Benefex Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 of over 114 reviews

4.4
79%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Benefex CEO and Founder Matt Macri-Waller
Matt Macri-Waller
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing office space, great people and the opportunity to work with some fantastic customers(in 13 reviews)

  • "Benefex really is a great place to work(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Perhaps the recruitment process(in 3 reviews)

  • "team leaders and managers have no power to make any significant step (salaries, working hours etc(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Excellent Company, great atmosphere

      Jul 19, 2021 - Technical Senior Specialist in Southampton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, atmosphere, company ethos, people

      Cons

      Would love more encouragement or learning to be able to progress

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, it's really appreciated and I'm so pleased that your experience with us has been such a positive one. In respect to learning and progression, please do come and have a chat with me so that I can look at how we better support you with this - I'm always keen to ensure we have as many development opportunities as possible in place for our people. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Jun 7, 2021 - Administrator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The people are great and from day 1 make you feel part of the team. - The holiday allowance is generous at 33 days, plus your birthday off :) - Although I haven't visited them yet, the offices look amazing - There seems to be a lot of internal progression - Management really seem to genuinely care, asking for feedback through surveys regularly & employees can ask anonymous questions in bi-weekly company updates to the board team. - WFH has been hard on a lot of people, but I'm not sure there is anything specifically that Benefex could have done differently. There are regular check-ins, plenty of equipment has been provided and if you have any problems with equipment, it is dealt with swiftly. I genuinely feel really lucky to be part of a great team and to never dread work.

      Cons

      I can't think of any

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, I'm delighted to hear that your experience with us has been such a positive one to date. Completely agree that our people are amazing! Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company, great clients, even greater people.

      Jan 18, 2021 - Senior Consultant in Southampton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - opportunity to work with some amazing brand names and great customers - they're growing rapidly and it's exciting to be part of something exciting - the people truly do make it. Over 300 employees and every call you're on, everyone you meet is - people are kind, friendly, supportive. - genuinely feel like the senior and HR team care. They've been amazing during Covid and really do care about your well-being - pay is really good and very fair - they offer salary reviews every year - good holiday entitlement plus a day off for your birthday and opportunity to buy more through benefits scheme - lots of social events and generosity - even since we've been WFH - working hours are genuinely really flexible which is amazing - Regular company updates so you know what's going on (this has been especially great since Covid) Big quarterly updates, with employee awards. - the best Christmas party you'll ever go to

      Cons

      - progression can be hard depending on the role you're in - general benefits are good, but maternity/paternity pay is awful, especially for a company of this size. I understand the choice was made a few years ago based on employee feedback, but the business has grown and changed a lot since then - there really is a lot of overtime during the busy periods (usually twice a year), and not everyone gets paid the overtime. - Tech consulting are put on a pedestal

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review, it is so appreciated and it's great to hear so much positive feedback, particularly in respect of how we've sought to take care of our people during the Covid-19 pandemic. Thank you also for your suggestions on areas we need to focus on - again, this is hugely helpful. In respect of maternity and paternity pay, whilst we already pay above the statutory requirements, we will continue to keep this under review as part of our overall reward strategy. We are hugely appreciated of all of the hard work our people put in, I definitely take your comments on board though and will give some thought to how we better show this and recognise people for their efforts. Thank you once again for all of your feedback, I learn so much from reading these reviews and will definitely make sure we take all of your comments on board. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A business in need of a major revamp

      Jun 5, 2021 - Consultant in Southampton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - CEO is an engaging and inspiring chap

      Cons

      - Awful management . A do as i say culture and not do as i do - Management placed in the wrong positions and do not have the correct skillset or people skills to do the best out of their staff - Litte regard for employees mental health or welfare during the pandemic - Lack of team spirit and a dog eat dog culture

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback - clearly, it's disappointing to read that your experience with us wasn't a positive one, and I'm sorry that you didn't feel able to raise these points with us outside of Glassdoor in order for us to be able to proactively address them. Re your comments on management, these contradict the feedback we get via Peakon, our anonymous employee feedback tool - I have just taken a look and our eNPS score for Management Support currently sits at 58, with a rising trend overall, putting us in the top 25% of all Peakon employers for Management Support. Having said that, clearly I would want to ensure we address any individual areas of concern and would encourage all employees to come and speak to myself or a member of my team if this was the case. I do also just want to pick up on your comment about the lack of regard for employees' mental health or welfare during the pandemic. We have worked tirelessly during the pandemic to ensure the wellbeing of our people, with the shift to 100% remote working supported by a programme of support such as wellbeing webinars, support and regular check ins. Feedback from the vast majority of employees suggests we've got this right, and while there is no substitute for being able to be face to face in the office, I do believe that under difficult circumstances, we have done everything possible to keep our people safe. Thank you again for your comments - if you'd like to follow up on any of them with further detail please don't hesitate to contact me. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      AMAZING!!

      Jun 7, 2021 - Consultant in Southampton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A company I'm really proud to work for. Great people and great products!

      Cons

      It can be long hours but really rewarding.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. Completely agree with you that both our people and our products are amazing! Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Employer

      Jun 7, 2021 - Project Manager in Southampton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits Package Engaged Employer Training Work /life balance

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, it's really appreciated. Transparency is hugely important to us and we will definitely ensure we continue to prioritise that at all points as we continue our growth journey. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company better people

      Dec 22, 2020 - IT Support Technician in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a place filled with awesome people. A place where you speak to someone regarding a work-related issue and end the conversation generally having new friends. In a role that requires you to fix IT-related issues, there can be a lot of stress but the people and policies in place prevent it ever too much. Especially with the help or the HR team any issue you and they will put any amount of effort to help. They also do not just want you to have skills that benefit the company or role but want you to grow in a direction you want to and will help you improve as much as they can. A place that will happily allow you to move your work around to fit your life.

      Cons

      There is always something to do either learning something or in my case fixing things certain days can be long and tiring. There are Con's but they are usually attached to allot of Pro's so they are not worth mentioning

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review, we really do appreciate it. Could not agree more that our people are completely awesome! Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Ok

      Jun 13, 2021 - Employee Benefits Specialist in Southampton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Is an OK company to work for. Support is there when you're doing well.

      Cons

      You won't get far unless you're super friendly with a senior manager. Very stingey with pay rises. Noticable lack of ethnic diversity.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and I'm sorry to hear that your time with us wasn't wholly positive, although I'm pleased to hear that you felt there was support in place. Clearly, you would expect me to dispute some of the points that you've made. Progression is in no way linked to relationships with senior managers, and we have a transparent and well documented process when it comes to career progression which is implemented objectively across all roles within the organisation. When it comes to pay rises, we did freeze pay in 2020 at the height of the pandemic, in line with the vast majority of organisations. I am pleased to say that in 2021 we were again able to budget to review pay, and continue to actively benchmark pay for all roles within the business in order to ensure we are able to attract and retain the very best talent. Finally, in response to your comment on our lack of ethnic diversity, I wouldn't disagree at all that we still have some way to go before our employee population (and particularly senior leaders) fully represents the diversity of our wider community. As you may be aware, we have sought to actively tackle this head on, setting up our employee led diversity and inclusivity forum, designed to challenge us as business leaders and ensure we are not subject to our own unconscious bias when it comes to the initiatives we put in place to address. We welcome input from all of our employees, customers and wider contacts when it comes to how we ensure we bring in a truly diverse range of talent to our business, and are excited about the diversity strategies we have put in place and the difference we believe they will make to our teams. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Disappointing after all the hype

      May 8, 2021 - Benefits Administrator in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Have good benefits Have good training systems

      Cons

      Their homeworking setup is lonely, you feel cutoff from the company, they say they're social but there weren't any potential opportunities to meet/socialise with other employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I'm genuinely sorry to hear you found the home working set up difficult. We have done everything we can to create a positive remote onboarding experience for employees during the pandemic, while we have been unable to open our offices, including running a number of online social events, but fully appreciate this is not the same as being in an office environment, something I hope we'll be able to get back to very soon. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Nice people but poor management

      May 29, 2021 - Consultant in Southampton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You’ll work with some really nice people

      Cons

      Salaries are noticeably below the market average Expect to work a lot of overtime

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I completely agree that our people are amazing! When it comes to salaries, the recent benchmarking exercises we have undertaken would suggest that salaries are in line with those for similar roles in and around the Southampton area. However, we continue to keep this under active review, particularly having now brought on the population from Capita who are based elsewhere in the UK. In terms of your comments on overtime, as with all organisations working within the EB space, we have two key peak periods, and I appreciate that workloads can be higher during this time. However, what we also then experience are the quieter periods outside of peak, and the feedback we receive from employees via Peakon, our internal anonymous feedback tool, is that these two periods typically balance one another out. Having said all of that, we have always encouraged all employees who find their workload unmanageable to come forward in order for us to help support with this - so if this is you then please do come and speak to me/your line manager, I wouldn't want anyone to be struggling without us putting support in place. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 114 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Benefex Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Benefex? Share Your Experiences

    Benefex logo
    or