Cornell University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cornell University Reviews

Updated 26 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University President Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
149 Ratings
Pros
  • "Ithaca is a charming town (as long as you don't need the stimulation of a big city(in 68 reviews)

  • "Great work environment and people(in 56 reviews)

Cons
  • "Salary compared to cost of living in Ithaca is low(in 138 reviews)

  • "No downsides; winters are cold in Ithaca(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "phd student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consulting Manager/Principal 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    great job, lots of resources

    Cons

    no con at all.

    Cornell University2020-01-30

    Cornell University Response

    February 4, 2020

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We're glad your experience at Cornell has been positive.

    Continue reading
  2. "Ithaca is gorgeous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University

    Pros

    Everyone in lab and involved in University is super lates back and friendly, hardly surprising when they live in such a beautiful place with so many great things to do outdoors

    Cons

    Well it gets pretty cold in the winter but you get used to it! Can’t really complain otherwise, great atmosphere!

    Cornell University2017-12-18
  3. "Law School Admissions Ambassador"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have the chance to work with the wonderful staff, the 10 hours a week is solid, and giving tours is fun.

    Cons

    The first semester is a bit slow, and the second semester is a bit busy, but all in all it's solid.

    Cornell University2017-10-23
  4. "researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University

    Pros

    friendly staff with good cafeteria and grounds

    Cons

    bureaucracy and staff not rewarded enough for hard work

    Continue reading
    Cornell University2014-01-12
  5. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Cornell University

    Pros

    Work with very intelligent people

    Cons

    Work with very very intelligent people

    Cornell University2013-11-12
  6. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Got to learn from and work with some very experienced people in the field

    Cons

    none that I can think of. Maybe early hours

    Continue reading
    Cornell University2020-03-26
  7. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    great team work at cornell

    Cons

    no cons at all yeah

    Cornell University2020-03-25
  8. "Good graduate student pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very generous graduate student stipend

    Cons

    no union; no dental care

    Cornell University2020-03-23
  9. "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at Cornell University part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and lunch breaks

    Cons

    Low pay and no benefits

    Cornell University2020-03-22
  10. "Community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Student in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time

    Pros

    great team, work that applies to the position and aid with students

    Cons

    n/a, love working for Human Ecology

    Cornell University2020-03-13
Found 1304 reviews