Benefex Reviews

Updated 24 Feb 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
88%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Benefex CEO and Founder Matt Macri-Waller
Matt Macri-Waller
89 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing office space, great people and the opportunity to work with some fantastic customers(in 13 reviews)

  • "Benefex really is a great place to work(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Perhaps the recruitment process(in 3 reviews)

  • "team leaders and managers have no power to make any significant step (salaries, working hours etc(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Amazing culture!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Benefex full-time

    Pros

    Amazing culture Incredible people Flexibility

    Cons

    Work life balance can be hard to achieve.

    Continue reading
  2. "Wonderful culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Benefex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, and a business that really does care about their employees which this has been really evident during COVID. Keep looking after your employees - they are awesome!

    Cons

    Growing at such a rapid pace it can be hard to keep up!

    Continue reading

  3. COVID-19

    "Great company, great clients, even greater people."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - opportunity to work with some amazing brand names and great customers - they're growing rapidly and it's exciting to be part of something exciting - the people truly do make it. Over 300 employees and every call you're on, everyone you meet is - people are kind, friendly, supportive. - genuinely feel like the senior and HR team care. They've been amazing during Covid and really do care about your well-being - pay is really good and very fair - they offer salary reviews every year - good holiday entitlement plus a day off for your birthday and opportunity to buy more through benefits scheme - lots of social events and generosity - even since we've been WFH - working hours are genuinely really flexible which is amazing - Regular company updates so you know what's going on (this has been especially great since Covid) Big quarterly updates, with employee awards. - the best Christmas party you'll ever go to

    Cons

    - progression can be hard depending on the role you're in - general benefits are good, but maternity/paternity pay is awful, especially for a company of this size. I understand the choice was made a few years ago based on employee feedback, but the business has grown and changed a lot since then - there really is a lot of overtime during the busy periods (usually twice a year), and not everyone gets paid the overtime. - Tech consulting are put on a pedestal

    Continue reading

    Benefex Response

    January 25, 2021

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review, it is so appreciated and it's great to hear so much positive feedback, particularly in respect of how we've sought to take care of our people during the Covid-19 pandemic. Thank you also for your suggestions on areas we need to focus on - again, this is hugely helpful. In respect of maternity and paternity pay, whilst we already pay above the statutory requirements, we will continue to keep this under review as part of our overall reward strategy. We are hugely appreciated of all of the hard work our people put in, I definitely take your comments on board though and will give some thought to how we better show this and recognise people for their efforts. Thank you once again for all of your feedback, I learn so much from reading these reviews and will definitely make sure we take all of your comments on board. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  4. "Absolutely love this place!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefex full-time

    Pros

    Ultra friendly teams, beautiful offices, amazing culture that is really believed in and underpins all business decisions.

    Cons

    Only downside for me is I didnt start working here ages ago

    Continue reading

    Benefex Response

    January 4, 2021

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback - it really is so appreciated, and I'm so pleased to hear your experience with us has been such a positive one. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  5. COVID-19

    "Awesome Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefex as a company offer a lot of support and encouragement to all their employees. Each team is always open to helping one another in order to achieve targets. The management team are brilliant and have made sure we are all set up to work efficiently from home and that everyone has wellbeing support during the pandemic. The team make you feel valued and recognised as an integral part of the company and your job role genuinely makes a difference. Benefex celebrates all cultures and has great rewards and benefits for their own staff.

    Cons

    No particular cons , the team are great at listening to feedback from staff.

    Benefex Response

    January 4, 2021

    This is great feedback to hear, thank you so much for taking the time to share it. We've been thrilled with how effectively everyone in the business has adjusted to working remotely during the pandemic, and have never been more grateful for our brilliant people! Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  6. "Good company better people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Technician in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a place filled with awesome people. A place where you speak to someone regarding a work-related issue and end the conversation generally having new friends. In a role that requires you to fix IT-related issues, there can be a lot of stress but the people and policies in place prevent it ever too much. Especially with the help or the HR team any issue you and they will put any amount of effort to help. They also do not just want you to have skills that benefit the company or role but want you to grow in a direction you want to and will help you improve as much as they can. A place that will happily allow you to move your work around to fit your life.

    Cons

    There is always something to do either learning something or in my case fixing things certain days can be long and tiring. There are Con's but they are usually attached to allot of Pro's so they are not worth mentioning

    Benefex Response

    January 4, 2021

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review, we really do appreciate it. Could not agree more that our people are completely awesome! Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  7. "Good Company to work for"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Information Technology 

    I worked at Benefex full-time

    Pros

    Good Culture and a people company

    Cons

    Could be seen as repetitive work at certain levels

    Benefex Response

    February 22, 2021

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it's really appreciated, and we'll use your comments to continue to try and improve the employee experience for everyone who works at Benefex. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  8. "Terrible treatment of staff for an employee benefits company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help Desk 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Benefex full-time

    Pros

    located close to transport links

    Cons

    At interview I was told they were keen to promote from within and nurture talent. Some months into the role, I applied for an open position which I was qualified for, and was told that it looked as though I wasn't serious about the role I had been employed into.

  9. "Lovely facade ... grossly over-promoted amateurs behind the scenes"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Benefex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Young culture but all fight each other for management praise

    Cons

    Very poor quality senior management

    Continue reading

    Benefex Response

    February 22, 2021

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm not going to pretend that it's anything other than disappointing to hear that your experience with us was such a negative one, and I would genuinely love to understand the detail about what we could have done in order to change how you felt during your time working with us. If you were willing to discuss in more detail, it would be great to do so - please feel free to email me, kathrynkendall@benefex.co.uk, in order to set up some time to speak. I would add that your feedback is definitely not replicated in the vast majority of reviews that we receive on Glassdoor, and hence being particularly keen to understand what it was specifically that caused you to feel this way. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Decent employer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Benefex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people and good culture

    Cons

    Laissez faire management. Tragic pension - bare legal minimum at an employee benefits company.

    Benefex Response

    January 25, 2021

    Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback, it's great to see the positive impact our culture and our people (who we agree are completely amazing!) had during your time with us. In terms of your comments re management, I'd really like to understand these further so, if you felt able to, perhaps you'd be happy to get i touch in order for me to be able to properly address these. In respect of our pension contributions, these align with AE requirements and are also commensurate with the pensions offering in order organisations of a similar size. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave a review, it really is appreciated. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

Viewing 1 - 10 of 106 English Reviews

Work at Benefex? Share Your Experiences

Benefex logo
or