wagamama Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 569 of over 829 reviews

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
wagamama CEO Thomas Heier
Thomas Heier
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible hours, free food, great tips, friendly management(in 86 reviews)

  • "Free food, good tips, flexible shifts(in 35 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and poor work/ life balance(in 55 reviews)

  • "long split shifts at most branches(in 32 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      if you work in hospitality, this is the company you want to work for!

      Feb 20, 2021 - General Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      wagamama it's a company with a great structure and offer lot's of support to be the best you can be at your role. full of people who really care for the success of the company but most importantly care for each other, have passion for fresh food and know how to have fun while working in face pace environment. If you already work in hospitality or considering a career in, this is the company you want to work for!

      Cons

      if you enjoy hospitality and know what it brings then there's no cons really!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      Employer Brand + Talent Acquisition Executive

      thank you so much for the 5 star review, it's really great to hear! we hope you continue to enjoy your time with us + wish you all the best for the future! wagamama recruitment team 😊

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I like working at wagamama

      Jul 14, 2021 - Kitchen Porter in Enfield, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      they are good people, and they are always talking to you, they never leave you alone

      Cons

      sometimes the time, and it's also very tiring

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      Employer Brand + Talent Acquisition Executive

      hey there, thanks for taking the time to leave us such a positive review, we really appreciate it! great to hear that you love the atmosphere + hope that you continue to progress as an important part of the wagamama family. wagamama recruitment team 😊

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fun, exciting and always something new’

      Jul 17, 2021 - Front of House - Team Member in Paddington, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brilliant place to work, the enviroment is super friendly! The care and support I have received through my time here has been amazing. What’s interesting comparing to other jobs within customer service is that your able to be yourself whilst working, they celebrate the fact you are an individual! Everyone’s different. But that’s what makes the Wagamama’s so special. I have felt great sense of pride whilst working as there lots of different opportunities to get involved in whilst being here! The managers have been super supportive and have made me feel welcomed into this new environment with open arms hence coming to work now with a huge smile on my face!

      Cons

      I’ve actually really enjoyed my time here hence having no cons!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      Employer Brand + Talent Acquisition Executive

      thank you so much for the 5 star review, it's really great to hear! we hope you continue to enjoy your time with us + wish you all the best for the future! wagamama recruitment team 😊

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      amazing brand to be part of

      Jul 15, 2021 - People Team in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      really love the brand and what it stands for - diversity and inclusion and being mindful of environment. there are a lot of things happening in terms of wellbeing for team members as well which is a step in right direction. love the people that I work with and no day is the same. the senior management invests in their teams’ development as well which is great

      Cons

      it is a fast paced environment and there is constant change in order to stay a market leading brand so you need to be prepared for it - other than that nothing really!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      Employer Brand + Talent Acquisition Executive

      thank you so much for the 5 star review, it's really great to hear! we hope you continue to enjoy your time with us + wish you all the best for the future! wagamama recruitment team 😊

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      NO TRANSPARENCY/UNLOYAL TIPS MANAGEMENT

      Jul 12, 2021 - FOH Team Member in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I cannot see any pros in this lack of tips transparency

      Cons

      Wagamama obliges FOH team members to leave their tips from the table service with the managers for them to share them across the team using a calculator with many variables but the managers are not allowed to disclose this calculator to the staff, so the staff are never aware if the tips arrive to their payslips correctly, on our payslips we just see the final figure for our tips share but we are not allowed to see how this figure has resulted from the calculation, it could be any other figure right or wrong, we cannot work it out ourselves to see if it is correct and if we are receiving the right money.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      Employer Brand + Talent Acquisition Executive

      hi there, thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. we're sorry to hear that your experience hasn't been perfect, however we really appreciate you sharing this information as it helps us improve + adapt. if you could please take a moment to send some further details to hrqueries@wagamama.com, our team will look into this for you

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Otherwise enjoyable work spoiled by management

      Jul 23, 2021 - Line Chef in Bristol, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clean chef whites every shift Free meal with break Tips

      Cons

      Name badges Tronk Handsy management Culturally expected unpaid overtime Bare minimum break time (20 mins for 8+ hours)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Opening of brand new wagamama restaurant in paddington.

      Jul 6, 2021 - Senior Sous Chef in Hounslow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wagamama is best company to work, because of its values. Kaizen in our heart and we have got each other’s back.

      Cons

      There are no downsides as this is best company to work for and grow as well.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      Employer Brand + Talent Acquisition Executive

      hey there, thanks for taking the time to leave us such a positive review, we really appreciate it! great to hear that you love the atmosphere + hope that you continue to progress as an important part of the wagamama family. wagamama recruitment team 😊

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work and grow as a person

      Jul 14, 2021 - Junior Sous Chef in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing people with a great atmosphere at all times. Everyone is so nice and accepting of you. :)

      Cons

      It’s hard work but worth it

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      Employer Brand + Talent Acquisition Executive

      hey there, thanks for taking the time to leave us such a positive review, we really appreciate it! great to hear that you love the atmosphere + hope that you continue to progress as an important part of the wagamama family. wagamama recruitment team 😊

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      .

      Jul 18, 2021 - General Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      none to be mentioned really

      Cons

      none that i can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      Employer Brand + Talent Acquisition Executive

      thank you so much for the 4 star review, it's really great to hear! we hope you continue to enjoy your time with us + wish you all the best for the future! wagamama recruitment team 😊

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Racist place to work

      Jun 5, 2021 - Line Chef in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not any. They simply follows Taylor’s Scientific Management Theory. They think paying good is enough for a job. But it never motivated me, since all the positive factors were missing.

      Cons

      There are countless of them: 1. The management is very hypocritical, slow responses, and unhelpful. 2. Some red hat Junior sous chef acts very bossy and never really works. They like giving orders and chatting with people in their hierarchy. Some are so rude that they think line chefs are slaves. 3. In general, awful front of the house and back of the house. Behaviour is horrible. 4. Hygiene is awful. Line chefs usually clean the machines with dangerous chemicals, and then prepare the food simultaneously near the closing time. Nobody cares about allergen especially during closing time. As they are in a hurry to leave. 5. In many occasions my colleagues would look down on me because of my height and race and they said really mean things to me at work. 6. Many of the incidents I complained to my manager and supervisor but they were supporting each other and turned a blindfold. Very poor work culture.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      wagamama Response

      Head of Talent Acquisition

      hi, we are really sorry to read this review + your experience whilst at wagamama. we are striving to make wagamama a safe sanctuary and a place where everyone feels included. I would love it if you could reach out to our people services team (peopleservices@wagamama.com) to discuss your experience so we can look into it - thank you

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 569 Reviews

    Popular Careers with wagamama Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at wagamama? Share Your Experiences

    wagamama logo
    or