Close Brothers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Close Brothers Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Close Brothers CEO Preben Prebensen (no image)
Preben Prebensen
65 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Incredible amount of (unwarranted) arrogance, ego and self-importance amongst some senior management, some of the worst I’ve ever seen(in 12 reviews)

  • "Lack of career progression in current role(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Operations in London, England

    I worked at Close Brothers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Development of people and the team spirit

    Cons

    Change can be on the slow side

    Close Brothers2019-09-06
  2. "Challenges aplenty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Close Brothers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, good overall culture

    Cons

    Poor IRB and IVU culture, egotistical leaders, poor leadership,, infighting

    Advice to Management

    Hire professionals for the wider IRB projects

    Close Brothers2019-11-20
  3. "Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 

    I worked at Close Brothers full-time

    Pros

    Company seems to be taking better care of its employee, particularly the low level ones

    Cons

    Certain departments can be very demanding.

    Close Brothers2019-11-26
  4. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Operations Administrator 

    I have been working at Close Brothers full-time

    Pros

    really nice place with a good culture

    Cons

    hard to find any cons with the company

    Close Brothers2019-10-16
  5. "Customer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Close Brothers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Good bonus Supportive Considerate Enjoyable More Words Words

    Cons

    Poor Staffing levels Poor project planning

    Advice to Management

    Make sure there are enough staff to handle volumes

    Close Brothers2019-10-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Infrastructure Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Close Brothers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Work life balance lots of new technologies

    Cons

    Unstructured approach Politics No career progression

    Close Brothers2019-09-17
  7. "A good company to work for, flexible too can work from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Insight Analyst in South Wimbledon, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Close Brothers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of current market technology like tableau and alteryx is in place

    Cons

    I was doing work differnt from my skill set

    Advice to Management

    nil

    Close Brothers2019-09-26
  8. "Healthy work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Trainer in Wimbledon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Close Brothers full-time

    Pros

    Excellent managers that trust your expertise and listen. Rewarding culture.. if you work hard and go above and beyond you get recognised. Treated with fairness and respect by fellow peers. Fun and excellent resources and support from fellow colleagues.

    Cons

    Nothing. I love working here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do! fairness and support.

    Close Brothers2019-09-02
  9. "Great company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Control Team Leader in Hove, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Close Brothers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really strong team ethic through the office, great social events through the year. Great company benefits. A happy place to work.

    Cons

    None that I have come across so far.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing.

    Close Brothers2019-08-24
  10. "To much politics affect the final results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Risk Assurance Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Close Brothers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting business model, only three direct competitors. Due to different businesses under one umbrella, HQ feels a little bit detached. CEO is a God and prosecutor in one face, it gives particular business enough flexibilities to execute the decisions, but significantly may affect Brand perception

    Cons

    HR like dont exist at all. Despite positive feedbacks from your immidiate boss and peers, they may be disregarded if you should be dissmised by the reasons no one bother to tell. Permanent reorganization across the Group put everyone at high risk no matter you are working at front, middle or back office. Despite lots of talks about transparrancy, people development, engagment and etc. Its mostly expected from you... rother then executives or immediate boss. Relatively low pay compare to the market for similar positions in London.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do not hesitate to communicate and let HR know they are not Gods hand in the company.

    Close Brothers2019-09-06
Found 135 reviews