Buyagift Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Buyagift Reviews

Updated 20 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Buyagift CEO Dan Mountain (no image)
Dan Mountain
27 Ratings
  1. "A fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buyagift full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for Buyagift is fantastic. Everyone is really motivated and the team is always so encouraging. They really look after the staff such as coffee machines, pool tables, beers on fridays and for every event throughout the year they always have something fun for everyone. They love charity which is great and give you 5 days to do any form of charity you want to do. The hours are great 9.-5.30. Everyone is really... helpful and understanding. Great work life balance. Great pension and health care plan. Massage fridays is an extra treat aswell. Love driving to work instead of getting the train plus it wasnt long soon after i started that i got a parking space.

    Show More

    Cons

    No bonus scheme for employees. Early friday finishes. flexi hours.

    Advice to Management

    Sort out a bonus scheme.

    Buyagift2018-12-04
  2. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buyagift full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, lots of perks, including; flat biscuit Tuesdays, breakfast Wednesdays, classes etc. Growing fast

    Cons

    Progression might be a little slow depending on your department

    Buyagift2019-10-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Buyagift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Buyagift full-time

    Pros

    - Discount on products - Some customers are lovely! - CEO is LOVELY and one of the nicest and most sincere people you will have ever met. - HR team is wonderful and helpful!

    Cons

    - Extremely cliquey ESPECIALLY at events, it makes it hard to communicate with people outside of your department. - Some staff get special treatment based on how long they've been there or when liked by supervisors - Not enough training provided on the system and when asking a question, one particular supervisor was quite rude when you had an issue, hence why people often went to the other.

    Advice to Management

    Please don't come across cliquey. This was of course ONLY in my department, other departments seem to get along fine.

    Buyagift2019-01-22
  4. "Exciting company with a great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Borehamwood, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buyagift full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ever growing company with a lot of resources and a well known brand. Company provides access to a lot of tools and learning opportunities that allow you to grow in your role quite quickly. There's no strict hierarchy and you can showcase your ideas directly to senior managers and get them implemented relatively quickly. Colleagues are very motivated and also fun to be around. No backstabbing or power games. We sell... exciting products and we can try them ourselves - loyalty is rewarded with £100 towards experiences each year. We have every possible entertainment available (pool table, darts, arcade machine, table tennis, table football, xbox etc.) and we have regular events at the office (Pizza Fridays, beer o'clock, massage fridays, charity events, bake sales etc.). Quite a generous benefits package - great pension scheme, very good health insurance, subsidised gym memberships, enhanced maternity policy (18 weeks paid), childcare vouchers etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    No company wide bonus scheme, location for people who don't live nearby (journey from he train station is approx. 15 min), people are not encouraged to work from home.

    Buyagift2018-11-29
  5. "Great atmosphere and progression opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buyagift full-time

    Pros

    Great team Freedom to get things done Successful business Fun product Lots of social events Funky offices

    Cons

    Location isn't great Systems should be updated

    Buyagift2018-11-02
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buyagift full-time

    Pros

    Fun and friendly, great offices, pizza friday and massage fridays! plus friday afternoon beers. fast paced company where everyone knows their specialism

    Cons

    not everyone has a parking space and it's a 10 minute walk to the station - not too bad but not so good in the rain!

    Advice to Management

    following the acquisition of red letter days there are a lot of new people - some event or way of getting to know who is who would be good

    Buyagift2018-10-30
  7. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEO Content Manager in Saint Albans, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buyagift full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Really friendly working environment - Fruit Wednesdays - Massage Fridays - Plenty of socials throughout the year with 2 big ones in summer/Christmas - Lots of training and support provided - Nice modern offices

    Cons

    - No flexible working hours

    Buyagift2018-10-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The Wonderful Carol Smith"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Borehamwood, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buyagift full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Since working here I have had a great experience and Carol Smith has been a fantastic support through this. She really looks after us and as a new employee has made me feel extremely welcome.

    Cons

    Cannot think of a one

    Buyagift2018-10-23
  9. "Buyagift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Borehamwood, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buyagift full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Massage Fridays Social Events Family Friendly Massage Friday Always something fun going on! Everyone works hard towards the success of the company Rewarded for hard work

    Cons

    No working from home Not much flexibility on hours worked etc. You tend to be micro managed

    Advice to Management

    Only employ people that you trust and then trust those people to work hard and allow more flexibility.

    Buyagift2018-10-31
  10. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buyagift full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work as long as you get on with your job they treat you like an adult!

    Cons

    A little small for good career progression

    Buyagift2018-05-11
Found 32 reviews