Crowe UK Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
66%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Crowe UK CEO Nigel Bostock (no image)
Nigel Bostock
18 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Crowe UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to progress internally

    Cons

    None to note at this time

    Crowe UK Response

    June 15, 2020People Director

    thank you for taking the time to post on Glassdoor about your time with us in Cheltenham. Good luck on new ventures. Tony White National People Director

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Genuinely damaged my mental health"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Trainee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Crowe UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of even one.

    Cons

    Awful work environment with a horrible culture from senior management down. Senior members of staff would moan about work levels/quality but never address it directly with the individual. A senior staff member open discussed comments from an ex-employees exit interview and laughed about them. Many MANY unprofessional working relationships between colleagues (including partners) making things harder for anyone wanting to raise genuine concerns. No training means audit quality is appalling. Most second and third years have either never been taught or never bothered to learn, so no wisdom is ever passed on other than ‘ticking and bashing’ and ‘fudging’ results. It is obvious things regularly go untested when you try and repeat work from a previous year and it proves impossible. Anyone who does have any knowledge or willingness to teach junior staff leaves as soon as they qualify, if not before. I was harassed by a senior member of staff. I was scared because of the hierarchy, but I reported it. It seemed to be taken seriously, and there was agreement that this was unacceptable behavior, until I found out nothing at all had been said to this member of staff (who was already on a final written warning). I was forced to work with them again and the harassment continued. As I had no trust in management anymore I had to leave, leaving me with large fees to pay which did not at all help my already damaged mental health. I found out after I left that this person was promoted.

    Crowe UK Response

    June 15, 2020People Director

    Very difficult to read these comments when I have no genuine knowledge of the events or the reporting of them to any of my HR team. Crowe has the upmost professional and technical standards and training across all of our people. We also have a zero tolerance with inappropriate behaviours from whomever about whatever. So we are at a loss on what else to comment on, so all I can do is wish you a speedy recovery from your health issues and good luck in your future career. Tony White National People Director

  3. "Fantastic internal training courses"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Audit Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Crowe UK

    Pros

    I worked at the Birmingham offices for just under 2 year’s and I loved the internal training courses. I was employed by Helen Drew, whom I can only describe as a fair and hardworking partner. She gave me an appreciation and taught me the importance of the work being done in the non for profit sector. Helen and Kerry Brown are passionate and dedicated in delivering a high quality service to the non for profit sector and they are passionate about seeing their clients prosper and ensure that funding is being used for the proper purpose and that the core missions and values of the charities that they look after are a success. They are both an inspiration as to how hard work and dedication in the field can pay off! and that women can break the glass ceiling by simply working hard and having sincere and good intentions. During my short time there I made some great friends whom I am still in touch with. In terms of management Dawn Cowan is a supportive and kind student training manager and there are long standing staff like Mark Adderly that will always make new people feel welcome.

    Cons

    There are good points and bad points with all organisations. But I prefer to focus on the positives at my time at Crowe. And I am thankful for what I learnt there.

    Crowe UK Response

    February 18, 2020People Director

    Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your time with Crowe in the Midlands office. It appears that you had many great experiences with your different colleagues which is lovely to hear. Good look in your future career Tony White National People Director

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Not a nice firm to become chartered with"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Auditor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Crowe UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None. Any positive is minimal and can be better achieved at the many other firms out there.

    Cons

    I qualified with Crowe on the graduate programme just over a year ago and left soon after qualifying - just like all of us. I personally worked at another big firm in audit whereas many others went into indistry or did other things with their life. I can see the difference majorly. Crowe is a hostile work environment with shoddy offices. The only thing not a complete wreck are the client-facing reception and meeting rooms, which lucky for Crowe is where new staff are interviewed. The building terrible, chairs are terrible, there is no kitchen space to eat lunch or even a microwave. I heard that the lease on the building which was up for renewal recently was renewed and Crowe will continue in this dump. Life quality is so low at Crowe. As a fresh graduate this became normalised, however after leaving I now know how toxic, prejudice, evil, and shunning the firm's culture is and almost all senior staff members are. I would strongly suggest finding employment elsewhere or jumping ship. Audit quality is shocking. It is very common to see whole balances or transactions untested and to discover substantial prior year errors in files which are always burred and covered up by senior management. I'm glad I jumped ship as soon as I got my ACA and so does everyone who qualifies here. Each year everyone who qualifies leaves. Finally, all the positive reviews here are clearly fake. What person under the age of 65 writes in the style of any positive review here?

    Continue reading

    Crowe UK Response

    January 22, 2020People Director

    I usually thank people for their considered feedback and critique of our firm, however on this occasion I believe all I can say is good luck in your future career, wherever that may take you. "Fake news, fake articles" are much in vogue at present however I take issue with your comments that the posts on Glassdoor are fake, just because they are written in a style and tone that is not to your liking. I hope that people who have worked for Crowe in the past or are working for Crowe currently know that we live by our firm values and that any behaviour that departs from those values is not accepted. I would even go as far as saying we have a zero tolerance approach to such negative behaviours. I certainly don't feel ashamed about working for Crowe and I will always endeavour to make sure that everyone has the opportunity to advance their career in a fair and supportive environment. It clearly wasn't for you............ and as an aside the office move is confirmed for the Summer of 2020. Tony White National People Director

  5. "Great atmosphere, culture and management!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Crowe UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training: Excellent employer to work for as a trainee, Crowe ensure all trainee staff are given a reasonable amount of responsibility, support and encouragement to develop skills and knowledge. Crowe are very fair with their study leave and provide a study package. Atmosphere/Culture: Communication at Crowe is fantastic, with interdepartmental communications flowing throughout the organisation. Team away days and regular social outings help staff to bond and build friendships. Staff are treated fairly by management, and respect and inclusion is paramount across all teams. Progression: There is a clear path for trainees, dependent upon exam completion. The appraisal process is an excellent tool used by management to ensure staff are aware of their progression, targets and areas where further development would help them to grow. Responsibilities: Crowe have an interesting client base, and staff are given the opportunity to build professional relationships and trust with their portfolio. Management are keen to ensure staff remain challenged and encouraged to progress. Management allowed me to work with a degree of autonomousy, which for me personally is vital. Each member of staff is judged individually, and management adapts its approach to get the best from everyone. This is fundamental in staff development - a "one size fits all" approach is applied by some firms and certainly restricts some from progressing in their own way. Management Communication: Meetings are held each year, including a corporate away day whereby the partners provide an update on the successes of the firm, areas of growth and future challanges the firm will overcome. This helps staff to feel engaged and allign their own ambitions as a result. Bonus Scheme: The bonus scheme allows employees to feel their efforts have been both acknowledged and appreciated. Promotions: Those that recieved promotions in 2019 within my department fully deserved them, especially within senior management. In all, Crowe do an excellent job in ensuring the leaders representing the firm live and breathe its values. Loyalty is certainly rewarded along the line and this is great to see. Equal Opportunities: Within my department, senior management is lead by mostly female employees. Crowe certainly aims to achieve equality of opportunity across the firm and regularly shares articles and comments on its progression and commitment to ensuring equal opportunities are available to all. With this becoming a highlighted area within the media and common culture, it is great to see that Crowe aims to take a stance in ensuring inequality across the industry is acknowledged and more importantly; addressed. Crowe also values those from various cultures, and sees opportunity in harnessing the different views and opinions of those from various ethnic backgrounds. 1st Day vs. Last day: Initially, when I joined the firm, overtime was essential in ensuring my client portfolio remained serviced to an acceptable standard. At times, this would run into 25+ hours per month. This applied to a number of the trainees, especially those that seemed to develop the quickest. However, this was less commonplace by my last day. The team has grown from around 15 members to approximately 30. This certainly reduces the overtime hours required, but does allow those who want to take on more responsibility and work to offer the overtime if they wish to. As a result, overtime is less mandatory than it once was. Trainees can expect approximately 10 hours per month maximum. Offices: The office have been a target of criticism amongst othet posts on glassdoor. Whilst this criticism is certainly extreme - I can sympathise with those who felt there was a lack of facilities. However, the firm has announced an office move in 2020 which will adress these issues, in which the new office does look modern and addresses the concerns listed historically.

    Cons

    I am unable to comment largely on professional development and progression post-qualification as I was a trainee throughout my time at Crowe. Salaries were a little lower than some of Crowe's competitors within the industry. However, I would be reluctant to replace my time there with another firm; for a slightly higher salary. Reflecting back upon my time at Crowe, it has developed me from a fresh-faced (and not incredibly knowledgeable) student to someone who feels confident in undertaking new tasks and approaching clients. As with any firm, a bottleneck does become apparent for promotions within senior management. It is unfortunate for those who might miss out on promotion despite being excellent employees, but it is certainly the norm across the industry for the structure to get thinner and more competitive towards the top of the organisational hierarchy. It is clear this demotivates some people, but it is unavoidable. I have no doubt in time everyone would get the recognition they deserve but some people may not choose to wait around for this.

    Continue reading

    Crowe UK Response

    December 21, 2019People Director

    I am not sure a mere thank you is sufficient when I can see the time and effort (and balance) put into your review. I'm also not sure any firm can get everything 100% right 100% of the time, but what I think the majority of people who work with us will agree is that we are always trying to improve and provide a genuine rewarding career experience. Good luck in your future career and we look forward to meeting you again at alumnin events. Tony White National People Director

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Mixed bag"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auditor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Crowe UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and training and salary is ok. Interesting clients.

    Cons

    Horrible offices - no proper kitchens which means you have to buy lunch out every day and no proper area for staff to sit down away from desks Some of the partners treat staff really badly - shouting and talking down all the time. The Not for Profit team are not nice to work for - I wouldnt work with them if I was a charity.

    Continue reading

    Crowe UK Response

    September 2, 2019People Director

    Thank you for your feedback and good luck in your new career. Like many firms we at Crowe are on our own journey and are always looking at making sure we provide everyone a rewarding career experience. I believe we are doing that for the many but I also recognise we dont always get things right. Tony White, National People Director

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Innovative Professionals"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Technology Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crowe UK full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A great place to work if you are innovative, forward thinking and have vision for the future of the profession as a whole.

    Cons

    There are only Cons for negative individuals

    Crowe UK Response

    July 24, 2019People Director

    thank you for taking the time to post a review - it is appreciated. Tony White, National People Director

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work! Great training contract provider"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crowe UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally great employees Good support from certain managers Good range of clients Decent Resources Good Career progression opportunities. Convenient office location.

    Cons

    Awful office. Tad unorganised/inefficient - I feel that people should be put on jobs close to them from the day they join, then due to continuity there is no issue going forward. Waste of money having someone spend hundreds on expenses when there's someone that lives around the corner from that client, this is also inconvenient for the staff and will reduce morale quite quickly. This has been a long term problem since I joined. THIS IS AN AUDIT RELATED ISSUE.

    Continue reading

    Crowe UK Response

    July 17, 2019People Director

    thank you for the constructive feedback - I know the property issue is a genuine frustration and hopefully news on this suject soon. Your point re listening is also an interesting one and I urge you to come and knock on my door if you feel you have things to say that are currently not being addressed - even if you have tried other avenues. Tony White - National People Director

  9. "A great place to train"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Crowe UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Crowe is a great place to train, with lots of support and time at Kaplan. The people are generally very kind and helpful. Overall I've enjoyed my time so far at Crowe, the broad range of clients that we are exposed to provides an invaluable experience

    Cons

    Improve communication within the firm from management

    Continue reading

    Crowe UK Response

    July 19, 2019People Director

    Some very valid points I feel on communication I will pass to the Audit training partners - many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Hopefully your career with us will continue to flourish. Tony White, National People Director

  10. Helpful (6)

    "Horrible place to train"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Trainee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Crowe UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No I have left I realise there are none. The few good points are minor and offered much better by other firms.

    Cons

    I trained at Crowe for around two years before leaving. Hours were long, staff were rude and unfriendly, the office is dated and not a nice environment to work in. There is a generally hostile and racist atmosphere in the office which was not nice to work in. Being my first and only job after graduating, I took everything as normal. Since leaving Crowe I realise how bad this place was for me to work at and how detrimental it was to my wellbeing to be there. The vast majority of my intake no longer work at Crowe (pre qualifying), and of the intake who most recently qualified, I heard that only one is still working there but is about to hand in his notice. This says it all. I am now working for a top 10 firm which I won't name. I thought top 10 would be worse than my time at Crowe, but it isn't. Sure it's tougher at a top 10, however there is none of this underlying bullying that happens across the firm and a whole lot less racism. And at a top 10, I get something out of the long hours I'm working, unlike at Crowe where it goes unrewarded and you just feel useless no matter how hard you worked or how good the work you did was.

    Continue reading

    Crowe UK Response

    July 17, 2019People Director

    I hope people who review our Glassdoor revues understand that I reply to them all whether positive or negative. Some reviews are easier to respond to than others, this particular one concerns me. Not because of the headlines, although the words are startling, but because after analysis the facts are so incorrect. Our yearly trainee intakes are stable across the firm, with no more than the expected leavers for the usual reasons of exam failures, underperformance or genuine pastures new. Also I am so disappointed that for someone who alleges such poor behaviours within our firm, that as National People Director this has not been raised once with me whilst you were employed by us. It also occurs to me that the themes with the previous posting of 20/6/19 are similar, anonymity has its place of course in these types of postings but I have to conclude that the circumstances behind this post lie in a parallel dispute. However my contact details are tony.white@crowe.co.uk - should you wish to highlight your concerns more fully to me. Tony White - National People Director

Found 40 reviews