Agency EA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Agency EA Reviews

Updated Nov 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Agency EA CEO Gabrielle Martinez and Fergus Rooney (no image)
Gabrielle Martinez and Fergus Rooney
11 Ratings
  1. "a culture shift is needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Agency EA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great clients and mostly great colleagues Creative environment

    Cons

    The culture is odd. If you don’t drink the koolaid and aren’t seen as a “cool kid” then you won’t have the opportunity to grow in this company. The account services team beats up on everyone from creative to production and it seems that being rude is a qualification. Their is definitely a sense of favoritism that is apparent throughout the organization. The the focus isn’t on the culture and diversity or taking care of employees it’s on the public appearance and becoming a best place work (which we are constantly reminded to do and bribed with pizza) It seems cool maybe if you’re fresh out of school but for a creative environment it just doesn’t feel very warm and welcoming

    Continue reading
    Agency EA2019-11-01

    Agency EA Response

    November 7, 2019Director

    Thanks for your feedback regarding your experience at Agency EA. We agree that our colleagues, impressive client roster and creative environment are some of the best things about working at EA — and regret to hear your experience was not wholly positive. Since inception, we have prioritized culture and people, knowing that our strong team is the agency's greatest asset. Receiving recognition as a “Best Place to Work” is simply a byproduct of that. As the agency grows, we are realistic that our culture is constantly evolving as well. Despite inevitable change, our leadership team remains committed to evaluating and recalibrating our culture, process and work environment. As such, we take feedback like this into account as we continually optimize the employee experience. We always welcome the opportunity to have a direct conversation with all team members, past or present. If you have further detail you'd like to share with us, please don't hesitate to reach out at general@agencyea.com.

    Continue reading
  2. "Open, supportive, evolving work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Agency EA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Vibrant, energetic, hard working culture -Beautiful office space, convenient location -Impressive client roster -Strong benefits with new additions like 401K match -Management and leadership listen to feedback from their teams and make changes to improve the agency -Everyone has a voice

    Cons

    -Hard to know everyone well as the company has grown

    Agency EA2019-08-06
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Low Morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Agency EA full-time

    Pros

    - Cool Office - Interesting clients (if we don’t lose anymore) - Overall nice coworkers - You will be pushed hard and gain great experience for another job opportunity

    Cons

    - Management lacks leadership skills. You will hear them openly gossip about others at the agency and most of the people in a leadership position gained their role because more qualified people left. If issues arise, they do not know how to give tangible advice on how to work through it. - Reactive environment. Last year, we didn’t have enough staff to complete projects properly and turned down business, yet EA had time and money to launch a rebrand of the company that no one cares about, implement numerous useless software that hinder the workflow and opened + closed a California office. This year, we’ve lost clients and most people are miserable working here hence the mass exodus we’ve seen in certain departments. - “Training” is a joke.

    Continue reading
    Agency EA2019-07-15

    Agency EA Response

    July 25, 2019Director

    Thank you for sharing feedback about your experience working at Agency EA. We value the perspectives of all of our team members, and use feedback like yours to continually improve our workplace, culture and employee experience. In response to your comments, we realize it is rare and fortunate to be among the few agencies in our space that are able to be selective about the work we accept, while simultaneously investing in our business, people, tools, and brand to support sustainable growth. This valued attribute allows us to prioritize and protect our team’s capacity balance and ensure the quality of our existing work without the demand of adding more clients to our roster. As such, we are proud of our high client retention rate and low employee turnover, as well as the additional investments we're making in training and professional development this year. EA has long been committed to investing in our current employees, and one of the ways we do so is by promoting and hiring from within. When a need for a new role arises, we always start by looking internally and apply the usual rigor of evaluation against the individual's skill set and potential for the position. Ultimately, our goal is to create an environment that facilitates constant, real-time communication to enhance our workplace culture and employee experience. One of the best ways we can do so is by receiving open, honest and detailed feedback. To enhance this continuous dialogue, we invite you and all our team members to employ any of the best practiced resources we have in place including, but not limited to: •Open door policy — where all team members have access to managers, department heads and agency owners regardless of role, level or tenure •Office-hours with our owners — in the spirit and practice of transparency and access, these are set hours for all team members to be able to approach and engage directly with our owners on any manner of business topics •Advisory Forum + EA Assembly — Employee resource groups whose mission is to create, improve and maintain a positive work environment and consistent employee experience •Anytime Feedback Form — a year-round accessible, anonymous space to bring forward ideas, suggestions and challenges •Quarterly Check-ins and Annual Review — scheduled connections with your direct manager to discuss personal, departmental and agency accomplishments and opportunities •HR — ensures EA's most important assets, its human capital, is being nurtured and supported We invite you to elaborate on your review by utilizing any of the resources mentioned above, or contact us at general at agencyea.com.

    Continue reading
  4. "Exciting Year of Growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Team 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Agency EA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Able to work with top tier brands from moment you walk in - Google, Hilton, Samsung, Miller Coors and others - Everyone provides a voice and provides value to the team - true creative collaboration - Engaged owners and top executives - no task is too small for any member of the team. There is core entrepreneurial spirit. -Leadership is making necessary investments in inrastructure for stability in growth.

    Cons

    With growth comes change - sometimes fast, and sometimes slow. At times this can be hard to manage. Some people thrive in this time of change, some employees find this challenging.

    Continue reading
    Agency EA2018-12-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunities for Growth, Exploration of Interests"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Agency EA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Welcoming environment - The 'why' behind tasks is clear - Application of skills in tasks that benefit overall team and company goals - Development of skills in platforms such as Salesforce and Google Analytics - Opportunities to present to Marketing and Business Development Teams - Leadership adjusts assigned tasks to cater to intern's interests - Cross-departmental training - Opportunities to attend brainstorms and thought leadership initiatives - Opportunities to network with team members in other departments - Leadership acknowledges and values intern work and opinions - Rich company culture with hardworking and dedicated employees

    Cons

    The intern program is new so there are still adjustments and improvements to be made but nothing stood out as a con to the overall experience.

    Continue reading
    Agency EA2018-09-27
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Run while you can."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Agency EA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The office is clean and professional looking. It’s possibly an upside that you’ll get experience because the turnover is so bad.

    Cons

    Fergus Rooney the managing partner, is the main con and the cause of all the agency’s problems. Rooney mocks and insults every person in the agency. He screams during meetings because nothing is ever good enough. This causes unbelievable turnover and leads to work attended by freshmen with no experience scrambling. Then, because the work falls behind, he insults and screams even more. Thus, the majority of the agent life is spent on a pathetic and unnecessary goal: how do we avoid being yelled at for an hour? You only survive if you can sit there and take verbal punishment while admitting how wrong and dumb you are. And, to make it even worse, Fergus acts as if he is the event industry’s gift from God and has grandiose illusions about his agency’s greatness. In sum, 99% of my coworkers were miserable and planning on leaving as soon as possible. That will be you, if you work here.

    Continue reading
    Agency EA2018-09-18

    Agency EA Response

    September 24, 2018Director

    Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of agencyEA. We take all perspectives and opinions into account as we continually seek to improve the agency. We regret to hear your experience was negative. We are proud of EA's low 13% annual turnover rate, compared to the 30% industry average, as well as our recognition as a Best Place to Work by Crain's, AdAge and Event Marketer, which is determined and awarded based on company-wide employee surveys. We welcome the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience and feedback, at general@agencyEA.com.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "AgencyEA is a great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Agency EA full-time

    Pros

    Unique working environment that promotes collaboration, personal growth, and varying perspectives to ensure completion of projects with high attention to detail. Flexible scheduling, great benefits, great pay, and management that is eager to grow the company.

    Cons

    Work/Life Balance difficult with the fast-paced, quick turnaround environment, however, management is proactive to offer comp days and flexible scheduling. Initial integration in to the office requires outgoing and strong personalities.

    Agency EA2018-02-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great, collaborative environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Producer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Agency EA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company and cultural! Open and collaborative workplace.

    Cons

    Not for the shy types

    Agency EA2018-02-05
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Poor business practices."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Agency EA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a nice looking office.

    Cons

    Cult-Like work atmosphere, poor business practices, back stabbing mentality, husband-wife run show.

    Agency EA2018-01-30

    Agency EA Response

    February 2, 2018Manager

    Thank you for sharing feedback about your experience working at agencyEA. We are always looking for ways to enhance our workplace culture and employee experience, and one of the best ways we can do so is by receiving open, honest and detailed feedback from our team members. We invite you to elaborate on your review by contacting us at general@agencyEA.com.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Happy and Hardworking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Agency EA full-time

    Pros

    AgencyEA is by far the happiest and most flourishing environment in which I've had the privilege to work. I was a bit hesitant to join an agency, as agencies and the industry itself inherently involve long hours and stressful situations. But agencyEA fosters a culture that allows these long hours and situations to strengthen and deepen employee relationships and build up employees and their skills in a positive way. The agency puts a huge focus on their employees' well-being, contentedness, and career growth. People are celebrated and thanked for their contributions. This makes it easy to contribute whole-heartedly at work, as you can trust agencyEA to never exploit their employees. There is overwhelming positivity and teamwork throughout the office, which makes coming to work a joy. I look forward to continuing to grow and thrive at agencyEA.

    Cons

    --Occasionally long hours -- Tight-knit culture that can initially be intimidating, but the majority of team members are warm and welcoming -- Very fast-paced, which may be a con to some people

    Agency EA2017-06-23
Found 22 reviews