Gensler Reviews

Updated 13 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Gensler Co-CEOs Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
586 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and some directors who are out of touch with employee wellbeing(in 54 reviews)

  • "hard to achieve work-life balance due to heavy load on works(in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to Work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collaborative, people-first culture with a social conscience. This is a company that truly cares about their employees. Great benefits! Fun place to work. Lots of celebrations, happy hours and so on pre-COVID. Also, focused on giving back to the community - lots of opportunities to get involved. Current focus on diversity and inclusion - not just lip service, but true action plans and employees held accountable to following through.

    Cons

    Gensler is decentralized and very collaborative. Decisions and/or buy-in is needed by many individuals. This means that change is very slow and this lag in ability to make changes results in Gensler being behind the times in some areas (such as paid parental leave).

    Continue reading
  2. "Culture of connectivity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong network of communities across the firm that facilitate making connections and developing relationships.

    Cons

    Easy to over extend yourself.

    Gensler Response

    November 23, 2020

    Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We value our people and love to hear their perspectives.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architect in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    International work and good benefits

    Cons

    Large practice and not all high profile projects

    Gensler Response

    November 30, 2020

    Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate our alumni and value their perspectives.

  4. "Best corporate company to work for in London"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    Great structure and really good atmosphere . Amazing projects.

    Cons

    Did not find anything negative.

    Gensler Response

    October 26, 2020

    Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our alumni and wish you all the best in your current and future endeavors.

  5. "Great firm to start your career at"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    Sociable colleagues, brand new office

    Cons

    Decent salary compared to local firms but much lower than firms of its range

    Gensler Response

    July 13, 2020

    Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our alumni and wish you all the best in your current and future endeavors.

  6. "good environment,nice colleague"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Architectural Assistant in London, England

    I have been working at Gensler full-time

    Pros

    good environment,great colleagues, nice project and so on.

    Cons

    The salary should have been better.

    Gensler Response

    July 7, 2020

    Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We value our people and love to hear their perspectives.

  7. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Consultatnt 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    encouraging, great culture, people first

    Cons

    work life balance, too competitive at times

    Gensler Response

    June 5, 2020

    Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We value our people and love to hear their perspectives.

  8. "Great design culture and opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worldwide company and good benefits

    Cons

    Not many offices in Europe

    Gensler Response

    February 26, 2020Gensler Response

    Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We value the opinions of all our people and encourage everyone at Gensler to make their voice heard.

  9. "The people make this place!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy and opportunities for growth Incredible people and culture The office design is superb

    Cons

    I can't think of too many but maybe limited resources at times

    Continue reading

    Gensler Response

    February 18, 2020Gensler Response

    Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We value our people and love to hear their perspectives.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Life as a surveyor"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Assistant Architect in London, England

    I worked at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace with exciting infrastructure projects

    Cons

    Strong club like culture and tenancy to favour certain staff.

    Gensler Response

    February 12, 2020Gensler Response

    Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate your candor and consider all the feedback we receive.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,102 English Reviews