Aker Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Aker Solutions Reviews

Updated 11 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 619 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Aker Solutions CEO Luis Araujo
Luis Araujo
148 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "ncia de plano de carreira efetivo e ainda existe muito apadrinhamento(in 24 reviews)

  • "Falta oportunidades internamente, pessoas com falta de preparo gerenciando pessoas e equipes(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "No upgrate to title even after getting charterdx6"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent people Great location Good opportunity

    Cons

    Not enough recognition Need more training budget Low salaries

    Advice to Management

    More focus on young engineers

    Aker Solutions2018-10-25
  2. "Aker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are many benefits here.

    Cons

    Learning on the Job only

    Aker Solutions2019-06-15
  3. "Great Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible. Great Work/Life Balance. Great Gym

    Cons

    None that i can think of

    Aker Solutions2019-06-13
  4. "Wasted Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexi hours good. Holiday entitlement good. Some good colleagues. This 1 percent keep this company going.

    Cons

    Where do I start: As an experienced hire you were automatically viewed as the help as you were not aker through and through. No training. just OJT. When training was requested, swiftly denied. Training made mandatory as part of yearly performance review. When assigned a training course, management would quickly reject the request and at the end of year review your performance would be marked down for not completing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you're looking for experienced hires don't hire them as permanent staff. The pay is poor, we have zero chance of progression unless we turn into someone we don't wanna be, zero training, zero chance of progression, every mistake is highlighted and locked into memory where every positive result is quickly dismissed as the "minimum expectancy of an aker employee", aker babies hate our guts cause we have differing opinions,...

    Show More
    Aker Solutions2019-07-12
  5. "Good people, poor work ethic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer 

    I have been working at Aker Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, the people, flexible hours

    Cons

    Below average salary, lazy staff, no training whatsoever

    Aker Solutions2019-06-16
  6. "Racist Smiling Assassins"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Projects in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was a good company to work for once upon-a-time with high-tech facilities in their main offices.

    Cons

    Everyone seems to be looking out for their own skin, especially in the UK and Norway offices. White dominated by far and ethnic minorities were the 1st to get axed when redundancies started in London in early 2017. The leadership and HR are more-or-less all white and have deliberately targeted ethnic employees. I've heard evidence that in one instance HR and a line manager were laughing as they made someone redundant...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read these cons over and over again and do something about it. Reach out to some of those that you made redundant. Stop blaming the so-called oil & gas industry downturn for your failures. The industry isn't doing bad.

    Aker Solutions2019-05-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sadly do not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aker Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment Chiswick Park, however work environment in office is more of whos your drinking buddy culture so its not what you can do or what you know its which manager you suck up to hold your job..

    Cons

    No investment into employees, not taking onboard employee concerns, quick to make redundancies to the point business is full of managers and no people left to do the work!!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees.

    Aker Solutions2019-03-20
  8. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Aker Solutions full-time

      Pros

      Great place to work.

      Cons

      No clear progression path for professional development. However, if you do a great job, you will get noticed and get recognised.

      Aker Solutions2018-12-28
    • "Ups and downs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Aker Solutions full-time

      Pros

      Relaxed atmosphere (dependent on team); pleasant office environment; flexible working; some helpful colleagues.

      Cons

      Volatility in global oil and gas market has generally caused a protectionist attitude.

      Aker Solutions2019-01-09
    • "Product Quality and Integrity Frequently Compromised to achieving contract functional deliverables"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aberdeen, Scotland
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Aker Solutions full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Provides a sound education and insight in to how Projects and Support should NOT be executed.

      Cons

      May limit your future career opportunities to working within other (under performing) companies that have similar management qualities and corporate culture.

      Advice to Management

      Time to deliver (consistently) systems that are not dependent on concessions. ie systems that perform reliably and according to contractual specification from day 1 in the field.

      Aker Solutions2019-01-22
    Found 619 reviews