Devon Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Devon Energy Reviews

Updated 21 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 406 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Devon Energy CEO John Richels
John Richels
221 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Can be laid off sooner than a lot of other oil and gas companies if downturn occurs(in 12 reviews)

  • "Their hiring process revolves around whether or not you are willing to stay in Oklahoma City long term(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time

    Pros

    -respect from senior management -focus on innovation and effectiveness

    Cons

    -little turnover over the years have created an environment where new ideas and new ways of doing business are received with uncertainty

    Devon Energy2019-08-21
  2. "Best Company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Operator in Bonnyville, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Above industry average wages. Good bonus incentives and motivation to succeed. Fantastic benefits. Corporate culture of respect for employees, environment, and regulatory compliance.

    Cons

    Could be indecisive at times. They sold us to CNRL.

    Advice to Management

    Come back to Canada. CNRL sucks.

    Devon Energy2019-08-14
  3. "Great Company to work for in Canada, Sad to see it go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Company to work for in Calgary, Great culture, people and benefits. Very collaborative and innovative environment

    Cons

    No Longer in Canada, only OKC based now

    Devon Energy2019-08-12
  4. "Great place in tough industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst 

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time

    Pros

    Strong coaching and development Great benefits

    Cons

    Cost cutting led to lean model

    Devon Energy2019-08-02
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great executive leadership, collaborative and excellent team environment,

    Cons

    No cons, hard work pays off.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with good leadership

    Devon Energy2019-07-27
  6. "Outdated review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth but limited.

    Cons

    Mediocre leaders - need more diversity of thought.

    Devon Energy2019-07-18
  7. "Devon was family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Director/Creative Services Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Devon was truly a family atmosphere. The people I worked with are the best and will always be considered friends. I was given great opportunities, able to make an impact and grow professionally.

    Cons

    Obviously the major con is the industry volatility. When world events and economy changes, the business has to adapt and very tough changes had to made.

    Devon Energy2019-07-15
  8. "Talk a good story"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lease Operator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay. Decent benefits, They pay their bills to vendors

    Cons

    Piece of meat. They talk a good game; but don't care for the field people. Spend a tremendous amount of dollars telling everyone how good they seem to be; actually management doesn't care.

    Advice to Management

    Think about your field people. There is life beyond your bonuses. Your greed affects other families.

    Devon Energy2019-08-07
  9. "One of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Devon Energy full-time

    Pros

    Strong technical leadership, skilled co-workers, compensation, long term incentives.

    Cons

    Unstable due to asset sales. The end of an era.

    Devon Energy2019-06-23
  10. "Joint Venture Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time

    Pros

    The Well, trust, opportunity for more complex tasks, the people

    Cons

    Scope of work, micro management

    Devon Energy2019-06-22
Found 406 reviews