Argento Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Argento Reviews

Updated 28 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

1.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
20%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Argento CEO Pete Boyle
Pete Boyle
7 Ratings
  1. "Very friendly staff. Everyone was always really well dressed. Overall it was a really good experience working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Argento part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The staff is friendly No uniform Get to show off your fab jewellery from the store. Decent discount for the stores

    Cons

    Often you may not get as many hours as desired but hat didn't bother me as 8 hours was more than enough for me being a student

    Argento2016-09-07
  2. "Argento"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Argento part-time

    Pros

    Once you pass probation you receive really good discounts on all the brands. Each month you have the chance to receive a bonus if your store meets its target. Staff incentives

    Cons

    Lack of training, minimum wage no overtime or time and a half for working extra hours at christmas or on boxing day etc. Management dont tend to back you if a customer complains. They tell you to enforce a "no refunds" policy then as soon as someone complains just tells you to give them the refund.

    Advice to Management

    Support employees when it comes to false customer complaints, provide better training, treat people like people rather than a number.

    Argento2018-10-23
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Argento full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely team at store level, with many continuously going above and beyond despite their poor wage. Jewellery easy to sell (pandora).

    Cons

    Area management. Unprofessional with constant acts of nepotism, this company has negatively affected my confidence as a result of area management, lacking in people skills and compassion.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that the employees in upper/area management positions have the genuine ability to work with others and show compassion and understanding in situations. This personality is just as important as professional experience to such a job.

    Argento2018-03-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Argento part-time

      Pros

      There is none at all

      Cons

      Was treated so poorly by manager and staff, was hired for Christmas and told we would be trained as other girls were also hired with me. I was thrown into the job having to figure out codes during busy hours and customers getting annoyed, having to explain to them I was only new. Staff were two faced and when I tried to talk or share my concerns, I was talked to sarcastically. Was never shown the greeting to answer phone...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Train your employees and teach managers to stop talking about other employees on how pretty or ugly they are. I can’t believe I put myself this low to work here

      Argento2018-03-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "N/A"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Argento full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great shop floor team who put their all into the job despite lack of acknowledgement from area management and low pay rate.

      Cons

      Upper management (out with stores) were unsupportive, displayed constant nepotism and unprofessional in sensitive matters,

      Advice to Management

      Choose the right senior management who have people skills, tact and understanding,

      Argento2018-03-15
    • Helpful (2)

      "Underpaid and Overworked"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Argento full-time

      Pros

      Don't feel there are any pros

      Cons

      Pay is abismal; no commission. Advancement is fine for those favoured by upper management but if you aren't or haven't been with the company long despite having years of previous experience, you are overlooked time and time again.

      Advice to Management

      Value your employees; they make the money for you. Upper management get huge bonuses and perks while those working on the shop floors are treated awfully

      Argento2017-02-15
    • Helpful (3)

      "Argento Lisburn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Argento part-time

      Pros

      The jewellery is nice

      Cons

      The managers are absolutely awful, they do not motivate you and If anything bring you down. Told me it would take 6 months to get used to the store and barely gave me a chance after a week,

      Advice to Management

      Fire all and get new ones.

      Argento2016-08-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "OK"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Argento

      Pros

      Management were generally very friendly

      Cons

      Extremely low wage, no incentives to stay

      Advice to Management

      Increase wages to be competitive in the marketplace

      Argento2016-07-08
    • Helpful (7)

      "Look Else where for a pleasant employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Argento

      Pros

      The customers.simply. Nothing else; at all.

      Cons

      The worse company i have ever worked for. Shady management, horrible people who are more concerned with micro management than getting a job done. two faced, cold , unprofessional place to be . No customer focus. customer service is amongst the worst I've witnessed across any company i have ever worked for . All in all 95% of the experiences i had there where amongst the worst in my working life; and this was from day...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      There are no words.

      Argento2016-01-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "Avoid"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Argento

      Pros

      Not alot of pros to be honest. Staff turnover very high. Staff discount is good - averages at 70% off - customers get very badly ripped off

      Cons

      Upper management constantly giving themselves pay rises yet hardly even in office. Stupid management, no flexibility and so many clueless staff.

      Advice to Management

      Give pay rises, stop giving promotions to same people every year. People always complain about having too much to do yet nothing gets done.

      Argento2015-06-13
    Found 14 reviews