Frontiers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Frontiers Reviews

Updated 6 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
44%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Frontiers CEO Kamila Markram
Kamila Markram
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance is more than fair, and there's some room for time flexibility or occasionally work from home or from other Frontiers' sites (e(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The high requirements for a low salary(in 8 reviews)

  • "Salaries are quite low by Swiss standards(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing and rewarding place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Topics in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frontiers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people is the strongest asset in Frontiers. I feel we are a huge family with no hierarchy where we are all "humans" and where you feel appreciated and part of a team/mission from day one. It is one of the best places so far I have worked in. Senior people are super close to us, the CEO, our managers! HR is more approachable than in any other company and I have to say, we have a great HR Generalist in our department! She is a great motivator for all of us! Frontiers is very flexible with personal circumstances and managers really try their best to help all of us to evolve but also to deal with our personal circumstances. We also make mistakes but we react quickly. I take the challenges as an opportunity to improve.

    Cons

    Misleading Communication and sometimes and not alignment. We would appreciate if sometimes we are told things a bit more clear.

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2019-10-30
  2. "underachiever heaven, open door for unqualified personnel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Frontiers full-time

    Pros

    lots of spare time and free mental space as the job is not exactly demanding

    Cons

    Unqualified personnel. Most people do not have even an undergraduate degree in the field they are working in, let alone a higher level degree as any respectable publishing house would. Most people there are coming from freelance jobs in the humanities with no experience in either science or publishing. These people need to make decisions on subfields within exact sciences, use and understand fairly complex software and often scientitic terms whose meaning they cannot understand. This might explain why scientists get spammed with research topic requests on completely irrelevant fields and the low quality of the papers coming out. Should any respectable scientist know who is editing their manuscripts, they would stop submitting anything to Frontiers. This is the only publishing house that hires people without a background in their respective field. Moreover, being there for longer is rewarded, and given that the people who stay are generally the ones who did not receive competing offers, most of middle to high management is formed of people who did not receive a job anywhere else. These people will willingly block any incoming talent that has any interest in publishing or technical abilities, be it by either blocking their projects or sending passive-aggressive emails correcting commas or tabs, as previous reviews pointed out. If your life ambitions and abilities are in any way above average and have achieved anything worthwhile in the past careerwise, and are still working here for more than a few months, you have only yourself to blame. Also, salary is extremely low for Switzerland which explains the level of the people accepting the position. That said, many of these people without a scientific/publishing background might do better in a different kind of position that does not require decision making at the forefront of knowledge, and this would allow qualified personnel to replace them as well.

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2020-01-06
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Frontiers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - really supportive atmosphere - innovative - the colleagues are so clever and fun - amazing social atmosphere, you bond really closely with your colleagues - you can help influence major change and have a big impact in future programs as there isn't a really strict hierarchy, people want to hear your opinion - always something to do and learn - payrises and promotions are pretty generously dished out

    Cons

    - targets are quite intense and stress levels can get to you - smaller teams can feel a bit forgotten - you work 40 hours when most jobs in this industry in London are 35 - working from home isn't super casual like many jobs in London, you have to book it in advance

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2019-09-23
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Fine for experience, but not for a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Frontiers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues within your team often friendly Good office, many perks such as free drinks and food

    Cons

    -Very long working hours - A great deal of micro-management, even experienced employees are not given the freedom they deserve - Unpleasant office politics. Gossiping and snide remarks from management about employees below them that makes it a very unpleasant place to work.

    Frontiers2019-09-16
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Not for people serious about a publishing career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commissioning Editor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Frontiers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Frontiers are growing very quickly and lots of opportunities are there. Lovely WeWork office and amazing social events. Very friendly and young work force. Has somewhat of a start up feel.

    Cons

    The job was missold to me. A commisioning editor at Frontiers essentially sends generic email templates to academics who are responding to automatically generated email campaigns. Not very nice trying to defend this to disgruntled and hard working researchers. There is an accepted code of conduct in the publishing arena, and it is practices such as these automatic emails which give many people serious concerns about the open access movement. After working full on for 3 months, not passing my probation was brutal. With no warning or cautions I was asked to clear my desk - I handed in my laptop, card and didn't even get to say goodbye to people I had got to know over 3 months. My line manager simply said ''underperforming'' and did not even make eye contact with me and I am yet to receieve feedback. Given that I had been covering work for other people and given the slacked effort some colleagues would often give - this was not just confusing but actually a complete shock. They made me feel as though I was a criminal, despite from my prception having worked really hard and gone above and beyond; even though HR were aware of my depression/anxiety. This was awful! I personally felt I was treated unfairly and that management judgement was especially poor. Double standards and favouritism were strife and once my line manager had decided they didn't like me there was no going back regardless of how hard I worked. This was even more frustrating when colleagues were unprofessional (drinking in meetings, simply not working, disrespectful language, general messing around). I do not want to claim that Frontiers are a predatory journal, however their email invite campaigns are sent out to a LARGE number of academics and I would term this as SPAM and for me this is not good practice in the publishing world. They are eager to grow and are open to admitting that they are compromising quality for quantity. When bringing up my concerns with management they would make me feel like a quirky academic who didn't understand the business world. This was upsetting to see and hear since many other things about the company are good. To conclude, if you are serious about a career in science publishing and want to be taught by skilled professionals this might not be the place to be.

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2019-08-20
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Ok as a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Comissioning Editorial Specialist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Frontiers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great work environment - Good work life balance - Many WeWork benefits

    Cons

    - they have lost the track with how fast they grow; fully disorganized - upper management doesn't pay attention at all to your thoughts/requests - promotions are not decided based on performance, but rather if you have a PhD or not - too many events for team bonding; feels like you don't have your personal time after some point - development opportunities only in the London office, although all the decisions are made by Lausanne

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2019-07-24
  7. Helpful (3)

    "n/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Editor 

    I have been working at Frontiers full-time

    Pros

    n/a, free coffe and fruit and snacks

    Cons

    poor organisation, unfriendly, power battels

    Frontiers2019-08-05
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A fast-paced dynamic company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Frontiers full-time

    Pros

    Frontiers is very open to innovative thinking and new ideas.

    Cons

    Frontiers could focus more on individual employee well being.

    Frontiers2018-12-13
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Review Operations Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frontiers full-time

    Pros

    - Very sociable, friendly environment - Company spirit - A good work-life balance, flexible hours and opportunities to work from home - Manageable workload - Innovated and future-forward thinking - Passionate about the world of science publishing - Various learning and personal development opportunities - The internships available are great for those who would like to experience what it's like to work in this industry

    Cons

    It doesn't seem that there are many (up-wards) levels of progression within the company. However, this is not something which is exclusive to Frontiers - rather a common feature of other publishers and the publishing industry in general.

    Frontiers2018-10-04
  10. Helpful (7)

    "London office 5*"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frontiers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is the best company I’ve ever worked for. Everyone feels really driven to work towards the same goal. I’ve suggested changes, they’ve actually been listened to and implemented! Really friendly people. Great travel in my role and great pay compared to other London publishers. The CEO goes out of her way to meet people and ensure everyone feels welcome and knows the company ethos. The onboarding process is excellent and HR is so helpful. Clear career development path.

    Cons

    As with most jobs, it is very target driven, which I actually enjoy as we’re all working towards the same goal, but other people may find this a challenge.

    Continue reading
    Frontiers2018-08-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 66 reviews