Best Version Media Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Best Version Media Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
95%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Best Version Media Chief Executive Officer Dave Durand
Dave Durand
227 Ratings
Pros
  • "The employees at BVM are great people to work with(in 103 reviews)

  • "Best Version Media offers great education to help you get started as a magazine publisher(in 72 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay is 100% commission so without success BVM can be very tough(in 45 reviews)

  • "People will think you are crazy for 'working for free' to launch a magazine(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best version of a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Publisher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time

    Pros

    The level of autonomy to run your OWN business with the support of Best Version Media is definitely a pro for a self starter who knows how to get the job done without a “boss”- but the support you will receive from others in the company is consistent and effective.

    Cons

    This job wouldn’t be right for someone who needs to punch a clock and be told what to do. You need a high level of conviction and a desire to help your community.

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2019-11-09

    Best Version Media Response

    November 11, 2019Media Relations

    Thanks for the great review! We LOVE hearing from our people!

    Continue reading
  2. "Extremely Supportive and Welcoming Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Publisher in Clarkston, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I just started working with BVM, and already feel like part of the family. Every level of management is supportive and encouraging - every step of the way. I couldn't ask for a better opportunity with a better company!

    Cons

    I have no cons to share at this time.

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2019-11-09

    Best Version Media Response

    November 11, 2019Media Relations

    We strive to provide every Publisher with the support they need to be successful. Thanks for the awesome feedback!

    Continue reading
  3. "Good job but have to be willing to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Good So Far 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time

    Pros

    - make your own schedule which is nice

    Cons

    -commission only so no hourly pay

    Best Version Media2019-11-18
  4. "Never have I been so excited for a new job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Publisher in Rockwall, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is outstanding and highly guarded by the community of BVM. There is so much flexibility, as I have an evening job and plan to do this during the day. The potential for long term financial security is outstanding.

    Cons

    None that I can see

    Best Version Media2019-10-30

    Best Version Media Response

    October 31, 2019Media Relations

    Thanks for the great review!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Good job for people who don't need money and are looking to pass time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Publisher in Minot, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High income earning potential, work your own hours, good culture.

    Cons

    No paycheck for 3-12 months with 'tiny' spiffs to meet goals along the way. You sell advertising spaces into a magazine and once you hit a certain quota you finally get a commission on a percentage of any advertising you sell above it. The issue is how long it takes you to get to the quota and they don't pay you in the meantime. So it's only feasible to do if you got enough money in the bank to handle such a long time with no pay.

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2019-10-31

    Best Version Media Response

    November 1, 2019Media Relations

    The BVM Publisher opportunity is not for everybody, but it's very worthwhile for those who can handle the challenges that come with it.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Turnover ..but it's sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good leadership ..good chance to make good money...

    Cons

    Listen I've worked at cutco....N2 and best version... Fact is the product renewal is aweful ;once captive long-term contracts are over.Thats nobody's fault..just not a good model for the customer.Top neighborhoods with wealth don't look at magazines for their clients;it's silly actually to think a millionaire and his wife are gonna make decisions from a neighborhood magazine..Really think about it

    Best Version Media2019-10-30

    Best Version Media Response

    October 31, 2019Media Relations

    BVM magazines are one of the most powerful advertising tools for local businesses. Our advertising strategies are effective because they take a repetitive, long-term approach that places each one of our clients in front of a relevant audience on a monthly basis. Our magazines have found great success in hundreds of communities across North America.

    Continue reading
  7. "An opportunity like no other! Not for the complacent or comfortable!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Publisher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely everything! Nothing in life comes easy and BVM provides you all the tools, training, support, and guidance like I've never seen before. Integrity is a huge part of their culture and they only spend time elevating peoples growth rather than putting them down. I can go on and on but it is a true blessing to be part of this company and culture. -great commission - flexible schedule (you put in what you get) - great tools and resources to help you be successful. - great staff and management -unbelievable team

    Cons

    I cant think of any ....honestly.

    Best Version Media2019-10-20

    Best Version Media Response

    October 21, 2019Media Relations

    We love hearing from our Publishers! Thanks for the great feedback!

    Continue reading
  8. "Genuine people and real culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operation Salvo in Brookfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The absolute best culture I have ever experienced. First class people throughout the organization. They keep their word.

    Cons

    They move too fast sometimes.

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2019-10-17

    Best Version Media Response

    October 18, 2019Media Relations

    Thanks for the kind words! We're happy you enjoyed your time with BVM and had the chance to experience our outstanding culture. We wish you the best of luck moving forward!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    work at your own pace flexible hours

    Cons

    no french starter options no learning tools minimal information provided to get started

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2019-10-29

    Best Version Media Response

    October 30, 2019Media Relations

    We pride ourselves in working with Publishers of all backgrounds and experiences and we strive to equip every Publisher with the necessary resources it takes to build a highly successful business.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "An Amazing Opportunity with Wonderful People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Manager in Groton, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A positive culture of support, encouragement, and opportunity. Everyone supports one another, and is there for you in good times and bad. A regular 5 day work week.

    Cons

    While it might be the best sales job in the world, it's still sales. You need to put in the time and the work. You need to follow the system. Prospects will be rude and nasty. Not all, but some. You need to let it roll off your back. You get what you earn. That can be six figures if you earn it, but you must earn it. They'll teach you what you need, but you need to follow what they teach.

    Best Version Media2019-09-16

    Best Version Media Response

    September 17, 2019Media Relations

    Thanks for the review! Market Managers are so important to BVM. We completely agree that hard work pays off in a big way here!

    Continue reading
Found 264 reviews