Benefex Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 119 of over 119 reviews

4.2
77%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Benefex CEO and Founder Matt Macri-Waller
Matt Macri-Waller
99 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing office space, great people and the opportunity to work with some fantastic customers(in 13 reviews)

  • "Benefex really is a great place to work(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Perhaps the recruitment process(in 3 reviews)

  • "team leaders and managers have no power to make any significant step (salaries, working hours etc(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fantastic

      Nov 17, 2021 - Project Manager in Southampton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company who care about their employees

      Cons

      At peak periods it can be very stressful but always feel like I am supported

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you very much for taking the time to share this feedback, it really is appreciated, and I'm so pleased to hear that you feel like even in our busiest periods you have the support you need in place. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Awful Company for Employee Well-being

      Nov 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great office and great people

      Cons

      The wages fo not correspond to the work requirement. Well below industry standard. Senior and board members talk a good game about employee wellbeing but are appalling at delivering it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback - I completely agree with you that our people are amazing. I appreciate that you're no longer with the business but I would always encourage any Benefexers with concerns over their salary to come and raise this with either their line manager or myself in order for us to discuss. In respect to your comment on employee wellbeing, I am genuinely sorry to hear that you feel this wasn't something we delivered on. It's something we take extremely seriously, and I am pleased to see that we clearly are making a positive impact with the majority of our people, as evidenced in our current employee NPS score of +32 for health and wellbeing, as measured through our anonymous employee feedback platform Peakon. That being said, I'd always ask for any employees with concerns regarding wellbeing to flag these immediately in order for them to be addressed. We are genuinely nothing without our people - and the wellbeing of those people continues to be an absolute top priority for not just myself but also for the wider Board and senior management teams. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Brilliant culture

      Nov 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Southampton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing people, great culture and engaging meaningful work. Being offered the choice to work from the office or at home is one of the best things and supports mental health choices for all.

      Cons

      Pay is less than some in the industry but compensated for by the teams, people and culture plus all the lovely things Benefex does such as Christmas boxes etc :)

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, it's hugely appreciated and I'm so pleased that your experience with us is such a positive one. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A company with a lot of promise

      Oct 5, 2021 - Product Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefex has a big vision and it start to make progress towards it. It's a place to be if you want to be involved in new markets and places to share new ways of working and implement them. It's great if you are proactive and enjoy an environment where you can be involved in change. Other good things include: - Friendly environment - everyone has been lovely - Great place to share good things which others have done. Customer News, shout outs etc. - Lots of opportunity to get involved in the company's progression/expansion - Great Development team who care about the quality of their work - Spotify way of working within Tech, with chapters and tribes. - Lots of communications from those at the top. Including weekly sessions where they run Q&As.

      Cons

      - As there is working from home, you have to be comfortable to ask people questions yourself. Everyone is very friendly

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, it's hugely appreciated. Great to hear that your experience with us has been such a positive one to date, like you we're hugely excited about our continued growth and future potential... it's a great time to be a Benefexer! Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fast growing and innovative

      Oct 19, 2021 - Customer Success Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Business cares about its employees and will give you the time and support if you need it. Autonomy to do the role - treated as an adult Everyone is customer focussed to give the best experience possible

      Cons

      Decision making can be slow Need to allow people to make decisions without thinking they have to get validation from the Board.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thanks very much for taking the time to share your feedback, it's really appreciated and it's great to hear all of the positives you have experienced during your time with us. I agree completely that there are times when we would benefit from speeding up decision making, and we're working hard to do just that and to ensure everyone in the business feels empowers to make the right decisions for our customers and for us as a business. If there are particular ideas you have about things we could be doing in this space then please do come and have a chat with me as I'm always keen to hear any feedback you or indeed any of our people have that helps to make our business an even better place to work :-) Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      So much potential, but expectations not met

      Oct 1, 2021 - Sales Associate in Southampton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture within my team Good interview process Initial training is great Good company Benefits

      Cons

      Career progression is minimal. Most employees will leave to competitors to enhance their career, whilst the company continued with hiring from outside the company instead of promoting internally. If you disagree with management, even if you have good ideas, you're gone Low diversity

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback, it's really appreciated. Completely agree that our culture is amazing, and I'm pleased that you benefitted from some of the training opportunities that we offer to all of our people. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't feel you had opportunities to progress with us. Progressing our people through the business is something that's really important to us, and I think we can point to a number of success stories where we've got employees who joined us at a junior level working within really senior roles within the business. Having said that, there's of course always more we can do and, to that end, we're currently looking at how we better articulate career paths through the organisation for people. I would wholeheartedly disagree with your statement "If you disagree with management, even if you have good ideas, you're gone". On the contrary, through our regular forums for feedback such as our weekly updates to all employees, and our monthly Peakon surveys, we positively encourage feedback and suggestions from absolutely everyone. That feedback isn't always easy to hear, but it's often that kind of feedback that we learn the most from. Categorically not the case that people disagreeing with their managers would be "gone" - being able to speak up and challenge is one of the traits we value most from our Benefexers. Finally, to touch on your point re diversity, while the diversity of our employee population continues to increase and better represent the diversity of our wider communities, I wouldn't disagree for a moment that there is still a huge amount of work to do here, particularly at the most senior levels. We're actively working to address this via our DE&I strategy and the activities and actions surrounding this. Thanks once again for sharing your comments, and all the very best with whatever you go on to do next. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Excellent Company, great atmosphere

      Jul 19, 2021 - Technical Senior Specialist in Southampton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, atmosphere, company ethos, people

      Cons

      Would love more encouragement or learning to be able to progress

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, it's really appreciated and I'm so pleased that your experience with us has been such a positive one. In respect to learning and progression, please do come and have a chat with me so that I can look at how we better support you with this - I'm always keen to ensure we have as many development opportunities as possible in place for our people. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Jun 7, 2021 - Administrator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The people are great and from day 1 make you feel part of the team. - The holiday allowance is generous at 33 days, plus your birthday off :) - Although I haven't visited them yet, the offices look amazing - There seems to be a lot of internal progression - Management really seem to genuinely care, asking for feedback through surveys regularly & employees can ask anonymous questions in bi-weekly company updates to the board team. - WFH has been hard on a lot of people, but I'm not sure there is anything specifically that Benefex could have done differently. There are regular check-ins, plenty of equipment has been provided and if you have any problems with equipment, it is dealt with swiftly. I genuinely feel really lucky to be part of a great team and to never dread work.

      Cons

      I can't think of any

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, I'm delighted to hear that your experience with us has been such a positive one to date. Completely agree that our people are amazing! Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Employer

      Jun 7, 2021 - Project Manager in Southampton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits Package Engaged Employer Training Work /life balance

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, it's really appreciated. Transparency is hugely important to us and we will definitely ensure we continue to prioritise that at all points as we continue our growth journey. Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      AMAZING!!

      Jun 7, 2021 - Consultant in Southampton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A company I'm really proud to work for. Great people and great products!

      Cons

      It can be long hours but really rewarding.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Benefex Response

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. Completely agree with you that both our people and our products are amazing! Kathryn Kendall, Chief People Officer

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 119 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Benefex Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Benefex? Share Your Experiences

    Benefex logo
    or