this carries on! we wish you all the best with your journey at wagamama! wagamama recruitment team :)

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Front of house"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress in Reading, England

    I have been working at wagamama part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Free food on shift, approachable coworkers, good staff moral.

    Cons

    Disorganised manager who doesn’t motivate staff well, unapproachable attitude.

    wagamama Response

    February 12, 2019

    hey! thanks so much for your review! it's great to hear that you love representing the wagamama family! we wish you the best of luck with your journey! wagamama recruitment team :)

  3. "Line cheff and courier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back of House in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It`s a great place to work

    Cons

    Very busy but it`s a good place

    Advice to Management

    Good comunications to way

    wagamama Response

    March 13, 2019

    thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your comments, we really appreciate it!

  4. "Full time server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Server in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I’ve been working for wagamama 2 year, absolutely brilliant place to work for, great team, nice vibes

    Cons

    Poor money, more activities for stuff

    wagamama Response

    March 2, 2019

    hey! thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review! it's fantastic to hear that you love being apart of the wagamama family + we wish you the best of luck in your journey with us! wagamama recruitment team :)

  5. "Wagamama review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Recommends

    I worked at wagamama full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team and free meals

    Cons

    Too busy and really stressful

    Advice to Management

    None

    wagamama Response

    February 20, 2019

    hey! thanks so much for your review! it's so great to hear that you enjoyed your time when working with the wagamama family + we wish you the best of luck in your future. wagamama recruitment team :)

  6. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Free food. Openness to all walks of life for employment

    Cons

    Long shifts on feet, Senior Management are too autocratic. Feel like a robot at times

    Advice to Management

    There's no commitment from management with regards to your progression. Very clicky.

    wagamama Response

    February 20, 2019

    hey! thank you for your review! while we never like to hear that we haven't given a great experience - it's really important to we gather this information so we know where to improve in the future please can you take a moment + provide any further information you have via the ...

    Show More
  7. "Front of house team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House Team Member in Stratford, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    To work with a supportive management team. Flexible working hours.

    Cons

    Late working hours especially during the weekend

    wagamama Response

    February 4, 2019

    hey! thanks so much for your review! it's so great to hear that you love representing the wagamama family. we wish you the best of luck with your journey! wagamama recruitment team :)

  8. "Wagamama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House Team Member in High Wycombe, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dun, diverse + dynamic atmosphere with drive on bringing the best possible service to customers. All tips shared betweenness FOH after initial training period. Opportunities to progress.

    Cons

    If you have poor memory, learning all numbers can take some time.

    wagamama Response

    January 23, 2019

    hey! thanks so much for your review! it's great to read that you love being apart of the wagamama family + we wish you the best of luck with your journey! wagamama recruitment team :)

  9. "Use to be great but then changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great team work, decent environment, good bonuses when KPI’s achieved and good food.

    Cons

    Quite political amongst senior management, career progression out with the branch are slim and you can tick all the boxes and still get no where which is disappointing especially when you put in the hard work but of course no ones perfect we see and know things in which senior management does whether at work or outside of work which we keep to ourselves..should we then judge?

    Advice to Management

    Keep it professional and not personal. It should be constructive and not destructive. Being judgemental isn’t the right way forward and support your staff. If you become red eyed then you shouldn’t be in management.

    wagamama Response

    January 29, 2019

    hi! thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! it's great to hear that you enjoyed working with the team + the food when with us we are always looking for ways to improve + would love to hear more from you - please could you take a moment to send some further information ...

    Show More
  10. "Warm and welcoming team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FOH in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing staff, both FOH & BOH

    Cons

    Sometimes it may be tough at peak hour

    wagamama Response

    January 11, 2019

    hey! thanks so much for your review! it's great to read that you love being part of the wagamama family so much. we wish you all the best with your journey! wagamama recruitment team :)

Found 201 reviews