Benefex Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
96%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Benefex CEO and Founder Matt Macri-Waller
Matt Macri-Waller
81 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefex full-time

    Pros

    THE PEOPLE - Benefex has a great culture which is embraced by all staff. At Benefex you always feel supported and included. The office has modern technology and is always alive and full of energy which makes coming into work an absolute pleasure.

    Cons

    Parking, all I can think of

    Continue reading

    Benefex Response

    June 22, 2020

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, it really is appreciated. We've definitely seen how much employees have valued us increasing the frequency of communications during this period, rest assured we'll absolutely be continuing this even once we are in a position to be able to return to the office :-) Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  2. "Wonderful company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefex really care about their employees and give a lot of support. The work is extremely interesting and fast paced but manageable. They have a great ethos making it a really nice place to work and everyone is very approachable and supportive.

    Cons

    None I can think of!

    Benefex Response

    June 15, 2020

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, it's great to hear that your Benefex journey has been such a positive one so far :-) Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  3. "Amazing Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent support throughout the business, everyone wants to help each other in order to achieve goals - Really are the best when it comes to the latest technology and always taking on board feedback from clients/employees to improve products/services to be the best in the market - A company that genuinely cares about its employee's wellbeing and not treated like a number (i.e. HR conduct regular check-in calls to see how you are since working from home) - CEO is great! Really approachable. You can see how much the company means to him and wants to really help businesses improve their employee experience which is filtered down to everyone It's definitely a company that practices what it preaches when it comes to employee experience. :)

    Cons

    I can't really think of any... I guess not being in the office and not seeing people but that can't be helped with today's climate. They are putting people's safety first.

    Continue reading

    Benefex Response

    June 15, 2020

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, we so appreciate it, and will definitely aim to keep on doing what we're doing :-) Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company but still lots of areas to improve"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee Benefits in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Benefex full-time

    Pros

    Good culture (although there are some negatives) Future plans are exciting Good office environment Decent people team

    Cons

    Teams work in silos and do not communicate effectivley Too reactive across all areas of the business People get away with doing an honestly terrible job without being challenged Technology/Infrastructure is poor in the back end

    Continue reading

    Benefex Response

    June 22, 2020

    Thanks very much for taking the time to share your feedback, it really is appreciated. We absolutely agree with you that our future plans are extremely exciting! In terms of some of the cons you have listed, I wouldn't disagree that we need to continue to work hard to improve communications between teams in order to enable our people to be more proactive - this is something we are putting a huge amount of focus onto. I would however refute your comment that we don't challenge poor performers; I believe that we have consistently intervened where performance has not been at the appropriate level, albeit this would not be publicly apparent given the sensitive nature of these conversations. Finally, in respect of our technology, as an HR professional I genuinely believe that it is best in class! - I have seen a number of our competitors demo to us over my years in the profession and wholeheartedly believe that OneHub outperforms on every front! That's not of course to say that there aren't things we want to improve and develop, and I'm excited about the new features we will be looking to deliver as part of our product roadmap :-) Thank you once again for taking the time to feed back, reviews like yours are incredibly useful and we really do take on board all of your comments and will use them in order to continue to review our employee experience. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  5. "Great role and supportive company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Accountability to push your role to where you want it to be - Enjoyable challenge with workload - Diverse range of work - no day is really the same and the weeks fly by - Welcoming colleagues - Fast paced, quick learning environment - Supportive culture between all departments to achieve the overall business goals - Really engaging senior management (they ensure visibility)

    Cons

    No cons to report on

    Continue reading

    Benefex Response

    June 10, 2020

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, it is so appreciated. It's great to hear that you're enjoying your career with us so much and we will continue to do everything we can to deliver an amazing working environment for our people. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  6. "Amazing company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Events & Community Manager in Southampton, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Benefex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The culture & people - The work ethos - The support from management - The ability to make a role your own and grow as an individual within a team

    Cons

    Yet to find a con which is pretty incredible in itself!

    Benefex Response

    June 10, 2020

    This is amazing feedback to hear, thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. I promise you that we don't take any of this for granted, and will continue doing everything we can to make Benefex an even greater place to work for our people :-) Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Here's An Honest Review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Benefex full-time

    Pros

    - Work culture is generally positive although mostly artificial. - The business is full of great people. - CEO is very inspirational and will happily answer the most invasive questions in a public forum with a decent level of honestly. - Events, socials and "treats" are fairly common place and provide a decent boost in moral on a regular basis.

    Cons

    - First and foremost the company requests and monitors reviews on Glassdoor. you are asked to provide a review and tracked on a spreadsheet when it's complete. this accounts for a decent portion of the hyper positive reviews you see below. The following points will also provide some clarity on why no one has anything bad to say. - People are fired arbitrarily and often incorrectly for mistakes that are produced by the companies reluctance to replace a legacy system, this affects multiple departments and when something goes wrong a scapegoat is let go to maintain peace with clients. alternatively reasons for dismissal are manufactured for individuals who are not particularly liked. - Contracts often have unlawful and unenforceable clauses that you of course wouldn't want to question in a workplace where people frequently depart for reasons such as not being a "cultural fit". An example of one of these clauses in my contract would be the company claiming to own all intellectual property i create outside of the workplace during my employment with them, yikes. - Overtime. Mandatory overtime, it's not an option and it's more or less every week, take your working hours now tack on 6-12 hours. If you can guess from the theme above those who question the fact that you cannot actually make overtime mandatory may find themselves suddenly not being a "cultural fit". - Pay-rises/bonuses/benefits in order i'll tackle the big three. -- Pay-rises: Pay rises aren't mentioned until your annual review were you'll be pleased to hear that until the business turns a profit you will not be receiving one. -- Incentives: not a thing unless you're in sales. -- Benefits: For a company that pitches there entire model on the necessity of employee benefits and engagement they provide the bare minimum, this is made rather clear when you compare your benefits package to the numerous companies you will be servicing. - Unsurprisingly based on the above there is a significant fear culture that cripples the businesses progression. people are afraid to make mistakes so they robotically follow the same procedures without ever being able to improve them.

    Continue reading

    Benefex Response

    June 15, 2020

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. I’d like to try and respond to as many points as possible, so apologies in advance for the length of this response! Firstly, I’m really pleased that, while your review is primarily focused on the areas you feel we need to improve, there have been things that you have really valued during your time with us. We entirely share your view on our fantastic people 😊 You’ve suggested that the company “requests and monitors” review on Glassdoor. The first part of this statement is absolutely true – we strongly encourage everyone who works at Benefex to leave a review, as we believe that Glassdoor is an amazing tool and it’s really important to us that it’s as well-used as possible by Benefexers. What absolutely isn’t true is that we “monitor” who leaves reviews. All Glassdoor reviews are completely anonymous – rightly so – and through the reviews that have been left we’ve received a balanced mix of feedback: both the things we are doing well, but even more importantly, the things we still need to be better at. I learn a huge amount from the reviews we receive, which is why I make a point of personally reading and responding to every single one. In response to your suggestion that “people are fired arbitrarily and often incorrectly for mistakes”: this simply isn’t the case. We have a fair and robust performance management process in place and would only ever dismiss an employee having explored every other possible option. Our contracts of employment are standard contracts drawn up by our legal partners – I can say with absolute confidence that they are both lawful and enforceable. The particular clause that you reference is entirely standard for a contract of employment with a business within the technology sector. To respond to your comments on overtime and pay and benefits: firstly, overtime is categorically not mandatory. There are a handful of teams where overtime is requested during certain peak periods of the year; I am aware of a number of occasions where employees have stated that they would not be able to carry out overtime, and we have always supported this. In respect of pay reviews, we review pay for all employees annually, including an organisation-wide salary benchmarking exercise in 2019 which resulted in substantial pay increases right across the business. From a benefits perspective, all employees receive a considerable number of funded benefits and can also select employee-funded benefits from a flexible benefits scheme which is well above and beyond what you might typically expect in an organisation of our size. Having said all of the above, I am genuinely grateful to you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback with us. Contrary to what you have suggested, we categorically do not seek to “artificially improve” the reviews we receive here; we listen to all of the feedback we receive and do, I hope, use it to continue to build a better business. Your suggestion that there is a “significant fear culture” is heavily contradicted by the anonymous feedback we receive from employees on a monthly basis through our internal feedback tool; employees consistently feed back that they feel able to voice their opinions and know that these are heard and responded to. I appreciate that you don’t feel that your time with us was overall a positive experience, and I am genuinely sorry to hear that as it’s in direct contradiction to the experience I strive to ensure all employees receive. I’d love to chat through your feedback in more detail with you to understand what else we might be able to learn, and so if this is something you’d like to do then please do email me at kathrynkendall@benefex.co.uk as it would be great to speak further. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  8. "Best company I have ever worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefex full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Open environment where you can share your thoughts and opinions whether positive or negative. A HR team that understands that life can interfere with work, and will fully support you to ensure that you can juggle work and home demands. Supportive management from the top to the bottom, when I have approached any of the management levels they have always been supportive and helpful. Great colleagues, Benefexers really are fantastic, there is a great team spirit and colleague work as a team to deliver.

    Cons

    It is not a fit for everyone, but you should see during the recruitment process if it is the right place for you. Benefex provides support to employees and opportunities, but you need to be responsible for your own development and growth and not expect someone to hold your hand all the time. (not sure this is a con really)

    Continue reading

    Benefex Response

    March 9, 2020

    This is great to hear, thank you so much for taking the time to log on and share your feedback - it's hugely appreciated. Agree completely that Benefexers really are fantastic! Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  9. "Love what you do and you'll want to do it everyday!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefex full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing office space, great people and the opportunity to work with some fantastic customers. Trusted and empowered by our leadership team to deliver. The flexibility and appreciation for 'real life' helps enormously and makes you want to consistently give them 110%. What you put in is genuinely what you get out, both from a cultural and personal development perspective. Never get that dreaded Sunday night feeling working for a company like Benefex - an all round amazing company to work for!

    Cons

    Workload can be fairly full on at times but there’s always someone you can go to for help and support. Definitely an 'open door' environment. Some growth operational challenges/opportunities which are in flight but nothing dis-similar to other technology service providers.

    Benefex Response

    March 2, 2020

    Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us, it's so appreciated and I am genuinely thrilled that your time here has been and continues to be so positive. We will continue to work hard to ensure we maintain an amazing employee experience for everyone who works here! Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

  10. "Friendly working environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefex full-time

    Pros

    Work varies everyday and an opportunities to work on multiple customers

    Cons

    Lower pay then other companies in this industry

    Benefex Response

    February 24, 2020

    Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us, we're very proud of our culture and our friendly working environment and so it's great to hear this is shining through. Re your comment on rates of pay, we continue to review pay for all employees annually and have been working really hard to ensure we have competitive salaries in place throughout the business. As you know, we are an accredited Living Wage Foundation employer; it's incredibly important to us that everyone who works for Benefex earns a true living wage, and it's an area that we will continue to focus on. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

Found 93 reviews