Acumen Reviews

Updated 10 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Acumen Managing Member  Thomas MaCurdy (no image)
Thomas MaCurdy
83 Ratings
Pros
  • "Interesting Projects and smart co-workers(in 12 reviews)

  • "Don't expect to learn any pick up programming or project management skills that reflect industry standards(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/Life balance is extremely difficult(in 22 reviews)

  • "Compensation not as good as other companies in the Bay area(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acumen for less than a year

    Pros

    great company to work for

    Cons

    nothing bad to say about this company

    Acumen Response

    December 8, 2017Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review!

  2. "Work in Acumen"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data and Policy Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Acumen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time. Salay increase every half year for the first two years.

    Cons

    Do not have a very good benefit packages

    Acumen Response

    July 15, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Our HR department is available to discuss benefits with you at any time.


  3. "Acumen LLC"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Acumen full-time

    Pros

    Fairly independent work, minimal unnecessary micromanagement

    Cons

    Salary, as well as work-life balance being "decent"

    Acumen Response

    June 29, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad to hear you had a positive experience working with us.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Policy Analyst in Burlingame, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acumen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fun project, location, culture, etc.

    Cons

    poor compensation, poor work life balance, strange hours

    Acumen Response

    March 30, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review.

  5. "Great starter job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data and Policy Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Acumen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is filled with incredibly smart and kind young people. There is room for growth. The DC office is comfortable and in a convenient location.

    Cons

    Management could be improved. A lack of transparency and the ranked culture cause miscommunication. Many people work long hours.

    Continue reading

    Acumen Response

    March 30, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review. Please know that our HR department is open to your feedback if you are experiencing miscommunication with your direct manager.

  6. "Former"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Acumen full-time

    Pros

    Nice location Some nice people Some really professional managers

    Cons

    Miserable salary Chaotic management Nepotism Shrinking benefits Good/bad work not accountable Incapable/jerky managers

    Acumen Response

    March 30, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review.

  7. "just fine"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Air Force First Lieutenant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Acumen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    near to san francisco airport

    Cons

    extremely low pay in bay area

    Acumen Response

    February 5, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Your title (Current Employee - Air Force First Lieutenant) makes us believe you have posted a comment for the wrong company. Thank you.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Avoid if you can"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data and Policy Analyst in Burlingame, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Acumen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Young, casual culture. Hire a lot of people right outside college

    Cons

    Managers are all promoted from within which is great for opportunity within the company, but terrible since a lot of them don't know what they're doing and can't leverage outside experience Hours are ridiculous for the low pay The good employees end up just getting all of the work and are eventually just burned out and they leave Toxic work environment. No trust at all CEO doesn't really seem to care. I was there for 3 Christmas parties and he attended 0 of them (at least I didn't see him or hear from him)

    Continue reading

    Acumen Response

    March 5, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for coming back after a year away and leaving us your feedback. A lot of changes have taken place in the last year resulting with many improvements. I'm sorry you didn't run into our managing member at the holiday party he attends each and every year.

  9. "growth and learning depends on team and manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 

    I have been working at Acumen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -opportunities to learn -friendly team -my manager was really great and really valued my growth and learning

    Cons

    -not a lot of great employer benefits -opportunities of growth really depends on the team you're in and your manager -not great work/life balance for poor pay and benefits -culture is team dependent so you can definitely have a good culture if you're in the right team; i was definitely lucky in terms of my team's culture

    Acumen Response

    February 5, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review. We're happy to hear your manager is great and you're happy with your team.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "difficult experience"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Tech 

    I worked at Acumen full-time

    Pros

    Interesting Projects and smart co-workers

    Cons

    little work-life balance and poor upper management. unwilling to be open to new ideas.

    Acumen Response

    February 5, 2020Recruiting Manager

    Your title (Former Employee - Computer Tech) makes us believe you have posted a comment for the wrong company. Thank you.

Found 151 reviews