zulily "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

zulily Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 17 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
34%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
zulily President Jeff Yurcisin
Jeff Yurcisin
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with and fun company(in 50 reviews)

  • "fast paced, and easy to make changes(in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "You are expected to work 7 days a week, terrible work life balance(in 57 reviews)

  • "Low pay compared to industry standards for location(in 51 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Underpaid & Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at zulily full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing peers and people to work with

    Cons

    You are expected to work 7 days a week, terrible work life balance. Workload is doubled with half the staff and no relief is given. Pay is very low compared to other competitive companies / jobs around with more workload. No opportunities to move up despite you hitting all your expectations and beyond.

    Continue reading
    zulily2019-11-17
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Under valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at zulily

    Pros

    Some great teams/people. Work/life balance good. Fast pace, agile environment. Opportunities to change roles and grow career early on.

    Cons

    Compensation is well below market except for a few tech roles. I left bc I was offered a 40% comp increase elsewhere. VPs quality varies wildly, some fantastic leaders, others who can’t be bothered to even speak to you (experienced both first hand) and are moved into areas of the business they have no understanding of. Good managers have an impossible time keeping top performers bc zulily will not compensate them.

    Continue reading
    zulily2019-10-16
  3. Helpful (3)

    "there are pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at zulily full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    people are great and its an interesting concept. you get to work from home once a week but with that the con is you are expected to be available pretty much all the time.

    Cons

    they pay very very low even for people with experience. there are very little to no incentives and no clear path for promotions. more times than not you are working and checking emails on the weekend. turn over rate is extremely high due to the low pay and work life balance.

    Continue reading
    zulily2019-10-26
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Perks aren't worth the drama."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at zulily full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible hours, beautiful waterfront view from campus, cafeteria, lots of perks (game room, sounders tickets, Orca card, sample sales, discounts, etc), fast and creative environment. -Opportunity to own your business with minimal interference. Ability to try, fail and regroup quickly and with minimal interference.

    Cons

    -Toxic culture in the merch dept. Upper mgmt act like a sorority, with many buyers following suit. Creates a high school environment full of gossip and drama. -buyer role is inherently competetive, where another category will run your category because they have a relationship with the vendor. Instill the value of winning as a team, and you will undoubtedly see more success. - Little work-life balance. With events going live daily, you never have a 24 hr period of not logging on, even when on PTO

    Continue reading
    zulily2019-09-24
  5. Helpful (8)

    "need better leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Buyer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at zulily full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    people who work there are great

    Cons

    lack of leadership at lower levels lack of strategy at lower levels work/life balance

    Continue reading
    zulily2019-09-16
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Buyer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at zulily full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wfh once a week, benefits have improved

    Cons

    I honestly feel like the good reviews are fake, do yourself a favor and trust the hundreds of bad reviews. The wage is so below what is considered a livable wage that most assistant buyers actually have second jobs. Management doesn’t know what they’re doing and everyone is walking around like headless chickens. There is barely any room for growth unless you’re someone’s favorite and promotions have been on hold in merchandising for almost a year. Even if you’re a high performer, the direction always changes and you constantly have to prove yourself. Because of that morale is down and almost everyone is trying to get a job elsewhere that’s all everyone talks about now . Work life balance is poor with vendors emailing all the time and treating you horribly because they think this company is a joke. Would not recommend it to anyone who doesn’t want to me miserable all the time.

    Continue reading
    zulily2019-10-02
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Data Entry Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Support Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at zulily full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pros of working at zulily included decent benefits, decent training, a good work-life balance (but only because this position was hourly). The commuting benefits were also impressive considering the office is not directly located along any major bus routes.

    Cons

    The cons of working at zulily included very uninformed and misbehaved management, poor compensation, and poor execution of problem solving from management. I am very sad to say that I left this job because of the people, specifically because of one (clearly unexperienced) manager. Bullying and unsolicited discipline is something I had never experienced from authority until I worked for zulily.

    Continue reading
    zulily2019-05-31
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Unrealistic Workload + Mean Girls-Like Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at zulily full-time

    Pros

    Casual dress code WFH option ~ once a week, depending on department/team Flexible work schedule - depending on department/team Building near the waterfront (although few food options nearby) Low-cost ORCA card Sample sales Cafeteria in the building

    Cons

    -This is the type of company that will work/stress you until you have a mental break-down/cry, I saw it happen to many people -Low pay -Sorority-like culture Honestly, I have never been treated so badly by leadership/a company as I was here. The way that members of my team were talked to and treated by leadership in meetings was shocking. Contractors are treated worse than anyone - and are removed from the company with little-to-no heads up. The high turnover is a complete reflection of the company and the toxic work environment it puts its employees in. They are ALWAYS hiring (just check on their website, ABs/Buyers/MMs/Directors, check again in a month and another month if you don’t believe me). This high turnover is seen across all teams, copy, FC, etc. ABs and above are salaried and are expected to take their laptops home every night and on the weekends. They are expected to check their emails at all hours. Let’s call it what is it - you are an on-call employee - do not take a position here unless you are okay with being exactly that. If you take PTO you are still expected to respond to urgent emails (like 15-20% of your emails). You are required to be in during “core hours” and then if leadership wants to throw in something for tomorrow, you are expected to work after you leave the office & until it is finished. This happens not occasionally but whenever leadership feels like it, which on some teams can be pretty regularly. You are also dependent on other teams to get things done and you have to wait & work to get things done at odd hours. I received 1 am emails on many occasions. There is no work-life balance. Leadership (at least the leadership that my team worked under) want “yes” people. If you question or push-back on any of the late/last minute/after work hour tasks that are thrown at you, your job is not safe here. This is not the type of place where you can vocalize your concerns if you do you will not make it far in this company and they will work to build a case to let you go. They try to act like there is, but at the end of the day this company is a numbers game, if you have to leave early because of something personal and they need to add something to the calendar, you figuring out how to make it work is not leadership’s priority. The goals are some teams are completely unrealistic and leadership does not care that you work 60 hour weeks to make it happen. The favoritism is so apparent on many teams and in how some people are and aren’t promoted. While my view of my time at this company isn’t going to hold for every team there if you take my experience and look at the general consensus among the many other reviews on here you can start to get a picture of what this company is like and how they treat their employees. (The cons amongst many of the reviews are pretty consistent). You may get lucky and be the 10% that end up well supported, not on an over-worked team, and with room to grow here - but that doesn’t happen as often as it should. You decide if you are willing to risk it. If you are interviewing here and are debating if you should work at zulily I would say if you have any other good options at another company TAKE IT. If this is your only option and you desperately need the experience take it, get the experience and GET OUT. Ask to meet with the team members (not just leadership interviewing you) before you accept the position and see if you can get open and honest answers in how the team culture is, how the people you report to are, how the work-life balance has been on the team for the last year, and why the last few people on the team left. The insight can really help you better understand what you are getting yourself into and if it would be worth it to you. Leaving zulily with work-related PTSD is a thing. Your mental health is important and being treated badly and talked down to at work each day can take a toll on your mental health - and that’s something to consider when taking a role here. There are so many amazing companies in Seattle where you can truly be respected and treated fairly. 700+ reviews with a 2.8/5 rating - take that into consideration that this isn’t just a one-off experience.

    Continue reading
    zulily2019-05-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at zulily full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture and work life balance, opportunities to take ownership and earn promotions

    Cons

    Lots of Sr management changes and the unique zulily culture being diluted under parent company Qurate

    zulily2019-01-28
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Leadership does not care abt ur hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDEII in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at zulily full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance is ok, you get to learn a lot.

    Cons

    1) Leadership does not care if u work hard or not. For them you are the one employee. 2) Leadership does not keep there words.

    zulily2019-01-30
Found 91 reviews