Argento Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Argento Reviews

Updated 10 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
27%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Argento CEO Pete Boyle
Pete Boyle
10 Ratings
  1. "Great all round!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Office Worker in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Argento full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great environment. Good work/life balance. Understanding management right up to senior level. Great relationships and respect between all staff. Management are very fair and look after staff.

    Cons

    Lack of Male Jewellery :o.

    Advice to Management

    None required

    Argento2019-09-03
  2. "Okay for a part time job, not long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Argento part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    depending on manager it can be quite flexible, laid back work place

    Cons

    High labour turnover depending on management style

    Advice to Management

    motivate employees better and understand that there is more to a customer's shopping experience than ATV.

    Argento2019-12-10
  3. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Argento full-time

    Pros

    Generous staff discount, friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Wages are not great, can be stressful

    Argento2019-09-03
  4. "Part Time sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Argento part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Discount Not a dirty Job

    Cons

    Really didn't enjoy working here Poor management who spend most of their days up stairs and playing the system No support from head office or management with constant questioning Pay is rubbish and not omission based No support with the amount of abusive and rude customers from management. They always under cut you when you're trying to state a policy to the customer, so why have the policy at all? No... management in late nights or Sundays making it difficult when you have aggravated customers and no authority.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Support your employees more, be present on the shop floor and not up stairs all day. Be transparent about things and do not get involved in petty gossip

    Argento2019-07-10
  5. "Argento"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Argento part-time

    Pros

    Once you pass probation you receive really good discounts on all the brands. Each month you have the chance to receive a bonus if your store meets its target. Staff incentives

    Cons

    Lack of training, minimum wage no overtime or time and a half for working extra hours at christmas or on boxing day etc. Management dont tend to back you if a customer complains. They tell you to enforce a "no refunds" policy then as soon as someone complains just tells you to give them the refund.

    Advice to Management

    Support employees when it comes to false customer complaints, provide better training, treat people like people rather than a number.

    Argento2018-10-23
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Argento full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely team at store level, with many continuously going above and beyond despite their poor wage. Jewellery easy to sell (pandora).

    Cons

    Area management. Unprofessional with constant acts of nepotism, this company has negatively affected my confidence as a result of area management, lacking in people skills and compassion.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that the employees in upper/area management positions have the genuine ability to work with others and show compassion and understanding in situations. This personality is just as important as professional experience to such a job.

    Argento2018-03-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Argento part-time

    Pros

    There is none at all

    Cons

    Was treated so poorly by manager and staff, was hired for Christmas and told we would be trained as other girls were also hired with me. I was thrown into the job having to figure out codes during busy hours and customers getting annoyed, having to explain to them I was only new. Staff were two faced and when I tried to talk or share my concerns, I was talked to sarcastically. Was never shown the greeting to answer... phone and had to figure it out on my own and was never shown how to put nomination charms together, I had to figure everything out at Christmas time when the store was full and customers getting impatient because I was not trained at all. Was made to feel bad asking for help when I couldn’t find a certain code and was holding everyone up which shattered my confidence completely. My work hours where scattered and never the same every week which was hard to keep up but I did anyway. Never work here or you will be a nervous wreck

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your employees and teach managers to stop talking about other employees on how pretty or ugly they are. I can’t believe I put myself this low to work here

    Argento2018-03-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Argento full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great shop floor team who put their all into the job despite lack of acknowledgement from area management and low pay rate.

    Cons

    Upper management (out with stores) were unsupportive, displayed constant nepotism and unprofessional in sensitive matters,

    Advice to Management

    Choose the right senior management who have people skills, tact and understanding,

    Argento2018-03-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Underpaid and Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Argento full-time

    Pros

    Don't feel there are any pros

    Cons

    Pay is abismal; no commission. Advancement is fine for those favoured by upper management but if you aren't or haven't been with the company long despite having years of previous experience, you are overlooked time and time again.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees; they make the money for you. Upper management get huge bonuses and perks while those working on the shop floors are treated awfully

    Argento2017-02-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Very friendly staff. Everyone was always really well dressed. Overall it was a really good experience working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Argento part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff is friendly No uniform Get to show off your fab jewellery from the store. Decent discount for the stores

    Cons

    Often you may not get as many hours as desired but hat didn't bother me as 8 hours was more than enough for me being a student

    Argento2016-09-07
Found 20 reviews