Chester Zoo Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Chester Zoo Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chester Zoo CEO Dr. Mark Pilgrim (no image)
Dr. Mark Pilgrim
8 Ratings
  1. "Seasonal Catering Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chester Zoo

    Pros

    There couldn't be a more welcoming group of individuals to work with.

    Cons

    Shift patterns change - not useful for planning.

    Chester Zoo2019-08-02
  2. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Food and Beverage Staff 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chester Zoo for more than a year

    Pros

    +good hours +good pay for summer job +interesting work place

    Cons

    -sometimes management didn't know what they were doing

    Chester Zoo2019-11-07
  3. "Food and beverage assistant job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chester Zoo part-time

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, smooth application process.

    Cons

    Irregular breaks, on your feet a lot

    Chester Zoo2019-10-08
  4. "Others had a better experience but wouldn't recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Chester, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Chester Zoo part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get a good discount, free entry to the zoo, get to say you work there and if you luck out in the hours you can survive the winter on your savings without having to work until you're hired again next year.

    Cons

    The environment in retail area I had worked in was pretty horrible, the work itself wasn't bad even if the conditions could be improved whenever it's hot/cold and since it's a zoo they can't really guarantee hours for the seasonals if the zoo isn't busy enough to obviously need them.

    Chester Zoo2019-07-01
  5. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Catering Assistant in Chester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chester Zoo part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for first job

    Cons

    sometimes had to work long days

    Chester Zoo2019-02-11
  6. "Seasonal Food and Beverage Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chester Zoo part-time

    Pros

    Friendly team, very supportive and have a great training process.

    Cons

    No opportunities to stay on after summer season. Higher management are quite impersonal.

    Chester Zoo2019-01-15
  7. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Food and Beverage Assistant in Chester, England

    I have been working at Chester Zoo for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Decent pay for every age - Guaranteed work

    Cons

    - No room for progression - No reward system for working hard - No loyalty

    Advice to Management

    - Reward for loyalty and hard work for the company, like making employees full time, or salary pay. - Better internal promotions.

    Chester Zoo2019-01-17
  8. "Interpretation Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Interpretation Officer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chester Zoo for more than a year

    Pros

    25 free tickets allocated to each employee for family and friends per year Reduced gym membership offer Reclaim medical costs Get free gifts at Christmas (wine) and Easter (chocolate egg)

    Cons

    None other than contract employment

    Chester Zoo2018-08-15
  9. "Long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chester Zoo part-time

    Pros

    The people you work with are the best, made friends for life. They're flexible with the days you work. During summer it's busy so days go fast.

    Cons

    Long days - would start at 8.30 and get a 30 min break around 10.30/11 then work right through until 5-7 depending how busy the park was. On hot summer days temperature in kiosk would be 30 degrees and you have to wear cargo pants, boots and no time to even grab a drink of water.

    Chester Zoo2018-07-02
  10. "good seasonal work for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Chester Zoo

    Pros

    good seasonal work for students

    Cons

    Expected to work most weekends

    Chester Zoo2018-05-16
Found 21 reviews