Archant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Archant Reviews

Updated 13 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 98 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Jeff Henry
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very flexible in working hours and great people to work with(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good staff canteen serving a range of hot meals and salads, and a food trolley comes round in the middle of the afternoon if you need a snack(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior Management have no idea how to keep a steady workforce(in 11 reviews)

  • "Terrible hours, no progression, likely to be made redundant(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Archant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Invested in training and development. Great HR department

    Cons

    Low salary and no added benefits

    Continue reading
    Archant2019-04-05

    Archant Response

    May 20, 2019Group Recruitment Manager

    So pleased to hear this and thank you for the feedback. I have listed the standard benefits we offer below - what other ideas do you have always wanting to improve what we do? • Full 25 days paid holiday + statutory bank holidays • Cycle to Work scheme • Annual Volunteer day • Archant Gold – matched charity fundraising • Give As You Earn – tax-free charity giving scheme • Access to reductions in many retail stores throughout the UK – holidays, supermarkets, utility bills, clothing, household, 1000s of ££ savings

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Teams, often poor higher management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Manager in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Archant full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, lovely products, fab subjects, nice advertisers

    Cons

    Often poorly managed from on top.

    Continue reading
    Archant2019-08-13
  3. "A good company to start at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Reporter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Archant full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Supportive environment - Great learning base as a trainee reporter - Puts your through you NQJ examinations - Regular training opportunities

    Cons

    - Lagging behind technology wise at times - Feel a lack of opportunity to progress

    Continue reading
    Archant2019-08-03
  4. "Very up and down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Archant full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Colleagues, Location, Office, Reach, Scale

    Cons

    Management, senior management, CEO, Directors

    Continue reading
    Archant2019-07-06
  5. "A mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Archant full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having worked for Archant for nearly 20 years, I've seen plenty of ups and downs. I think Archant as a company is struggling to reassert its authority over local audiences as print becomes more and more of a loss leader; the company was slow to embrace digital media and is still paying the consequences. The current CEO and leadership team is having a real go at turning things round; the company is investing heavily in infrastructure and technology, and the internal communications and perks/benefits have improved greatly in the past couple of years. It's difficult to give an overview of the culture and values as it's such a diverse company, but in my experience management were generally empathetic and there was a good culture of team working. Many of my colleagues have become good friends.

    Cons

    Salaries are still well below the industry norm; traditionally demand for jobs at Archant has always outstripped supply, therefore low wages have been synonymous with Archant ever since I joined.

    Continue reading
    Archant2019-05-22
  6. "Reporter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reporter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Archant full-time

    Pros

    Staff are friendly and dedicated. They take their jobs seriously and work long, unsocial hours purely for the love of the job.

    Cons

    Old-fashioned approach to career progression. Promotions are dictated entirely by the NCTJ. Terrible pay and benefits. Sweat shop journalism.

    Continue reading
    Archant2019-05-11

    Archant Response

    May 20, 2019Group Recruitment Manager

    The editorial team here do an amazing job and work so hard. I genuinely believe we pay industry standard for these roles and perhaps the whole industry needs an overhaul.

    Continue reading
  7. "Digital Transformation Period"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in London, England
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Archant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Archant is going through a digital transformation period which means it has invested heavily in training all staff in digital. It is an exciting place to work if you are looking to grow your digital knowledge and understanding.

    Cons

    During times of change, there will always be employees who struggle to adapt meaning the process gets delaying or not work efficiently.

    Continue reading
    Archant2019-05-02

    Archant Response

    May 20, 2019Group Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your balanced review. You are right and the further changes made in 2019 only go to echo this. Claire Alcock Group Recruitment Manager

    Continue reading
  8. "A good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntingdon, England

    I worked at Archant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to use personality as well as skills to be an effective field sales agent

    Cons

    Some staff turnover issues but this was a few years ago.

    Continue reading
    Archant2019-03-17

    Archant Response

    May 20, 2019Group Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write this I am glad to hear that you had a positive experience with us. Claire Alcock - Group Recruitment Manager

    Continue reading
  9. "More management than staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Archant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were some excellent people working here, and thanks to my manager being very good, I learnt a lot while working here.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay, constant threat of redundancies, the company kept cutting staffing levels without reducing output.

    Continue reading
    Archant2019-02-28

    Archant Response

    May 20, 2019Group Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. So glad you had a great team around you and manager who obviously developed your skills and knowledge. There have been lots of changes announced April 2019 which hope to address some of the negatives you felt. Sorry you are not around to feel the benefit of those. Claire Alcock - Group Recruitment Manager

    Continue reading
  10. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Warrington, North West England, England

    I have been working at Archant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good autonomy Good commission Good training

    Cons

    Cut backs of staff Product weak

    Continue reading
    Archant2019-02-07

    Archant Response

    May 20, 2019Group Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your balanced review and taking the time to do this. Claire Alcock - Group Recruitment Manager

    Continue reading
Found 98 reviews