Affinity for Business Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Affinity for Business Reviews

Updated 26 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Affinity for Business Managing Director Helen Gillett (no image)
Helen Gillett
16 Ratings
  1. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity for Business full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture, great people, enjoy being at work, brilliant around mental health and well being

    Cons

    The only thing would be there is not enough room for all employees to park on site!

    Affinity for Business2019-09-26

    Affinity for Business Response

    September 30, 2019Managing Director

    Thanks so much for taking the time to give this review, I'm so glad all those things are pros for you. I know what you mean about the parking, but hopefully the fair way we rote and allocate spaces means you do get to park on site pretty often thanks and best wishes Helen

    Continue reading
  2. "AfB brings a smile to my face ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager Level in Welwyn Garden City, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity for Business full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    AfB is an excellent organisation to work for - I have been impressed day after day. My previous experience is four other similar sized businesses in different industries. • What do you get on a professional level? a. Good balance of more formal corporate structures and a small business family spirit. b. Opportunity to work with a-grade strategic thinkers, inspirational leaders and bright, capable teams. c. Variety of experience ranging from staff with decades of utilities experience, others with deep transferable process knowledge from other sectors, and keen new staff with fresh ideas and perspectives. d. Sharp focus on excellent customer service. e. History of water utilities sector being a publicly owned service before privatisation, and still accountable to regulatory bodies, gives a positive not-for-profit "feel" or thread which the rest of the work is built on. f. Team meetings are well chaired, informative, engaging and everyone contributes thoughtfully and are clearly supported in doing so. g. Recruitment process and hiring managers obviously very effective at building cohesive, well rounded departments. h. Opportunity for development of staff seems to be encouraged. i. When people do move on to new challenges, it is not hushed up or swept under the carpet, it's announced properly, and they are wished all the best with genuine warmth. • The business feels completely Ego-free. What does that mean? a. No fragile personalities who are threatened by others intelligence, capability or individuality and will scrabble desperately to hold on to authority and power. b. No uncomfortable atmosphere that you are being watched or that someone is carrying around toxicity. c. No overbearing characters who like the sound of their own voice. People listen. • High level of emotional intelligence in the staff, which means: a. You feel so safe and reassured by the social environment that you can be yourself in completeness. You never feel judged, ridiculed, tentative, afraid or anxious to speak out. b. People are so open about mental health it's a revelation once you get over the societal frigidity of discussing such matters. c. Everything is transparent, nothing feels hidden from the staff. d. Everyone enjoys a laugh, I have not come across a single grinch or sourpuss yet. e. People are helpful and go out of their way to assist, from the simplest thing to more complex work issues. • Systems a. Modern, agile IT systems which are constantly being improved and are always on the radar for further development. b. Modern equipment. c. Solid and effective use of internal communications technology. • Facilities: a. Safe physical environment, tidy office. b. Nice clean modern kitchen area which everyone is responsible for. c. Good free coffee facilities. d. Breakout areas relaxing, well thought out and used extensively, greatly encourage socialising and own time if required. e. Calm room a great idea. f. Showers for sporty commuters. g. Parking rota a non-issue if you incorporate a 10-15 min walk into your day every now and then.

    Cons

    None as yet, will see what happens over next few years.

    Continue reading
    Affinity for Business2019-07-25

    Affinity for Business Response

    July 29, 2019Managing Director

    Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this amazing and detailed review. I can't tell you how good it feels to read it :-). You have highlighted so many things I am proud of at AfB, and some things that hadn't actually occurred to me. We will do our very best to keep building on all the great things that make AfB what it is. Thanks and best wishes Helen

    Continue reading
  3. "A great place with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Welwyn Garden City, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity for Business full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helpful and friendly colleagues. It is also very clear to see how much the staff mean to the company. We all work together, pulling in the same direction. One family, one vision. Although, I may benefit slightly from a higher salary, the one important thing this job has taught me, is that money isn't everything. I am very happy here. :-D

    Cons

    I would like to progress to another department in a main capacity not a supporting role, but due to the size of the teams, I do not know if such an opportunity will arise.

    Continue reading
    Affinity for Business2019-06-25

    Affinity for Business Response

    June 26, 2019Managing Director

    Hi, thanks so much for leaving this review, it’s great to hear. Progress is possible, maybe more of a challenge as we are a smallish business but not impossible. I’m always happy to chat through aspirations and be a sounding board so feel free to grab me for a chat. Thanks for helping make AfB what it is :-)

    Continue reading
  4. "Customer advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Correspondence Advisor in Welwyn Garden City, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity for Business part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked at Affinity Water and then Affinity for Business for 9 years now. In the whole time I have worked here, I felt there could be improvements. But since we have become Affinity for Business the changes and atmosphere has been phenomenal. The support I have been given can not been improved as it has been amazing. I enjoy my job and look forward to going in. The team at fantastic and the team leaders and senior management have been brilliant. I can not recommend it enough.

    Cons

    Parking is a issue but the Rota is very fair and to be honest it's not very hard to get a space near by if your willing to leave earlier enough.

    Continue reading
    Affinity for Business2018-11-06

    Affinity for Business Response

    November 7, 2018Managing Director

    Hi, thank you for writing such a lovely review! I’m so glad that we’ve been able to support you in the way you need - thanks for the hard work you you undoubtedly give back. We’ll do our best to keep doing what we have been doing. If you think of any improvements we could make, stick them in the feedback box in the kitchen, post on the Yammer group or drop me a line directly. Best Wishes Helen

    Continue reading
  5. "A Breath of Fresh Air!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Welwyn Garden City, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity for Business full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Office Environment Safe, friendly atmosphere with no politics, favouritism or bullying! Honest, current, fair and courageous management, led by Helen Gillett, with humility and great care for all staff. Helen communicates with all staff via weekly messages, monthly updates and 1-2-1 sessions. Good staff benefits, hot beverages and fruits are provided. Training opportunities are on offer for those willing to learn.

    Cons

    New company in it's 2nd year of trading, as a separate entity from wholesaler -Affinity Water. However, growing steadily in a competitive retail sector.

    Continue reading
    Affinity for Business2018-10-29

    Affinity for Business Response

    November 2, 2018Managing Director

    Hi, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. The pros you list are really great to read, not least because this is exactly the environment we are trying to build and maintain at AfB. As you rightly say we have challenges because we are a startup with a legacy and that can be tricky, but we are learning and will ‘keep on keeping on’ Best wishes Helen

    Continue reading
  6. "Best place I've ever worked in all aspects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Welwyn Garden City, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity for Business full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fair, work place is friendly, kind and caring. Not too big to care. Always things going on, never get bored. Everyone is involved. Staff are lovely. A big family. Culture & Values are fantastic. Care about staff & customers.

    Cons

    parking rota can be annoying for some people.

    Affinity for Business2018-10-26

    Affinity for Business Response

    October 26, 2018Managing Director

    Hi, thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review, I'm delighted that's how AfB feels for you - the culture and values are something we have worked hard on and will continue to prioritise. The parking rota... what can I say?! In the absence of enough spaces for everyone, it feels like the best answer. It beats other commutes/transport challenges. I had to go into London yesterday for a board meeting and was very glad I don't have to wrestle with rush hour trains and tubes on a frequent basis. AfB has walkers, cyclists, bus and train users as well as drivers, so I guess everything is a compromise at some level. Best wishes Helen

    Continue reading
  7. "Just as good two years on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bid Manager in Welwyn Garden City, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity for Business full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Two years on, Affinity for Business remains one of the best jobs I've ever had. The company offers: - Great opportunities to learn from a friendly, professional and exceptionally skilled team. - Excellent leadership team with the capability to see the big picture yet take time to hear everyone's needs - Positive and supporting about mental and physical health.

    Cons

    Like all organisations, it can be challenging to execute far reaching change.

    Affinity for Business2018-07-27

    Affinity for Business Response

    August 16, 2018Managing Director

    Thanks for taking the time to post this review. It’s really good to hear that the flush of enthusiasm in our early months of existence hasn’t ebbed away, but we have built something substantial together. I’m glad AfB feels this way to you, and the challenge on long term and strategic change is fair, something we’re always trying to improve

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Atmosphere, Great Culture, Great People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Welwyn Garden City, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity for Business full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All employees are friendly, welcoming and always happy to help. You feel like you can speak to anyone from any team/area of the business. Open and honest communication from senior management. Helen provides frequent updates to keep everyone in the loop and genuinely cares about her staff.

    Cons

    More car parking spaces needed but I know not much can be done at present.

    Continue reading
    Affinity for Business2018-07-05

    Affinity for Business Response

    July 6, 2018Managing Director

    Hi, thanks so much for taking time to post a review. I’m really glad that you feel that way about the culture - it’s only working if it feels real! We’ll do our best to keep the good work going, it’s down to all of us and I’m so proud of how we work as a team. Best wishes Helen

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity for Business full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people and Management are what makes it a great place to work

    Cons

    On site parking, but it seems to be a common issues in all work places

    Continue reading
    Affinity for Business2018-07-05

    Affinity for Business Response

    July 6, 2018Managing Director

    Thanks for the review and the support! I know, parking is a challenge we just can’t overcome (we’re good, but not that good!). I’m really glad you enjoy working in the team, we’re what makes it. Best Helen

    Continue reading
  10. "Brilliant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Welwyn Garden City, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Affinity for Business full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I never wake up and not want to go to work. AFB is a fantastic place to work and all of us play a massive part in that.

    Cons

    Can't park every day.

    Continue reading
    Affinity for Business2018-06-02

    Affinity for Business Response

    June 5, 2018Managing Director

    Hi, thanks for this great review, I love that you enjoy working here so much! Best, Helen

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 18 reviews