Atom Bank Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 of over 51 reviews

3.8
63%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Atom Bank CEO Mark Mullen (no image)
Mark Mullen
32 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place to work with a great management team

    Apr 23, 2021 - Regional Business Development Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic team to work with all feel appreciated and also great pay, great benefits,

    Cons

    no downside unless you don't like a constantly changing fast-paced working environment

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Atom Bank Response

    Internal Recruitment Lead

    Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review - we really appreciate it! We’re glad you feel appreciated, and we certainly do appreciate you as part of the Atom family. Every person plays a key role in ensuring Atom’s continued success in the business. We’re keen that our benefits package is appealing and reflects the needs of our people, meaning we remain competitive, ensuring we continue to attract the best people. Thanks again for taking the time to leave your review and for your continued hard work. Our people are the reason Atom continues to achieve great things!

  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Avoid the contact centre

    Jul 10, 2021 - Customer Support Agent in Durham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent work culture, small but effective team, used the be a great place to work.

    Cons

    FAR too much stress for what they pay you. Terrible management who care more about getting new products out than the well-being of staff or customers. There is a reason why 10+ people have quit in the last few months You are lied to No career opportunities if you are a good CSA, they just want to keep you there. If you are a CSA, you will not be able to get involved with any of the meetings/events going on around the business. As you are glued to your desk. Long hours that drag on.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    AVOID

    Jul 10, 2021 - Customer Support Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can’t think of any pros to working at Atom.

    Cons

    • Terrible management who lie to CSA’s constantly. •No career progression, you need to jump through hoops to get something you deserve and have worked for but make ‘exceptions’ going outside the policy for certain individuals. If you have a policy, stick by it. • HR are utterly useless, you will need to wait a month to get a simple reply and then they still don’t solve the issue. •HR department need some actual training to actually deal with employees issues •Emails for social events and late starts are sent to everyone with a ‘please note’ attached disregarding all contact Center workers. These emails are sent to all front line workers knowing we can’t attend any of these social events. •Contact Center staff and highly underpaid and under appreciated by all parts of the business. •Other departments are rude to contact Center workers and put their workload on the Skelton staff • The tech team and unable to solve any app issues and the business just focus on reviews and new products instead of fixing the actual issues with their app. •During busy periods management add a ridiculous amount of unneeded stress onto CSA’s. We are constantly told how my calls are queuing even though they know everyone is busy. •If Atom sort their issues out everyone in the contact Center won’t be depressed. Contact Center works need more appreciation and support. •There is a reason half the contact Center has left, including people who have worked their for 3+ years. •There is far too much unneeded stress put on CSA’s. •We had a feedback form sent every month which was anonymous and we could put our comments about work on. But when we did management would add comments disregarding what issues were brought up and did nothing about the issues raised.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place to work with some problems

    Jul 5, 2021 - Test Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great benefits, good atmosphere, friendly people, nice office

    Cons

    tech staff underpaid, executive management, lack of progression

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    North-east, good benefits, mixed tech stack. Feels more like a like a traditional bank with an app not a digital bank.

    Nov 13, 2020 - Software Engineer in Durham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Some great people at the company, there's a small contingent of people running the bank - Lots of cloud-native technologies being used in pockets within the bank - Health benefits, pension, overtime are good, potential bonus also good, although was 0 for my time there - Great progression/rotation in other parts of the business into technology, lots of instances of CSAs being upskilled/trained into other roles. - Nice office (pre covid), northeast based. Play room, beer friday and fruit 2x a week

    Cons

    - The technology department is not Agile, favouring waterfall (but actively advertises it in job postings etc) - Limited time/opportunity for learning other than "on-the-job" - Enormous amount of technical debt due to project timelines and and "get it in" and "fix it later" attitude and no plan/will to address - The bank has moved from one "Bank-in-the-box" platform to a different one, the large part of the integration work with the new platform is now done and therefore there is limited scope of interesting engineering work IMO. - Technical/engineering decisions are often dictated by management - Clarity (and timeliness) of business requirements for projects are a large pain point - No real upward progression path for Engineers, upward salary band is limited when comparing against remote roles

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Atom Bank Response

    Internal Recruitment Lead

    Hi there, thanks for leaving your review on Atom. We appreciate all feedback! We’re glad to hear you think we have great people here at Atom, we certainly think so too. We’re also proud of our office, the Atom family home, and the benefits package we offer. We like to reward our people well for all of their amazing work. Internal progression is important to us, whether that be progression in your chosen field, secondments into another area of the business or a permanent move into a totally new role. We’re not a large organisation with ‘traditional’ pathways however, we do support people in their development and of course, there are definitely opportunities! We’ve supported 49 people in secondments and permanent moves this year alone. We encourage all of our team to continuously develop so we’re sorry to hear you felt you didn’t have time to develop yourself, although we would also have hoped that you raised this with your Coach at the time. We’re moving towards a more agile way of working across the organisation training our teams as we go. We do work with third parties too where we sometimes need to flex our approach to ensure effective working and this may not always be truly agile. However, we are creating and delivering great things. Our Engineering and Technology teams are working on a cloud-native banking platform using Golang, Kafka, ReactJS, and native mobile languages. Anyone who is interested in knowing more about our technology and what we’re getting up to can visit https://www.atombank.co.uk/about-us/technology Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    ***

    Apr 22, 2021 - Team Leader in Durham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great managers, supportive development overall

    Cons

    Changes too quickly and lacks direction

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Atom Bank Response

    Internal Recruitment Lead

    Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review - we really appreciate it. It’s great to hear your ‘pros’ of working for Atom. We really value our employees, as well as our managers and we certainly think they’re great! We support individuals on their own development journey and like to promote internally and create opportunities when we can. Thanks again for taking the time to leave your review and thanks for your continued commitment to Atom.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Most fun place I've ever worked.

    Mar 10, 2021 - Engineer in Durham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Never been a boring day since I started working here. -Interesting projects. - Lots of freedom. - Great people.

    Cons

    Project deadlines are sometimes a bit unrealistic.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Atom Bank Response

    Internal Recruitment Lead

    Hello :) Thanks for taking the time to leave your review on working at Atom - we really appreciate it! We definitely agree with Atom never having a boring day - we’ve got great projects going on and we like everyone to be involved in these as much as possible. We encourage individuals to be themselves when they come to work at Atom and that brings out the best in people and in turn, brings about the best ideas. We know we have great people here and we like to make sure they feel rewarded for their hard work and contribution. Sometimes our deadlines are tight but we’re pushing the boundaries of fintech development and sometimes it takes a little extra effort working together as a team. Keep doing what you’re doing too, you’re a hugely important part of our family and you are continuing to make Atom a success!

  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    OK

    May 13, 2021 - Business Analyst in Newcastle, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice people, too much to do

    Cons

    Keep changing priorities, no clear strategy

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company to work for

    Mar 10, 2021 - Resource Planning Analyst in Durham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Staff development, culture, prospects, the mission to deliver a bank of the future

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Atom Bank Response

    Internal Recruitment Lead

    Hi there, Thanks for leaving your review on working at Atom. We’re glad to hear you think we’re a great company and enjoy our culture. We like to think we offer great opportunities for our people to develop which in turn helps our success! Thanks again for leaving your review and thanks for all your hard work!

  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Could have been amazing...

    Mar 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Durham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the best people I have ever worked with, people who genuinely care about their colleagues and the company. The premise is great, the culture USED to be great...

    Cons

    Awful culture. Massive pressures to overwork/work-life balance very limited. No career progression. No annual salary reviews. Poor bonus scheme. Boys club exists within Senior Management.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Atom Bank Response

    Internal Recruitment Lead

    Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review on your time at Atom bank. We’re glad you enjoyed your time working with our fantastic people, we certainly think they’re great! As with most companies, we’ve had to adapt in the last year and this has had an effect on the company’s culture, however, we’ve tried hard to work around this. It’s been a challenge however, we’ve added a few little Atom surprises throughout the year to keep spirits up and have worked with teams in sharing good practice on what it has meant to keep the Atom culture alive throughout the pandemic. We do at times offer overtime or as some of our team to work extra to help us out, but we do pay our people for their time which is 2x on a weekend and 1.5x on evenings. We’re pushing the boundaries of fintech development and sometimes it takes a little extra effort working together as a team to achieve great things! Our bonus scheme is there to reward individuals for their hard work throughout the year and based on individual performance. We think it’s competitive however, we’re happy to take your feedback onboard. Good luck in your next role!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews

Popular Careers with Atom Bank Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Atom Bank? Share Your Experiences

Atom Bank logo
or