wagamama Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

wagamama Reviews

Updated 10 January 2019
191 reviews

Filter

Filter

UK - All Cities

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Emma Woods
1 Rating

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Free Food if you work more than 6 hours" (in 42 reviews)

  • "Great Team and really good tips" (in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "can be long hours as you may get tired" (in 30 reviews)

  • "Split shifts with 2-3 hours break (unpaid) in between" (in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "Be Wagamama, Be You!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Gateshead, England
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Gateshead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Where to begin? So many happy, friendly faces. Every member of our team Back and Front of House are truly unique and fascinating people. It seems every body here has hidden talents and hobbies they excel at. The company slogan, "Be Wagamama, be you" isn't just empty rhetoric, it's so true here. I don't know if our recruiters are just experts at finding these people or if it's the great atmosphere and work culture that brings the best out of our employees both in and outside of the workplace.
    The great work/life balance must play a part in this too.

    The diversity of our teams is their strength. For every weakness there are ten people with a strength to balance it out. I have had tremendous fun learning new languages in the kitchen. It really makes for a unified, team strengthening experience. We all the speak the same language, good food! Soul food is universal.

    A huge positive for me is the wide range of vegetarian and vegan food options. It's a great convenience having access to this food for free! Yes, that's right! A free meal every shift, anything from the menu. It's great to know my employer cares about the environment and animal welfare as much as I do and makes these options available. I'm completely stoked for the new vegan dishes coming soon, they'll be new break time favourites for me.

    Speaking of which, breaks are generous and always guaranteed. Hours are never an issue for me, I get a guaranteed minimum and as many more as I need or want.

    There are always ample staff on shift so any busy periods of the day are well covered for. Help is always on hand no matter your experience level. Each line chef has their own section they are responsible for, this provides a good sense of independence and allows for you to work with your own personal preferences as far as time management goes. You can be left and trusted to work on your own but with all the benefits of having a full team right beside you, should you need advice or a helping hand. It's a great system. They really get the balance between individual freedom and being part of a coordinated team effort well.

    It's one of the cleanest restaurants I've worked in. Great work ethic, cleaning and hygiene regime. Closing the kitchen is a relatively quick effort too with the number of team members on hand. Which is great for those using public transport services of which my particular restaurant is perfectly located for.

    Small perks on extra busy days like beers and desserts are always greatly appreciated. The occasional contest for best presentation of dishes is always fun too and rewarded generously. Awards like 'Chef of the Month' greatly boost team moral and bring the best out of everyone. Out off work activities like paint balling, football and bowling are good fun too.

    Managers are very approachable, understand any issues staff may have as they've all been there before and done the job as long as anybody. The hierarchy of positions mostly goes unnoticed, everyone receives equal respect and gives equal effort.

    Promotion is a clear pathway, lined out perfectly in front of you to take. There's no boundaries but your own attitude and ambition. It's very achievable to rise up.

    The pay is fair and competitive. Kitchen even receive a share of the tips.

    Everything you need to do your job well is provided for.

    I feel like I can be myself in this job and it's encouraged that I am true to myself.

    Cons

    It can be a little physically demanding with the inevitable temperature of the kitchen, but there's always help, refreshments and air con to combat the heat. It's to be expected. Nothing major to concern me.

    Advice to Management

    Keeping being you! Keep being Wagamama!

    wagamama Response

    30 Apr 2018 – recruitment business partner

    hey!

    thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review! it's fantastic to hear you love being part of the team + we sure hope this carries on! we wish you all the best with your journey at... More


  2. "Warm and welcoming team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FOH in London, England
    Current Employee - FOH in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing staff, both FOH & BOH

    Cons

    Sometimes it may be tough at peak hour

    wagamama Response

    11 Jan 2019

    hey!

    thanks so much for your review! it's great to read that you love being part of the wagamama family so much. we wish you all the best with your journey!

    wagamama recruitment team :)

  3. "Awesome team awesome environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, with clear communication from the top which filters all the way down to the team. Clear progression which is achievable.

    Having worked in a number of other restaurant brands wagamama is hands down the best place to be.

    Cons

    No downsides at all, there are opportunities to help open other new sites train new team members and if you take the opportunities it really is a chance to shine

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing!

    wagamama Response

    8 Jan 2019

    hey there

    thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review. it's fantastic to hear you love being part of the family + you enjoy the whole atmosphere within the company

    keep up the... More


  4. "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Leeds, England
    Current Employee - General Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great training and if you work hard there are loads of opportunities to be promoted. Amazing food to eat every shift. Really care about the people and how you are doing personally. Good pay for management and good tips for team members.

    Cons

    Managers contracts at 48 hours. Could be less.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. Working for waga feels like family to me

    wagamama Response

    8 Dec 2018

    hey!
    thanks so much for your review! we're super happy that you are enjoying yourself in the wagamama family. we appreciate you feedback + hope you continue to love your job going forward... More


  5. "Wagamama Stratford Westfield"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Stratford, London, England
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Stratford, London, England

    I worked at wagamama full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    There are none. Please seek employment elsewhere.

    Cons

    The Cups, Plates and Utensils are not being washed properly, so basically all customers are eating from dirty dishes. It’s really bad, Wagamama can’t even be bothered to provide their employees with a Staff/Break Room area. The worst part there isn’t a Separate Changing Room for Men and Women. Even the most basic Facilities at Wagamama aren’t available.

    Advice to Management

    I don’t blame Management, it’s the company (Wagamama) that should take responsibility and are the ones to blame.

    wagamama Response

    3 Jan 2019

    hi there,

    thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. while we never like to hear that we haven't given a brilliant experience - it’s really important to us that we gather this... More


  6. "Lack support from the Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Chef in Basingstoke, England
    Former Employee - Line Chef in Basingstoke, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, friendly FOH staff

    Cons

    Very rude senior sous chef

    Advice to Management

    Respect and value hard working staff

    wagamama Response

    14 Dec 2018

    thanks for taking the time to share your review. we would like to learn more about your experience as part of the team, would you mind sending some additional information over to... More


  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Cheltenham, England
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good management and shared tips

    Cons

    Rota a few days in advance

    wagamama Response

    20 Nov 2018

    hey!

    thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, we really appreciate it. it's great to hear that you love being apart of the wagamama family + we wish you the best with your journey... More

  8. "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in London, England
    Current Employee - Team Member in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    If you are a student or part-timer, it is good. Nice pay, comparing to random restaurants. You get around £10 ish an hour. Free Food if you work more than 6 hours. If you have a good team, it is a bonus as well.

    Cons

    We were allowed to do shift swaps with managers approval which I think keeps the employees happy and more convenient, but it depends on the managers. Under some manager's supervision, it is prohibited which I think it is unnecessary as it is not like Super professional working environment as everyone is trained equally and some may need emergencies or flexibility according to individual circumstances. Sometimes music is super boring and makes it hard for longer shifts. If it's quiet, then you would be likely to be sent off home.

    Advice to Management

    Please consider allowing shift swaps as they keep employees happy and efficient. Updating a good music playlist will definitely create a good environment both for employees and customers as I have been with the company for more than 4 years. Managers should do team briefs more exciting, for example, one fun fact a day or one hot topic news a day to keep knowledgeable for everyone since they are leaders of the team.

    wagamama Response

    14 Nov 2018

    hey there

    thanks for taking the time to leave your review. it's great to see that you are enjoying the overall experience being one of the team! we would like to learn a little more about the... More


  9. "good company if you want to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of the House Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Front of the House Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at wagamama full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    quick possibility to grow up; mix of culture; good salary - depends how many hours are you doing, depends how busy is the restaurant where are you working

    Cons

    kitchen job - hard and you need to clean all the kitchen every day (imagine to do this every day after busy shifts). the management team care more about the business that their employs

    wagamama Response

    8 Nov 2018

    thanks for taking the time to leave your review. we really appreciate all your comments
    + especially appreciate your hard work!
    thanks again!
    wagamama recruitment team


  10. "Kitchen assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Bedford, England
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Bedford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at wagamama full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free food that is about it

    Cons

    Everything underpaid nasty food treated poo

    Advice to Management

    Crappy no good for no one

    wagamama Response

    12 Dec 2018

    hi there,
    thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. while we never like to hear that someone hasn't enjoyed their experience - it’s really important to us that we gather this... More