BIS Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BIS Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
BIS CEO Vince Cable
Vince Cable
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 2 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay stagnant as elsewhere in the Civil Service(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Would definitely recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommends

      I have been working at BIS

      Pros

      Bis have been great for me and have found me many jobs. Harriet who looks after the temps department is always lovely and helpful and fast to respond to any queries or problems I might have. Would definitely recommend.

      Cons

      No cons I can think of.

      BIS2018-04-06
    • "Good flexible working employer with interesting and challenging work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - SEO Specialist in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at BIS full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Support flexible and home working Interesting and challenging work Good Senior Leadership Team

      Cons

      Wages are low with little chance of progression Can still be a bit of an old boys network

      Advice to Management

      give realistic expectations of salary (i.e. don't advertise salary as a range)

      BIS2019-03-07
    • "Ok in parts"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BIS full-time

      Pros

      Some great colleagues on my team OK lunches which were subsidised Great location Diverse in terms of workload Easy to progress by box ticking

      Cons

      Very haphazard since merger, with two systems in operation. Not so flexible in reality HR is always a long and complicated process No strategy for workload balance in place

      Advice to Management

      HR system needs to be changed, very difficult to get information after you have left. Not enough chance to progress in some roles whilst staying within the same team which means team knowledge is often lost.

      BIS2018-09-08
    • Helpful (2)

      "A Shambles do not work here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at BIS full-time

      Pros

      Cannot think of any positives from being employed by this department.

      Cons

      Incompetent senior managers Cannot manage with objectives and treat colleagues as friends when work quality is poor. Turn a blind eye to poor performance Bullying from some members of senior management towards less senior staff Very little resources. No dynamic energy Unequal treatment to staff on other contracts Not a very motivating environment Dull work

      Advice to Management

      Address the bullying Tackle bad management Address weak senior managers Create a more inclusive environment

      BIS2018-01-23
    • "Good in many ways"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BIS full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Variety and interest of work Dedicated colleagues

      Cons

      Limited opportunities for progression. Pay stagnant as elsewhere in the Civil Service

      Advice to Management

      Recognise the talent of all staff, not just those who came through DTI/BERR

      BIS2017-10-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Amazing Place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Human Resources - Fast Strem, Secondments & Apprenticeships in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at BIS full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      I really enjoyed working at BEIS. The staff are really friendly and the team I worked in was really warm and friendly. My manager was really good and made me feel welcome. I joined BEIS from the Ex DECC side as was the only person in my team from that side of the organisation. The rest of my team were recruited from the Ex BIS side.

      Cons

      One of the downsides I would say is Salary. Turnover within the organisation is very high and I do not believe anything has yet be done to measure exactly why this is the case.

      Advice to Management

      Management need to start researching and benchmarking salaries across Civil Service!

      BIS2017-08-11
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at BIS full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Varied roles, frequent changes. Great social life amongst graduates Would definitely recommend.

      Cons

      Work can be scraped/irrelevant at times. Politics can sometimes get in the eayb

      BIS2017-07-09
    • "Law. What Law?"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Head of Accounting and Control in Birmingham, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BIS full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      For seven years I had a fantastic time. The work was hard but fair and the methodology behind the organisation was spot on. Fellow staff and senior management were supportive, challenging and prepared to listen and guide.

      Cons

      After the introduction of austerity the culture and values disappeared overnight. Bullying and discrimination by senior management (even as far as the minister and permanent secretary) became rife and in its attempts to get rid of percieved troublemakers / whistle blowers, breaking employment laws and procedures was not a hurdle (proven).

      Advice to Management

      You will easily recognise who I am and I have not forgotten my treatment by you. At the moment the employment laws will not support my challenge due to the changes made by the coalitition but a watching brief is continuing. You're policies were illegal and boarded on ageist and I can only hope to prove this eventually.

      BIS2017-07-10
    • "Policy Advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at BIS full-time

      Pros

      Interesting learning how policy gets made, lots of formal Learning and Development opportunities and the work-life balance is fantastic, with flexible work hours.

      Cons

      HR department is rubbish so joining processes took a long time. People switch roles a lot which isn't ideal for continuity of the projects

      Advice to Management

      Try to improve the quality of people in HR, make sure young dynamic people have incentives to stay

      BIS2017-05-22
    • "Account Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Manager in Coventry, England
      Recommends

      I worked at BIS full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good promotion opportunities, salary and employee benefits

      Cons

      Regular restructuring and downsizing of civil service departments led to frequent redundancies

      BIS2017-05-19
    Found 44 reviews