Aker Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Aker Solutions Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
70%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Aker Solutions CEO Luis Araujo
Luis Araujo
157 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "No upgrate to title even after getting charterdx6"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent people Great location Good opportunity

    Cons

    Not enough recognition Need more training budget Low salaries

    Advice to Management

    More focus on young engineers

    Aker Solutions2018-10-25
  2. "Good company but not in Aberdeen anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and work /life balance and Gym use.

    Cons

    Aker Aberdeen is basically moving all project based work from Aberdeen to Reading, Brazil and Malaysia so there is basically no security of working there any longer. Management aren't interested in the people only the numbers. No training is given to anyone who joins the company. Internal jobs are always filled before interviews are done, internal politics to keep jobs amongst friends/family. There is no... career opportunities either but if you offer to move to Reading you will get a promotion just because they need the experience down there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Any advice I could give is too late, the Reading hub has been a disaster and now all the experience from Aberdeen has gone Aker finds itself in a very vulnerable situation for controls work moving forward. By the time they try to fix the problem it will be too late. KPIs from Reading get fudged every week to look like they are meeting requirements, any kind of reasonable audit on PO dates and production plans from... that plant would show the true worth of on time delivery and it would be horrendous.

    Show More
    Aker Solutions2019-11-11
  3. "Aker Solutions in UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aker Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Established & strong presence in Subsea Production Systems, emerging digitalisation offerings

    Cons

    Struggling to maintain traction within Facilities Production Services in UK

    Advice to Management

    Leverage core business Norwegian relationships to strengthen offereings in UK

    Aker Solutions2019-10-25
  4. "Good team but poor development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aker Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Good team spirit. Values and company ethos are very strong. Aspires to a high level of employee satisfaction, high standard of work

    Cons

    Poor market fitness to win viable work. Much effort with little rewards. Some errors of direction attributable to poor management, stemming from confusion at a senior level whether the company in the UK should be the same as in Norway, or should be what the market requires in the UK.

    Aker Solutions2019-10-21
  5. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Engineer in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, health care, pension, dental.

    Cons

    Very poor management, detached from the rest of the workforce, they appear to be clueless.

    Advice to Management

    Engage with employees and stop thinking about yourselves.

    Aker Solutions2019-10-17
  6. "Quality Assurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aker Solutions

    Pros

    I worked in a nice office which had a gym and good coffee, not much else to report though

    Cons

    How long have i got? Zero longevity, Zero career progression, There is a club you need to get into in order to survive, tendency to shout at employees and take the huff at the slightest problem, constant battles within my department and other departments for territory and where we belong structurally, torrid political climate of face fits. Its not a great place to work however there are unique pockets of great... people with great talents.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clear the decks and recruit professional people.

    Aker Solutions2019-10-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer - Subsea in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people on the coal face are amazingly dedicated and talented. They want to succeed.

    Cons

    Nepotism everywhere you look!! Truly unbelievable. The management seem to want the workers to fail! Bringing in weak management, hiding behind letters after their name and qualifications. They now as a result put more emphasis on these things than talent!!

    Advice to Management

    Clear out engineering management from Snr Manager up. Recognise talent.

    Aker Solutions2019-10-09
  8. "Aker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are many benefits here.

    Cons

    Learning on the Job only

    Aker Solutions2019-06-15
  9. "Great Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible. Great Work/Life Balance. Great Gym

    Cons

    None that i can think of

    Aker Solutions2019-06-13
  10. "Wasted Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexi hours good. Holiday entitlement good. Some good colleagues. This 1 percent keep this company going.

    Cons

    Where do I start: As an experienced hire you were automatically viewed as the help as you were not aker through and through. No training. just OJT. When training was requested, swiftly denied. Training made mandatory as part of yearly performance review. When assigned a training course, management would quickly reject the request and at the end of year review your performance would be marked down for not... completing training. Every bit of training had to be done by myself via the internet and books (bought myself). There were some colleagues who were willing to help but this was few and far between. You had to be rude, abnoxious, aggressive or the teachers pet to get ahead. Promotions and recognition were based on connections and an alpha male attitude. Qualifications and performance forget it. Backstabbing and infighting between departments was common. This led to morale being low. Technical innovations pinched by senior management and handed to favourites. Poor renumeration. Pay cuts were common where management increased core working hours without consultation. If you didnt like it you were shown the door(this was during the oil crisis to force people into quitting or into voluntary redundancy). Reviews were a joke. Not uncommon for staffers to spend a month doing their yearly appraisals because management had no idea what their staff were working on. Inefficient in how tasks were executed. Half of it could have been automated but that would have cut their profits by half. Not to mention people. Zero appreciation for a job well done. Once the oil crisis hit then the environment became unbearable. Those comments above, they were in the good times.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you're looking for experienced hires don't hire them as permanent staff. The pay is poor, we have zero chance of progression unless we turn into someone we don't wanna be, zero training, zero chance of progression, every mistake is highlighted and locked into memory where every positive result is quickly dismissed as the "minimum expectancy of an aker employee", aker babies hate our guts cause we have differing... opinions, ideas, methods and problem solving skills to their regimented aker only way of thinking. We get treated like contractors. So just hire contractors.

    Show More
    Aker Solutions2019-07-12
Found 651 reviews