Equator Reviews

Updated Aug 31, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 of over 45 reviews

2.7
37%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Equator Managing Director John McLeish (no image)
John McLeish
21 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

3y

a 

Consultant

What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

2,914

248 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Loved my time here

    Aug 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people really made my time at Equator, I would still be here if it weren't for other commitments. I was made to feel welcome from my first day and supported throughout in my role - which was a change of career so there was a gamble taken on me.

    Cons

    Missing out on staff get togethers like Christmas and summer BBQ's - due to Covid. I really don't have any cons from my time at Equator.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Challenging working environment

    Aug 31, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Have some interesting work and good customers. Looks good on your CV. Very client focused (sometimes too much so see con)

    Cons

    No one works as a team and you spend more time covering yourself than being able to do your job. Management don’t seem to listen to the problems. Sometimes too client focused to the point to not listening to what is possible resulting in crazy timelines, stretched teams and constant overtime. Very cliquey environment.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Ruined my mental health

    Aug 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Looks good on your CV. Not many others.

    Cons

    Where do I start? Micro management, blame culture, presenteeism is the norm. Weeks felt like months. If your face doesn't fit then life is pretty tough. Those in management roles need management training. In a place where they promote inclusion to the outside world, the story is far from it on the inside. They work you to the bone and leave you unsupported. My mental health was torn to shreds. Genuinely a terrible place to work.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Toxic torture

    Jul 12, 2021 - Web Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Turning off the computer. Going on holiday.

    Cons

    Worked here for a few years this is the worst I’ve seen it. Sick of the blame. Terrible management. No thanks. Take take take.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Opportunities are there to be seized

    Mar 17, 2021 - Marketing in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is not a place for the work-shy, but for people who are ambitious, innovative, and strive to do their best. There are many long-standing employees who have started their career at Equator and progressed to senior management. New teams have been created to maximise an opportunity with clients, which has also allowed great opportunity for people to grow their own function and team. The people who set up the organisation are still core to the growth and development of its offering. - Great client base - Collaborative working environment - Very friendly and helpful staff - Talented individuals who know their area inside out - Progressive culture with people from various backgrounds - Formal appraisal and salary review structure - Access to industry-leading tools and platforms - Thoughtful perks - we all got lovely gifts at Christmas time from the board and you get little presents for length of service anniversaries

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times due to the busy nature of the work.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Equator Response

    Head of People and Cuture

    Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of working here at Equator, it's great to hear it has been a positive one. We agree it is a busy environment but this presents plenty of opportunity to grow and progress within your career while spending time on some fantastic clients. We are also very proud of our knowledgeable, friendly team and that it is something you have enjoyed being part of. This year has been tough for everyone and wit ha busy environment and adapting to home working we know its more important that ever to support our team. To help get us through these difficult times we have introduced lots of tools to help support you on your journey. We have introduced online gym classes with our partner gym to keep your body healthy as well as online and telephone support through our Employee Assistance Programme and a wealth of training and seminars on coping mechanisms and managing stress to keep your mind healthy. We welcome your feedback so please do reach out to the People and Culture team if there is anything further you would like to discuss.

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Pay Attention to the negative reviews

    Mar 17, 2021 - Marketing Specialist in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people tend to be great, it looks impressive on your CV, you learn a lot and it's close to the city centre.

    Cons

    You'll notice that for every negative review here, there's a positive one that advises management to keep telling people "the good that we're doing". It's like clockwork. I found working in Equator profoundly difficult and lonely. I imagine if you're in with the cliques, you have a much better experience here but when they discuss their "culture" what they mean is you need to be a specific type of person (not shy or quiet, heaven forbid) and if you're not, you'll be ostracised. For a workplace that prides itself on inclusivity, anybody who is remotely neurodivergent isn't supported. It's not possible. They're very client-centric and ongoing support in the job isn't given. The work is tough and gruelling but you do learn a lot. Once I left, however, I discovered that I hadn't been taught marketing but specifically the ways they did it which would be fine if these ways weren't incredibly outdated or if they were up for discussion which they never were. It's a real high school environment and the best thing I did was leave.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Equator Response

    Head of People and Cuture

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review about your time here at Equator. It is great to that you enjoyed spending time with your team and felt like you learned a lot during your tenure. I am sorry to hear that it has not been a positive experience overall. We do know how important our clients are but also how critical an amazing and diverse team are. We work in a way that suits our clients needs and allows for opportunities for us to grow as a business. Our best work is produced when we have a variety of voices able to collaborate and innovate. We put forums in place in order for suggestions to be made on how we can improve and evolve including regular team meetings, Managing Director chats and Round Table discussions. Please be assured that we take every review seriously and are continuously looking for ways to improve, be the best we can be and make sure our team are supported. If you would like to discuss further please do contact us on people@eqtr.com

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Heavy on the client side

    Feb 27, 2021 - Web Developer in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was at one time a good company to work for. Sociable. Interesting

    Cons

    Heavy on client side. Tended to follow the client irrespective of the repercussions

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Never experienced such a horrific environment

    Mar 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Putting up with the hideous work environment will make any other job seem like a walk in the park.

    Cons

    Very cliquey culture. Client services have little expertise but will act like they know everything and ignore any remotely sensible suggestions. They’re all to quick to throw people under the bus to stop themselves and their shoddy management looking bad. I’ve worked in digital for over 7 years now and I’ve never experienced any company quite as bad as this. Never again!

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Equator Response

    Head of People and Cuture

    We are very sorry to hear this about your experience with Equator and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We value all of our current and former employees feedback and would be keen to learn more about why your time with us was not a positive one, we are always happy to listen to suggestions on how we can improve. In response to what you have mentioned we actively encourage our cross function teams to work together, suggest new ideas and support each other to ensure everyone's skills are being utilised in the best possible way and our management team are currently undergoing varied and in-depth training, as we do place a lot of emphasis on continued improvement. Please feel free to contact our People and Culture team at anytime to discuss further. We wish you the very best for the future.

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Avoid!!

    Mar 1, 2021 - Developer in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Some really nice colleagues - The social aspect was quite nice with the summer bbq and Friday drinks to get to talk to other colleagues from different tribes and departments - Somewhat ok salary - Casual wear to work - Looks good on your cv if you do your time

    Cons

    - A lot of blame culture that goes on within the company. - Bully culture, if you speak up about any higher ups nothing will get done about it. Best advice is to stay quiet and do your work. - The MD appears to want the best of staff and wants to help staff develop but he's only mainly concerned with profits and billable hours. Projects get underscoped and then devs are left being pushed to meet impossible deadlines and expectations. - Not really interested in staff feedback, only the ones higher up matter. MD says his door is always open but to be honest, he's just focused on his own profits. - People that progress and make it up the ladder are the ones that just stay and do their time then over time they just naturally get promoted, rather than skill related. I guess that's their reward for sticking it out? - Lack of compassion, if they don't like you they just get rid of you with a snap of a finger. Seen it happen to a few people. Not somewhere you want to be if you want a stable job and don't want to be involved with the cliques!

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    Equator Response

    Head of People and Cuture

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review about Equator. It is important for us to hear what we are doing well and also the areas where we can improve. I am glad to hear there are aspects of your time with us that you have enjoyed including the people you worked with and opportunities to socialise (pre-Covid) and our dress policy also sounds like it has been a plus. However, I am sorry to hear that you feel your time with us overall was not positive. We take your feedback seriously and I wanted to lay out a few things we are trying to do to ensure everyone has a positive experience. Projects scoping and deadlines - The work we do is constantly changing and we need to be able to adapt with it. We are developing standard templates and conducting training on correct processes, as well as allocating 'buddies' to help team members conduct accurate scoping and have the right level of support with them to do so. Communication and feedback - Our virtual 'Round Table' meetings start next week with team members from across the business able to provide suggestions and feedback to our Head of People which is discussed with the MD and responded to the whole company. We also ran several surveys last year to make sure we were getting feedback from all sources and we do an open Managing Directors Quarterly Chat where team members are encouraged to ask questions. Management Training - we are currently part way through a suit of management training for our current team which will also be rolled out to our potential future leaders. We recognise how important it is that our management team have the right tools in order to have a positive impact on their team. We are also about to start training for team members on other subjects like presentation skills and building confidence. Additionally, we have two online learning platforms we have used to deliver shorter bite sized training to our team. These are constantly under development. Finally, I would like to say how disappointed I am to hear that you feel we have a bully or blame culture. This is not something we would tolerate at all and I am sorry we did not get a chance to discuss it during your time with us. If you wold be able to take some time to provide me with some more details it would be greatly appreciate. I can be reached at people@eqtr.com.

  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Poor.

    Feb 19, 2021 - Web Developer in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Co-workers & clients. The difficulties of working at Equator are widely known, so having time spent can look good on your CV.

    Cons

    Micromanagement rife, poor culture, salary below average. Very uninspiring company to work for.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews

Popular Careers with Equator Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Equator? Share Your Experiences

or