Giraffe Concepts Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Giraffe Concepts Reviews

Updated 19 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
35%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Giraffe Concepts CEO Tom Crowley (no image)
Tom Crowley
1 Rating
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Giraffe Concepts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good food at work during shift.

    Cons

    Top management setting unrealistic targets

    Giraffe Concepts2019-02-25
  2. "FOH part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front of House Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Giraffe Concepts part-time

    Pros

    The salary and bonus incentives were great! The staff food menu was also varied for choice.

    Cons

    The target sales set by management were very unachievable.

    Giraffe Concepts2019-12-19
  3. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress in Kings Cross, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Giraffe Concepts part-time

    Pros

    Nice floor and kitchen team

    Cons

    The management were disorganised and were not considerate if you booked time off. They would put you down for consecutive 3 double shifts even if you told them you want them spread out.

    Giraffe Concepts2019-05-17
  4. "Lack of vision from the top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giraffe Concepts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Food on shift, good team at my site.

    Cons

    The lack of vision and communication from the upper management is startling. Always trying the new thing and never following through. Lack of appreciation for the management on the floor and fail to recognise the potential for development. The CVA speaks for itself.

    Continue reading
    Giraffe Concepts2019-04-03
  5. "The worst company I have ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Giraffe Concepts full-time

    Pros

    Great people working within the restaurant

    Cons

    Everything else. The way this company has handled site closures is the worst i’ve seen. Absolutely no communication from area management and above and calls from contractors telling us they won’t complete jobs due to our site closing before we’ve had confirmation ourselves. Area management and above have absolutely no idea how to drive sales or run a business. It’s absolutely no shock to me that this company is struggling. Also I would advise nobody pay their service charge as company are keeping it all and not paying it to their hard working staff who earned it, when they are made redundant.

    Giraffe Concepts2019-04-13
  6. "Messy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wait Staff 

    I worked at Giraffe Concepts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tables are sectioned and allocated, so any tips you make in your section you get to keep

    Cons

    Rota’d for 5 hrs, would have to work over each time. Extra 4 hours sometimes with no food or break for the 9hrs that I ended up working instead. Kitchen would be very slow if restaurant was more than half full. It was embarrassing the amount of tables who could be in there for 1.5 + hrs and food would not be out. Most of those which did, would be half complete, or cold, leaving for even more complaints. All these disgruntled customers occuring when understaffed too. General waiting staff is expected to use a bumbag to carry cash around, and work from here rather than use a till. This is incredibly incovenient and worrying when you don’t have the security of a till. You must keep all coins and card receipts on your person and hope that in the panic of trying to work fast when understaffed, that you don’t make a mistake or drop a receipt!

    Continue reading
    Giraffe Concepts2019-03-16
  7. "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Giraffe Concepts full-time

    Pros

    Fun, team work, great management that listen and value you. I really enjoy working here and the future it has as a restaurant

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of at this time, I really enjoy going to work everyday, that makes a huge difference to moral.

    Continue reading
    Giraffe Concepts2018-11-16
  8. "Was great then went terrible very quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Giraffe Concepts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I can’t think of any

    Cons

    Enormous pressure to met conflicting targets, although this was during the time of the company being brought and then sold for £1. So I assume it was to Try and make the company look good on paper. It’s worth noting that the CEO changed several times of the course of the few years I worked there and as such The CEO reported by glass door (Juliette) is no long the CEO

    Continue reading
    Giraffe Concepts2018-11-29
  9. "Used to be fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress in London, England

    I worked at Giraffe Concepts part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Worked with a great team - Pay was good for the industry

    Cons

    - Company seems to invest less money in staffing their restaurants than what they used to - Long hours and stressful shifts because hours were cut in order to save money

    Giraffe Concepts2018-08-04
  10. "Just meh.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waiter in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Giraffe Concepts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You will work with some great people.

    Cons

    -You will get barely any of the service charge earned (I make around £500 a week in service charge and take home about £30) -Marketing team are appalling and will chop and change offers in the restaurant 24/7 -Unexperienced management

    Continue reading
    Giraffe Concepts2017-12-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 33 reviews