BIS Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BIS Reviews

Updated 23 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
79%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
BIS Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills Vince Cable
Vince Cable
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of interesting policy areas to work in, work-life balance was fine and it wasn't too bureaucratic for government(in 4 reviews)

  • "work-life balance, interesting work that directly affects lives(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay stagnant as elsewhere in the Civil Service(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Would definitely recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at BIS

    Pros

    Bis have been great for me and have found me many jobs. Harriet who looks after the temps department is always lovely and helpful and fast to respond to any queries or problems I might have. Would definitely recommend.

    Cons

    No cons I can think of.

    BIS2018-04-06
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Executive Officer in City of Westminster, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BIS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good range of pay and salary

    Cons

    Rude management that doesn’t value staff

    BIS2020-03-24
  3. "Good flexible working employer with interesting and challenging work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEO Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BIS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support flexible and home working Interesting and challenging work Good Senior Leadership Team

    Cons

    Wages are low with little chance of progression Can still be a bit of an old boys network

    Continue reading
    BIS2019-03-07
  4. "Ok in parts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BIS full-time

    Pros

    Some great colleagues on my team OK lunches which were subsidised Great location Diverse in terms of workload Easy to progress by box ticking

    Cons

    Very haphazard since merger, with two systems in operation. Not so flexible in reality HR is always a long and complicated process No strategy for workload balance in place

    Continue reading
    BIS2018-09-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A Shambles do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BIS full-time

    Pros

    Cannot think of any positives from being employed by this department.

    Cons

    Incompetent senior managers Cannot manage with objectives and treat colleagues as friends when work quality is poor. Turn a blind eye to poor performance Bullying from some members of senior management towards less senior staff Very little resources. No dynamic energy Unequal treatment to staff on other contracts Not a very motivating environment Dull work

    Continue reading
    BIS2018-01-23
  6. "Good in many ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BIS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Variety and interest of work Dedicated colleagues

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for progression. Pay stagnant as elsewhere in the Civil Service

    Continue reading
    BIS2017-10-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources - Fast Strem, Secondments & Apprenticeships in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BIS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working at BEIS. The staff are really friendly and the team I worked in was really warm and friendly. My manager was really good and made me feel welcome. I joined BEIS from the Ex DECC side as was the only person in my team from that side of the organisation. The rest of my team were recruited from the Ex BIS side.

    Cons

    One of the downsides I would say is Salary. Turnover within the organisation is very high and I do not believe anything has yet be done to measure exactly why this is the case.

    Continue reading
    BIS2017-08-11
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BIS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Varied roles, frequent changes. Great social life amongst graduates Would definitely recommend.

    Cons

    Work can be scraped/irrelevant at times. Politics can sometimes get in the eayb

    BIS2017-07-09
  9. "Law. What Law?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Accounting and Control in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BIS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    For seven years I had a fantastic time. The work was hard but fair and the methodology behind the organisation was spot on. Fellow staff and senior management were supportive, challenging and prepared to listen and guide.

    Cons

    After the introduction of austerity the culture and values disappeared overnight. Bullying and discrimination by senior management (even as far as the minister and permanent secretary) became rife and in its attempts to get rid of percieved troublemakers / whistle blowers, breaking employment laws and procedures was not a hurdle (proven).

    Continue reading
    BIS2017-07-10
  10. "Policy Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BIS full-time

    Pros

    Interesting learning how policy gets made, lots of formal Learning and Development opportunities and the work-life balance is fantastic, with flexible work hours.

    Cons

    HR department is rubbish so joining processes took a long time. People switch roles a lot which isn't ideal for continuity of the projects

    Continue reading
    BIS2017-05-22
Found 49 reviews
</>Embed