Coolblue Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Coolblue Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 185 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Coolblue CEO Pieter Zwart
Pieter Zwart
137 Ratings
Pros
  • "goed, veel uitdaging in mijn werk en verantwoordelijkheid(in 30 reviews)

  • "Doorgroeimogelijkheden: je groeit net zo snel als het bedrijf(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "primaire arbeidsvoorwaarden zijn minder vergeleken met andere bedrijven(in 16 reviews)

  • "Aangezien je de hele dag met een glimlach loopt(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Teamleader logistics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teamleader Logistics in Antwerp
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Coolblue full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Informal communication Great values Lots of social activities

    Cons

    Incompetent management Low pay Bending the rules when it suited them.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people. Happy workers make happy customers

    Coolblue2019-07-16
  2. "Nice Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Rotterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coolblue full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people and nice work place

    Cons

    Lower salaries than the market no bonus

    Coolblue2018-08-22
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Not the company it was, not the company they promote they are."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Rotterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coolblue full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Learned a lot because of the unique situations given within the company - Met amazing colleagues which I still consider friends.

    Cons

    - Coolblue turned to the worse when changes left an incapable management layer in the IT department. People not suited to fulfill the "leadership" roles were promoted. - Coolblue never figured out how to remove bottleneck people from key positions and thus the top-down mentality arose - Gossip is now common and seriously affects the life of developers. - Diversity is barely non-existant.

    Advice to Management

    Learn from the past. Coolblue had great management that was pushed away. Learn from your own current mistakes and build something where developers want to join and not just flee the IT Department.

    Coolblue2018-07-19
  4. "Great team, minimum salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Coolblue part-time

    Pros

    Team becomes family Chance to grow within company

    Cons

    Salary is minimal no connection with upper management

    Coolblue2018-07-02
  5. "Inspiring, flexible and responsible jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Controller in Rotterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coolblue full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inspiring place/office, in which you work with a diversity of colleagues. A job in which you get a lot of freedom and responsibility. Room to grow and flexibility to learn a lot.

    Cons

    Processes are not carved in stone, this can be seen as a challenge and give room to change things quickly, but this can also be experienced as annoying.

    Coolblue2018-06-18
  6. "Delphi Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coolblue full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coolblue is a very good company to work, the salaries are not the best, but they try to compensate that with a very good balance between work and personal life

    Cons

    The IT department has changed a lot, and the new set up doesn't share the same vision as the company

    Coolblue2018-05-29
  7. "Fun place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Rotterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coolblue full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun and room to grow

    Cons

    Nt much room to grow, careers stays steady

    Coolblue2018-05-06
  8. "Awesome Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Recruiter in Rotterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coolblue part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Company really cares about employees - Awesome working atmosphere, especially at HQ - Awesome Meeting spaces - "The Coolblue Feeling" - The Team

    Cons

    Not a lot of flex working space for part timers, but able to work comfortably most of the time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Coolblue2018-02-26
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Coolblue, you had so much potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Rotterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Coolblue full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great meeting rooms, awesome people

    Cons

    Management overhead. Lack of transparency, especially when one of the company principles is "Open, Honest & Direct". Lack of technical direction (in the software development department). Always reducing employee conditions while bragging about the very big revenue. Creation of useless career positions that stop being available after a short time.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees. Hire good leaders and keep them. Give your employees good conditions (not just things that look good on paper) and they'll reward you by being loyal to the company.

    Coolblue2018-02-22

    Coolblue Response

    February 26, 2018

    Vervelend om te lezen dat je je tijd bij Coolblue zo hebt ervaren. We willen graag leren van je ervaring. Mocht je daarom je feedback met ons willen delen, dan kan je me mailen op lotte.vanvelzen@coolblue.nl. Groet , Lotte van Coolblue.

  10. "Fun place to work with some drawbacks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer Team Lead in Rotterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coolblue full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are great Great location Focus on business value

    Cons

    IT Management is inert, lacks vision Preventing and repairing technical debt is a continual challenge

    Advice to Management

    Consider doing employee satisfaction surveys

    Coolblue2018-01-08
Found 185 reviews