BG Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BG Group Reviews

Updated 26 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 249 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
BG Group CEO Helge Lund
Helge Lund
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with great people with a shared desire to succeed above what we should have done given the modest size (for an oil company)(in 13 reviews)

  • "Overall Good work environment, Work life balance except sometime it can be really screwed, Global culture(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not always a good work-life balance(in 9 reviews)

  • "No longer here having been taken over by Shell, was a bit cliquey , not so good on diversity, some management were a bit complacent(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "BG Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BG Group full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work, reward, colleagues, management

    Cons

    very intensive on occasion, with high workload

    BG Group2019-03-08
  2. "Very successful medium size company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Exploration Manager in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BG Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, friendly collaborative environment Sound business model

    Cons

    Bloated middle management structure - too much deadwood

    Advice to Management

    Move more to a functional organisation

    BG Group2019-04-26
  3. "Geophysicst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Geophysicist in Reading, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BG Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people like a family, technically good, wide variety of work, responsibility from early in career with good graduate development programme.

    Cons

    No longer here having been taken over by Shell, was a bit cliquey , not so good on diversity, some management were a bit complacent

    Advice to Management

    a bit late now

    BG Group2019-02-28
  4. "Best Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geologist in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BG Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Dynamic , technological driven , good environment

    Cons

    Defined benefit pension scheme was canceled

    BG Group2019-01-31
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at BG Group full-time

      Pros

      This is a great place to work

      Cons

      None really - this is a great place to work

      BG Group2019-01-24
    • "Good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at BG Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Generally my colleagues were a good bunch of people. - Reasonably flat organisational structure compared to other companies I've worked for - At best, you would be working on big projects and having a real say in the outcomes

      Cons

      - Work was not always interesting

      BG Group2019-01-08
    • "Was good place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Reservoir Engineer in Reading, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at BG Group full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      was allowed to do the way you think is right

      Cons

      HQ was closed due to Shell take over

      BG Group2018-12-23
    • "Small but perfectly formed company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BG Group full-time

      Pros

      great progression opportunities, great benefits; onsite gym

      Cons

      location out of london; inflexibility on working practices

      BG Group2018-10-22
    • "Rewarding experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BG Group full-time

      Pros

      Excellent international opportunities, exposure to wide range of projects and senior management decision making.

      Cons

      Location with office based in a reading.

      BG Group2018-09-19
    • "Great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Treasury Analyst in Reading, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BG Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very good work balance, interesting projects, good internal and geographical mobility

      Cons

      Can be a little slow including decision making

      BG Group2018-08-20
    Found 249 reviews