HDR Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

HDR Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
HDR CEO Eric L. Keen (no image)
Eric L. Keen
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Truly employee owned with ability to purchase shares that have been steadily increasing in value(in 78 reviews)

  • "Really great people to work with(in 34 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "HD best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hdm Higher Officer in Luton, East of England, England

    I have been working at HDR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation is very good for market

    Cons

    Space in the office is too small

    Advice to Management

    None

    HDR2019-08-08
  2. "Hr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HDR

    Pros

    Friendly staff very clean place to work good prospects would highly recommended very good parking out good lunch breaks lol

    Cons

    Low wages bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad

    Advice to Management

    More meetings

    HDR2016-11-17
  3. "Engineer job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at HDR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work, nice working environment

    Cons

    Slow paced industry, lack of inovation

    HDR2015-06-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Providing excellent opportunities and challenges."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HDR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    HDR employees some exceptional global experts.

    Cons

    Rapid growth through annual acquisitions.

    Advice to Management

    Understand the local markets better before making acquisitions.

    HDR2014-02-27
  5. "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer 

    I have been working at HDR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lots of great people with work sharing culture

    Cons

    Pay is not that great

    HDR2019-11-12
  6. "Relaxed and well structured environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at HDR

    Pros

    Employee owned and good corporate structure for promotion. Good benefits

    Cons

    Corporate and impersonal environment missing a family feel

    HDR2019-11-04
  7. "Graphic Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HDR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment; Great Intern development

    Cons

    There is no cons.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    HDR2019-10-27
  8. "Good work-life balance, medium career growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HDR

    Pros

    Working atmosphere is really good. Office culture is sharing and not very competitive for a junior position. Amazing work life balance as an architect.

    Cons

    Projects are not very exciting. Conventional in terms of approach and personal growth.

    HDR2019-10-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Greatest Place I've Ever Worked At"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BI Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HDR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked here for about a year and I have no compliants. This is the best company I have ever worked for. The benefits are great with affordable health care packages both traditional or high deductible. Standard PTO time although I wish they broke it out between vacation and sick leave. This place really values and cares about their employees. Upper management seems really in tune with the work and issues of... their teams. Sometimes off hours are required, but they provide a great work life balance and flexible scheduling.

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I can think of at this time.

    Advice to Management

    More guidance on career progression for those not in typical architecture or engineering roles.

    HDR2019-10-09
  10. "Accounting is the red headed step child"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Accountant in Tampa, FL

    I worked at HDR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee Owned Location Good Company as a whole - not office specific

    Cons

    Office Specific: High school type drama Micro management Old mindset in upper management Old stigmas seem to stick Favoritism towards long time employees

    Advice to Management

    Used to enjoy my job, atmosphere turned volatile. Wants to sweep issues under the rug and look at situations through bias glasses. Not overly impressed with how corporate HR and Tampa upper management dropped the ball on multiple occasions.

    HDR2019-10-24
Found 557 reviews
</>Embed