EPCOR Reviews

Updated 1 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
EPCOR President and CEO Stuart Lee
Stuart Lee
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and benefits that start on your first day as a permanent employee - no waiting period(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and work/life balance(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company to work for."

    5.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journeyman Power Systems Electrician in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EPCOR full-time

    Pros

    Really good pay and benefits package.

    Cons

    Heavy middle management results in some micromanagement.

    EPCOR2020-05-01

    EPCOR Response

    May 6, 2020Talent Acquisition

    We really appreciate your comments! Your perspective is appreciated, and we value your contributions to Team EPCOR!

  2. "Excellent place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EPCOR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits that start on your first day as a permanent employee - no waiting period. An inclusive atmosphere where all ideas and suggestions are valued. Health and Safety culture that has the same expectation of a safe work environment regardless of where you work, whether you are in an office setting, or performing highly dangerous work and everyone is held to the same standard.

    Cons

    Sometimes slow to adopt newer ways of thinking and technologies.

    EPCOR2020-04-09

    EPCOR Response

    April 16, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review! Your perspective is appreciated, and we value your contributions to Team EPCOR!

  3. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Advisor in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EPCOR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    EPCOR provides great benefits, supports professional development and career growth, and has a strong safety culture.

    Cons

    The cost of parking downtown.

    EPCOR2020-03-30

    EPCOR Response

    April 9, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It’s great to hear that you’re happy with the benefit packages and supports for professional development and career growth opportunities. Your perspective is appreciated, and we value your contributions to Team EPCOR!

  4. "Top heavy management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Worker in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EPCOR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, decent pay, some good leadership

    Cons

    Very top heavy in management. Incompetent people move up the ladder not based on skill but who they know and willingness to kick collègues down to advance.

    Continue reading
    EPCOR2020-04-09

    EPCOR Response

    April 16, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at EPCOR. We’re disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience and are taking your comments seriously. We strive to make EPCOR a great place to work where employees feel safe, where their contributions are valued and where they can grow in their careers.

  5. "Great experience, caring employees."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Management Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EPCOR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dedicated employees, open-minded, approachable leadership, culture of safety, great benefits, community and customer-focused

    Cons

    Some leaders could model life/work balance better

    Continue reading
    EPCOR2020-03-23

    EPCOR Response

    April 16, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review! Your perspective is appreciated, and we value your contributions to Team EPCOR!

  6. "This is why our bill is so high"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EPCOR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good compensation, great benefits, modern office spaces

    Cons

    There is way too much time, money and opportunity wasted to be efficient. People with ideas are told to stay in their lane. Upper management acts like royalty. This is why our bills are so high every month for utilities: Nepotism is rampant, especially with senior management and their friends and family members. So often, it's not the best person for the job, it's the best friend. If you're not connected, your hard work will go unnoticed. Bullying is not dealt with impartially and those that do speak up are labelled as a "troublemaker". If you question a Manager you might as well kiss any career growth goodbye. If they would just trim the fat in management, this company could be so much more efficient and effective for the community.

    Continue reading
    EPCOR2020-04-04

    EPCOR Response

    April 9, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at EPCOR. We’re disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience and are taking your comments seriously. We strive to make EPCOR a great place to work where employees feel safe, where their contributions are valued and where they can grow in their careers.

  7. "Finally, a Genuine Team Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Trainer in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EPCOR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bicycle infrastructure at all sites Working with like-minded people with a common vision and goal Great pay Great benefits

    Cons

    Some managers are not leaders and are unaware of the differences

    Continue reading
    EPCOR2020-03-18

    EPCOR Response

    April 16, 2020Talent Acquisition

    We really appreciate your comments! It’s great to hear that you enjoy working with a team that shares a common vision and goal. Your perspective is appreciated, and we value your contributions to Team EPCOR!

  8. "Excellent company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EPCOR part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth, great people and strong safety culture

    Cons

    I’ve personally not had any downsides

    EPCOR2020-03-07

    EPCOR Response

    April 16, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review!

  9. "IT Support Analyst"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support Analyst in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EPCOR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Highly productive and fun loving environment All are friendly and approachable.

    Cons

    Unfortunately my Contract Ended because of restructuring.

    Continue reading
    EPCOR2020-03-06

    EPCOR Response

    April 16, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review!

  10. "EPCOR is an excellent employer!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Senior Business Leader in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EPCOR full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company believes employees are their greatest asset and works hard to position everyone for success.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say, great group of people.

    Continue reading
    EPCOR2020-02-07

    EPCOR Response

    April 16, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review! Your perspective is appreciated, and we value your contributions to Team EPCOR!

Found 119 reviews