Close Brothers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Close Brothers Reviews

Updated 17 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 130 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Close Brothers CEO Preben Prebensen (no image)
Preben Prebensen
63 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Incredible amount of (unwarranted) arrogance, ego and self-importance amongst some senior management, some of the worst I’ve ever seen(in 12 reviews)

  • "Lack of career progression in current role(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Operations in London, England

    I worked at Close Brothers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Development of people and the team spirit

    Cons

    Change can be on the slow side

    Close Brothers2019-09-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Infrastructure Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Close Brothers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Work life balance lots of new technologies

    Cons

    Unstructured approach Politics No career progression

    Close Brothers2019-09-17
  3. "Healthy work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Trainer in Wimbledon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Close Brothers full-time

    Pros

    Excellent managers that trust your expertise and listen. Rewarding culture.. if you work hard and go above and beyond you get recognised. Treated with fairness and respect by fellow peers. Fun and excellent resources and support from fellow colleagues.

    Cons

    Nothing. I love working here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do! fairness and support.

    Close Brothers2019-09-02
  4. "Great company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Control Team Leader in Hove, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Close Brothers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really strong team ethic through the office, great social events through the year. Great company benefits. A happy place to work.

    Cons

    None that I have come across so far.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing.

    Close Brothers2019-08-24
  5. "To much politics affect the final results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Risk Assurance Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Close Brothers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting business model, only three direct competitors. Due to different businesses under one umbrella, HQ feels a little bit detached. CEO is a God and prosecutor in one face, it gives particular business enough flexibilities to execute the decisions, but significantly may affect Brand perception

    Cons

    HR like dont exist at all. Despite positive feedbacks from your immidiate boss and peers, they may be disregarded if you should be dissmised by the reasons no one bother to tell. Permanent reorganization across the Group put everyone at high risk no matter you are working at front, middle or back office. Despite lots of talks about transparrancy, people development, engagment and etc. Its mostly expected from you... rother then executives or immediate boss. Relatively low pay compare to the market for similar positions in London.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do not hesitate to communicate and let HR know they are not Gods hand in the company.

    Close Brothers2019-09-06
  6. "Happy Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Close Brothers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work Agile and flexible working environment Lots of development opportunities across the bank Fantastic benefits package

    Cons

    Nothing come to my mind

    Close Brothers2019-08-19
  7. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in London, England

    I worked at Close Brothers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They invested in my education and CPD and had a simple product range

    Cons

    There were management changes whilst I was there, meaning changes to our T&Cs which were to our detriment

    Advice to Management

    Consider carefully planned changes

    Close Brothers2019-08-19
  8. "My New Role - Close Brothers Asset Finance And Leasing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Executive in Wimbledon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Close Brothers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people - I love coming to work every day, career progression - already had the chance to interview for a scheme to train employees for senior management positions and I've only been here 5 months, the company ethos and continued company growth, competitive salary and package, regular social events. Experienced and intelligent Managers who are incredibly supportive but still treat you like an adult and let you... get on with your work - they only intervene if you ask them to.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing to report as of yet.

    Close Brothers2019-08-15
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Close Brothers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, they really care about you as an employee and good career progression

    Cons

    No cons or negative feedback

    Advice to Management

    None

    Close Brothers2019-08-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid - Liars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Close Brothers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not much , good location, fruit, drinks on Friday

    Cons

    CIO gets his cronies to do the dirty firing for unjustified reasons and HR go along with it. Completely unethical management style and not sure how they get away with it, keep you on and then before 2 years is up make up performance lies so no redundancy is due - crooks. Happened to many staff, one minute they are there, next they are not. You know who you are. Avoid like the plague.

    Advice to Management

    Take a look in the mirror and ask yourselves if you are being honest and fair.

    Close Brothers2019-09-12
Found 130 reviews