Bishops Printers Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 12 reviews

2.7
41%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Bishops Printers Managing Director Gareth Roberts (no image)
Gareth Roberts
7 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Bishops Printers

    Feb 11, 2020 - Office Manager in Portsmouth, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good working environment, lots of perks and incentives available. Progression opportunities and decent training

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Bishops Printers Response

    Managing Director

    Thank you for you review (although I am sure that there are some 'cons' that you have been too kind to mention!) I do think that highlighting the progression available is an important message though, so thanks for raising this aspect. It is one of the things that gives senior management most satisfaction; looking at the individuals who have joined the business and really made a difference, both to Bishops and their own careers.

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Outdated business principles, unpleasant experience

    Feb 21, 2021 - Sales in Portsmouth, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No delays with pay Some experience gained in print by nature of the company’s industry position

    Cons

    The company insists on preserving an outdated work culture. When I was there in 2020 there was no sick pay, only the legal minimum holiday allowance was given, and there was a strict dress code even for non-client facing roles. Mistakes were punished with a £200 deduction to bonus, which led to a toxic culture of blame and blame avoidance rather than a supportive culture. I witnessed management (both upper and middle) talking down to employees (in front of everyone) in an extremely condescending (and arguably downright abusive) manner. Several of my colleagues were reduced to tears on a regular basis. Coffee was charged for. Eating at one’s desk was forbidden. Management refused any flexibility at all with lunch hours (medical appointments mean one must book holiday). Sales staff were sent a tally of the number of calls everyone in the department had made that day. If you hadn’t made enough your line manager would shout across the table at you to step it up. The genuinely quality employees tend to leave fairly quickly. If you find yourself in the unfortunate position of having to take a job at this company, I’d suggest you use it as a stepping stone and be aware that the company will be trying to squeeze everything it can out of you with no regard for your well-being or career prospects. Colleagues who worked on the “shop floor” reported to me that taking any lunch break was frowned upon.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Unfulfilled Potential.

    Feb 3, 2021 - Sales in Portsmouth, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You are employed and have a salary.

    Cons

    It is only through leaving and working somewhere else that I realise what a negative effect this company had on me. Staff turnover was incredibly high, morale with staff was always at a low and there is a LOT of office politics. What benefits there were to working for this company were, to me, far outweighed by the negative aspects. I had been spoken to like a child, left work every night scared of being reprimanded if I made the smallest error, unable to shut off, and communication interdepartmentally and between staff and management left a lot to be desired. Overall I saw a lot of toxicity on a near-daily basis. I felt anything but appreciated and valued as an employee and I know that I wasn't the only one to feel such a way. It has taken me a long time to write this review as I don't want to come off in any kind of over the top manner but I would not wish for anyone I know and care about to work here. They may well say that things have improved but I know of people that would argue differently.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Factory

    Apr 13, 2020 - Factory Floor in Portsmouth, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Your not unemployed, that's the only thing I can say.

    Cons

    The worst company I have ever worked for. Talk about modern day slavery. Don't listen to that 5 star review, that was done by a puppet. Underpaid, over worked, I look at some people and think, is this legal? People work so many hours that they are now under minimum wage. Maybe someone should report them. Expected to work until you drop, even if SERIOUS circumstances are going on behind the scenes. That's why this company are successful, people are made to suffer because there aren't many jobs around Pompey. They don't have a choice. I wonder how many years I will be here before I look twice my age, won't be long. The factory air quality is shocking, no room for raises and one department has been absolutely stripped due to management. We get shouted out even if we still late to finish a print job because of something going wrong. Even things like coffee isn't free, at least in prison you get that.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Bishops Printers Response

    Managing Director

    This is a very distressing review and some of the points raised do need a very serious response. Nobody in the business ever receives less than minimum wage and naturally the vast majority of employees are on much more than this rate. Any additional hours are always paid at an overtime rate. We have been certified by SEDEX as a fit and proper employer with good working standards and practices. We have long serving members of staff throughout the factory and both noise and air checks are done regularly to ensure we maintain high safety and hygiene levels. If you have indeed been an employee for more than three years, under the apparently terrible conditions you describe. then I am sure GlassDoor will help you secure a move .... even in Portsmouth where there are more opportunities than you suggest (and we know employees have a choice which is why your review causes such distress). Equally, if you are a genuine current employee and want to improve the business then do feel free to have a constructive and confidential conversation with your manager or HR, and be part of 'the solution' in these challenging times (but regrettably the coffee still won't come for free, as it did when you were incarcerated!)

  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A company that treats their staff poorly

    Jun 24, 2019 - Print Finisher in Portsmouth, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great investment in new machinery

    Cons

    Staff treated badly - no benefits, no perks.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Bishops Printers Response

    Managing Director

    Thanks for leaving your review , although it is frustrating not to understand more of your criticisms. We have definitely invested heavily throughout the factory in our equipment but it is the people operating this great kit which makes us what we are. I'd like to think that the number of long serving staff (and the number that leave but then ask to return!) make me believe that we're getting a lot right, but your reminder is well received and if there's anything specific we should know, do feel free to email HR in confidence, thank you.

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Fast growing company, but no idea how to look after its employees.

    Apr 4, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overtime is always on offer.

    Cons

    A job without company benefits. 12 hour shifts without breaks is exhausting.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Bishops Printers Response

    Managing Director

    Apologies that my response to this review is a bit belated (we weren't really previously aware of this forum). Worth me saying though, since comments about twelve hour shifts come up elsewhere, that shift patterns do come with breaks and that they are also always under review. Do please also remember that even in the print and finishing departments (the only departments where twelve hour shifts exist) that the working week is never more than 42 hours and paid commensurately (there is a lot of time away from work on this shift pattern!)

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    bishops

    Feb 19, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Secure job future if required

    Cons

    Lack of respect to floor staff

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company to be a part of

    Nov 18, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Portsmouth, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Modern and forward thinking. Great rewards for hard working people. Great opportunities to progress if you want it. Continual investment in the latest equipment and not afraid to make changes when required.

    Cons

    Communication isnt great but moving in the right direction e.g. monthly newsletter

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Printer

    Sep 8, 2015 - Printer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good secure job ,is fast pace but rewarding running all the latest presses well established company that promotes from within Tcompany does supply a on site chiropodist to help with being on your feet 12 hours a day

    Cons

    Some times employees can get lost in the background as it is a very figure orientated company long hours on your feet

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    It's hard work, but I like it!

    Jul 15, 2015 - Sales in Portsmouth, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay. Good holiday entitlement. Plenty of free parking and close to bus stop. Good bunch of people to work with. Hard work is rewarded. Hour for lunch. There is some fun stuff; 5-aside football, occasional football hospitality and recently there was a prize draw for theatre tickets. Staff representative committee meets regularly and has instigated quite a few improvements.

    Cons

    Long working day by modern office standards. Staff room needs a major overhaul (supposed to be happening but don't know when. No air conditioning. Internal communication isn't great, but recent management restructuring seems to be improving things.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Popular Careers with Bishops Printers Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Bishops Printers? Share Your Experiences

Bishops Printers logo
or