Fancy Hands Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Fancy Hands Reviews

Updated 13 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
22%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Fancy Hands Founder & CEO Ted Roden & Joshua Boltuch (no image)
Ted Roden & Joshua Boltuch
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "You set your own hours and work from home(in 50 reviews)

  • "Flexibility to choose assignments and deciding when you want to work(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "The field guide doesn't have all the rules in it but mentors treat it like it does(in 47 reviews)

  • "Some clients can be rude and have unrealistic expectations of what can be done in 20 minutes (1 task)(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "helpful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Writer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fancy Hands part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    i made my own hours

    Cons

    they make you eat your poop if you leave early.

    Advice to Management

    don't work there

    Fancy Hands2020-01-13
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Are the mentors on break?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fancy Hands part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can see

    Cons

    Been waiting on a approval of my first task for 10 days now. Trying sending a email to support and got a failure email.

    Advice to Management

    Can someone please help out the people that are trying to make some money to live.

    Fancy Hands2019-09-21
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible system to use"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Virtual Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Fancy Hands part-time

    Pros

    You can make your own hours

    Cons

    Very difficult system to use, a simple task ends up taking way more time due to all of the regulations around how to use the system, emails, calls within the system. The credits and time is confusing, the back and forth between client, manager, etc takes too long and delays the task even more. A simple task that typically would take me 15 minutes to complete couldn't be finished and sent to the client within the days time due to all of these regulations.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Revise your rules, system, instructions, etc. Make it user friendly and efficient for everyone involved.

    Fancy Hands2019-08-21
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Pays the bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mentor in Alliance, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fancy Hands part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I can work (almost) whenever I want to. There are times where there aren't a lot of tasks to work on, but this also depends on the skills you have to offer. I have worked for Fancy Hands for almost 8 years. I have paid my bills with money left over. I have also worked very minimally when I work other jobs. I am a mentor, someone who proof reads assistants work. I can mentor here and there and put a couple extra bucks in my pocket.

    Show More

    Cons

    I really cannot think of a con so to say. This work is as easy as making an appointment all the way to full blown research and website designs.

    Advice to Management

    The more you work, the easier it gets. When I was working Fancy Hands full time, I would go on in the evenings and grab 10 to 15 tasks to start working on the next day.

    Fancy Hands2019-07-14
  5. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Fancy Hands full-time

    Pros

    Good training program as well

    Cons

    Working hours too long

    Fancy Hands2019-06-21
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fancy Hands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a wonderful company to work for. There is a learning curve trying to get used to the way things are done, and the mentors and management were more than patient in helping me organize my tasks and teaching the right way to handle a task. I've been here for five years working full time. You set your own hours and work from home. If you are diligent you can make a very nice salary. The tasks are very diverse and you can really broaden your skillset. You are paid every two weeks on time. This concept is amazing. If you need a job, you show up, claim some tasks, perform them well and get paid. I don't know of any other place where this is possible.

    Show More

    Cons

    I couldn't find any. The rules are set up to be fair to the clients and the assistants. If there is a problem, or a glitch, management is right there to take care of it.

    Advice to Management

    While everyone would always like to make more money, this is a wonderful opportunity to work as an independent contractor with plenty of jobs supplied every day. Just keep doing what you are doing and thanks.

    Fancy Hands2019-03-12
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fancy Hands part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work when you want - sort of

    Cons

    Too many regulations for not enough pay. Disrespectful managers. You don't really get to work when you want because once you open a task with someone you HAVE to be on call for that person or you get penalized. The pay is not worth the amount of effort you'll put in. You'll be left wondering if anyone else in the world knows how to work google because some of the requests you'll get are SO STUPID.

    Advice to Management

    be nicer to employees.

    Fancy Hands2019-03-31
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Steer clear from this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fancy Hands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unfortunately, I can't say there were any positive points for Fancy Hands and their other company, "ODO/On Demand Ops".

    Cons

    In all my years of working, this is the most disorganized, misdirected, and con of a company. I can't find one thing about this company that is good. They con their assistants and associates with their pay. They say they're this big company but looking at the amount of work and the "tasks" and "clients", they're clearly lying and maybe lying to their clients too?

    Advice to Management

    Stop conning and lying to everyone!

    Fancy Hands2019-03-04
  9. Helpful (16)

    "ODO PAY IS A JOKE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ODO and/Virtual Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fancy Hands part-time

    Pros

    Short answer - NONE! Again - NONE!

    Cons

    The ODO projects that they say pays $10.20 is just not accurate! It's more like 1.5 hours to make that much, and yet they still advertise it as such. How do these people get away with this stuff legally??!

    Advice to Management

    Quit exploiting people.

    Fancy Hands2019-02-12
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Way too little money for all the work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Fancy Hands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work when you want to work.

    Cons

    The Pay, The disrespectful managers

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to talk to people.

    Fancy Hands2018-12-26
Found 85 reviews