Dollar Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Dollar Bank Reviews

Updated 1 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
44%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Dollar Bank President and CEO James J. McQuade
James J. McQuade
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "You can meet a lot of great people at the branches(in 13 reviews)

  • "Excellent training program, good work/life balance, many opportunities to advance if you work hard(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you are not a favorite of upper management the likelyhood of getting promoted is slim(in 16 reviews)

  • "Dreadfully low pay which is exponentially worse if you work your way up in the company(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Real Estate Underwriter in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart individuals. Focused on work-life balance. Do things the right way.

    Cons

    Pay. Antiquated systems. Sometimes longevity takes precedent over results.

    Continue reading
    Dollar Bank2020-04-01
  2. "Good “Bridge” Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank

    Pros

    -Great medical benefits -Coworkers and management were kind and helpful -Training was exceptional -Good job to gain experience and move onto something else -Customers were (for the most part) friendly

    Cons

    -Technology is ancient and needs severe updating -Pay is abysmal (about 12.50 a hour) -Micro-management (overhear conversations, want you to do everything “their” way, can’t be yourself) -Can be a “stare at the clock job” if you aren’t at a busy branch -Everything is basically blocked by the internet firewall, which will contribute to boredom -Dress code is strict -Have to work some Saturdays (if you are a newer employee, you’ll be working every Saturday) -Sometimes have to work till 7pm (Fridays) and during “call nights” (time you get to leave will vary between 6-7pm)

    Continue reading
    Dollar Bank2020-03-27
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Personal Banker in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company really show's understanding for all types of situations that occur in everyday life. Management is supportive and company events are very entertaining. Overall, my experience there has been great.

    Cons

    Work can become overwhelming, and depending on your branch that can really affect your moral. Problem solving will be tested with a lot of different situations and customer could get upset.

    Continue reading
    Dollar Bank2020-03-10
  4. "Don't Take the Job, if you Don't like the pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank

    Pros

    If you read through the reviews, people complain about not getting paid enough. First, you clearly think you're worth that amount of money because YOU agreed to the salary. If you don't like what they're paying, then turn the job down. Don't go bad mouth a company because you made a bad choice. I'm going to guess, that at your next job, you're going to be under paid and disrespected. I would say its you all being terrible employees, than Dollar being a bad employee. I don't work for Dollar anymore and I can say, that it's the employees lousy attitudes that are the problem. Not the lack of pay. If you work hard, you get promoted. I flew throug hbk the ranks. It's not rocket science.

    Cons

    Technology is something that needs to be updated ASAP

    Continue reading
    Dollar Bank2020-03-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "This is a great place to spend 8 hours a day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I work with amazing supportive people! The benefits are great. Hours are excellent.

    Cons

    Slow computer systems are frustrating.

    Dollar Bank2020-02-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker Supervisor in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. They are fair and care about their employees. A real sense of teamwork, too. I've worked for many other banks. By far the best working environment. Promotions are real. I have seen many good employees move up through the ranks.

    Cons

    Salary is disappointingly low. The difference in salary between Dollar Bank and other local financial institutions is significant.

    Continue reading
    Dollar Bank2020-01-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work at!

    Cons

    There are no cons to working here

    Dollar Bank2020-01-21
  8. "Loyalty doesn’t matter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good training & working environment

    Cons

    Loyalty to the bank is overlooked way too often 5 minutes there or years there you are easily disposable

    Dollar Bank2020-02-16
  9. "DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME APPLYING!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Euclid, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee incentives and great training.

    Cons

    Terrible Management (cliquish), Treated like the bottom of the barrel as a teller, will let you go for no reason as they’ve done others before you, customers are always right even if their rude to the tellers, will not advance due to the false information in the annual reviews, TERRIBLE pay, makes you do things that are not in your job description, just do yourself a favor and apply to other banks and let this be your last resort!! Turnover rate is high and the way Euclid Dollar Bank treats there employees is why. In the process of suing for wrongful termination!!

    Continue reading
    Dollar Bank2020-02-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Job, Bad Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of institutional support to grow. Very patient from top to bottom in growing your skills in banking from sales to daily operations. Community based bank that is growing (slowly, see cons), which allows support staff to cross train and move up.

    Cons

    The pay is about $10k below the industry average. The bank is very conservative (which can be a pro in other areas) but has a lot of employee turnover due to the pay. Some employees that do well for the bank aren't given promotions because of the branch that they work at. That being said, given the right branch and staff, you will be supported to upward mobility in the bank.

    Continue reading
    Dollar Bank2019-12-20
Found 178 reviews