Dollar Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Dollar Bank Reviews

Updated 4 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 165 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Dollar Bank CEO James J. McQuade
James J. McQuade
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "You can meet a lot of great people at the branches(in 13 reviews)

  • "Good job security, if you are under 50 you are considered a "youngster"(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Dreadfully low pay which is exponentially worse if you work your way up in the company(in 15 reviews)

  • "If you are not a favorite of upper management the likelyhood of getting promoted is slim(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist Supervisor 

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed my time with dollar bank.

    Cons

    The pay was very low. Moving up in the company can be difficult.

    Dollar Bank2019-07-04
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Branch Managwr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They've been a great company to work for. Hard work and communication have earned me multiple promotions. They take care of employees that put effort into their careers

    Cons

    The cons are people that come on sites like this and complain. They didn't have a good experience because they didn't work hard enough. The bank keeps these people around too and should fire people instead of keeping them around. They also allow managers, like are the one with the Lions, to verbally chastise his employees and stay out all day doing nothing. They should remove him.

    Advice to Management

    Remove employees that are obvious problems.

    Dollar Bank2019-05-27
  3. "Still based in 1855"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good job security, if you are under 50 you are considered a "youngster". Daily retirement parties!

    Cons

    Non-existent management. For an organization that has been around for more than 100 years it is amazing that they have no standard operating procedures for anything. Lack of professionalism is real issue. If you want to work in a place where everyone shows up at 7am and is gone by 2pm with nothing to show for it, this might be a good fit for you . Blaten sexism is real, the things that come out of people's mouth is outrageous...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean house and hire people that actually want to do work.

    Dollar Bank2019-06-04
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Benefits could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank

    Pros

    Great place to work if your driven and they like you.

    Cons

    They offer NO paternity leave. They also have NO maturity leave. You have to use your short term disability. Ridiculous. They have no supplemental insurance either. And no help with childcare.

    Advice to Management

    Look at what the progressive companies are offering their employees. Be more competitive. If you aren’t going to pay commission at least be more open to trying new things for employees with benefits.

    Dollar Bank2019-04-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A place to go to use as a jumping pad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Programmer Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time

    Pros

    You can be your own architect/programmer as there is no one in charge of the overall design. Benefits are good and you get bank holidays.

    Cons

    Very below market pay. Outsourcing applications. Say they are agile but in reality not so much. Unreasonable time constraints. People get promoted who really should not be, especially after they fail.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in Agile training and make it stick. Add an architect.

    Dollar Bank2019-03-25
  6. "Great place to work so long as you have previous experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall the residential lending department was a great place to work and my management team was very knowledgeable and forth coming with assistance.

    Cons

    very small organization had a hard time rolling out new technology. If I didn't have previous experience I don't think I would have been able to achieve my goals on their training alone.

    Dollar Bank2019-03-20
  7. "Good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSS in Stow, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun staff, good training, and progressive environment.

    Cons

    Smaller bank, customers can be weird.

    Dollar Bank2019-02-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Overworks and underpay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Operations Specialist 

      I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time

      Pros

      Benefits and steady schedule are nice

      Cons

      Management will overwork you. Undermine you and underpay you.

      Dollar Bank2019-01-21
    • "Ethics in banking starts here."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Work life balance, pay is very good, 401k is exceptional.

      Cons

      None at the moment I can think of.

      Advice to Management

      Ensure we keep to the values of do what's right. It's what makes us who we are.

      Dollar Bank2019-01-21
    • Helpful (2)

      "Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Dollar Bank

      Pros

      Hours were flexible, but they more so benefitted the customers not the employees.

      Cons

      Turn over and Saturday hours.

      Dollar Bank2018-11-14
    Found 165 reviews